We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
$98
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Riebeek Kasteel)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
$97
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
236
137
19
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
137
19
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest farmbreakfast in bedcouples massageromantic turndownwild animalsjacuzzi bathbalcony overlookingbraai packrose petalssunday nightpicnic basketthe cottagesstaff were so friendlyself catering cottageyour partnerromantic stayunique experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 396 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went to Tulbagh for a weekend away and decided to stay at the treetop lodges of Vindoux and i must say it is the best decision we could have made. The staff were excellent, friendly and were willing to go the extra mile. The house itself was beautiful, had an excellent view of the wildlife and was superbly designed. The food was delicious with a wide variety to choose from and the spa was a great way to end the day. Overall i would have to say we will be back for many many years to come!

Room Tip: If you can, choose to stay in the treetop lodges. They are exquisite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liaan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to tulbagh for a wedding and stayed in vindouxs self catering cottages. They were perfect except for the close proximity to the other cottages. The weekend was fantastic with regards to service and the spa was devine. I would however refrain from taking the romantic turndown-finsing your bottle of champagne and six chocolates in the fridge was a bit of a letdown and our duvet cover was either stained by coffee or the rosepetals....eek. and the picnic-with the exception of the wine was not worth it. I would suggest buying proper plastic-the gladwrap and polystyrene squashes everything and makes it look unappetising. And impressions are everything.

All in all i would go back to the spa a hundred times over, but might stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: For self catering choose pinotage or chardonney. They have a grassy garden and your not forced to look into another cottage.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My family and I recently spent time at this tree top lodge. Irene and her team were excellent and helped us with everything from booking to the accomadation itself as well as the lovely deli and spa on site. My wife and mother-in-law enjoyed the spa treatments and I must say that the deli was superb. WE ordered lunch from them and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and inexpensive. Definitely try the Munchie platter for 2 R100 and actually three can enjoy as a light lunch. The tree lodge apartment was amazing and hugh. Plenty of space to relax and run around for the kids. There was enough of everything especially the view of the plum plantation and mountain. Best seen early morning and afternoons. Don't forget to take a walk and see the Zebras, Wildebeest and springboks literally 150m away. The couples tree apartments looked good as well. But Tree Lodge for a family or three couples was perfect. Lots of things to do around the area as well. From wine tasting to Chocolate tasting you will love this small town of Tulbagh. Go enjoy.

Room Tip: Carry bug repelant. They do supply but just be careful. Don't forget to go to Moniki and try the chocolate tasting.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvineshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Imagine a fertile valley surrounded by snow-peaked mountains, blooming wild flowers and magnificent sunshine. We visited Tulbagh, a historic Boland village nestled in the picturesque valley for the annual Tulbagh Spring Arts Festival.

I fell in love with Vindoux's tree houses at first sight, bringing back childhood nostalgia!
The best part? Vindoux is a short 8min drive away from Tulbagh village, so you get to enjoy a weekend away in nature AND dine out in town for dinner!

Set amongst idyllic vines and fruit orchards, our Treehouse had a private balcony overlooking the "game field" with Zebras, Wildebeest and Springboks (deers). Waking up to birds chirping and view of the magnificent mountain range... The jacuzzi comes with complimentary bath salts & bodycare made at Vindoux, infused with natural fynbos plants and flowers. There's a fresh deli where you can order picnic baskets, or pick up jams & preserves for a casual walk in surrounding orchards. We were spoilt with breakfast in bed, and Vindoux makes a killer French Toast ;)

I always seek out to find hidden gems on my trips, the fact that Vindoux is a family-own & managed working farm (they have peach/apple orchards!) makes it truly special! Irene & Roy bought the farm in 2008, as they've always dreamed to live in the country. Irene's daughter and son-in-law, Sophie and Driaan du Toit then extended the farm to include a day spa, game viewing (Driaan was a game ranger and conservationist), wedding venue and more. From our chats, I could tell that the family is passionate about making special memories for their guests - thank you for an unforgettable weekend! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaHuang_FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in September 2013 at Vindoux and were thoroughly impressed with what we got. We stayed in one of the four Luxury Tree houses (Number 2) and really enjoyed the experience and novelty of it.

First, if I have to be “picky” about anything, then the 2 negatives were: The early check-out time of 10 o’clock – it just felt very rushed after what was otherwise a totally relaxing experience, and: The deluxe picnic hamper that we shared for Saturday lunch was not up to the otherwise good standard of food served from the Vindoux Deli.

Second, the positives were: Staying in a Tree house that lifts you into the realm of the birds with a balcony that overlooks the orchards. The cacophony of bird song was such a blessing and having a pair of Paradise Flycatchers going about their business within touching distance of the balcony being the highlight for me. The room itself is small (without being cramped) but functional with a double bed (four-poster style), a single chair, a chest of drawers, 2 bedside tables, a dining table placed strategically near the huge sliding doors onto the balcony (at which we ate both dinners and breakfasts served hot to our Tree house). There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a little bar-fridge to keep the milk (and crafted chocolates from Monikis chocolates across the Tulbagh valley) cool. The en-suite consisted of a toilet, basin and spa-bath with loose shower but with no shower curtain.

The Vindoux Deli menu is not extensive; but the food was good and not too badly priced. The breakfasts were delicious and filling – having sampled both the Full House Breakfast and the Traditional Omelette. While we were there, we also made use of the Day Spa – where the service is friendly and the massages excellent – a very relaxing way to end off the day.

We were looking for a peaceful weekend away to just relax and rest – and Vindoux Guest Farm gave us this in abundance. It is definitely a place I would go back to without needing any convincing.

Room Tip: Try get into a Tree house if you can
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews