We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in the Trees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My family and I recently spent time at this tree top lodge. Irene and her team were excellent and helped us with everything from booking to the accomadation itself as well as the lovely deli and spa on site. My wife and mother-in-law enjoyed the spa treatments and I must say that the deli was superb. WE ordered lunch from them and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and inexpensive. Definitely try the Munchie platter for 2 R100 and actually three can enjoy as a light lunch. The tree lodge apartment was amazing and hugh. Plenty of space to relax and run around for the kids. There was enough of everything especially the view of the plum plantation and mountain. Best seen early morning and afternoons. Don't forget to take a walk and see the Zebras, Wildebeest and springboks literally 150m away. The couples tree apartments looked good as well. But Tree Lodge for a family or three couples was perfect. Lots of things to do around the area as well. From wine tasting to Chocolate tasting you will love this small town of Tulbagh. Go enjoy.

Room Tip: Carry bug repelant. They do supply but just be careful. Don't forget to go to Moniki and try th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvineshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Imagine a fertile valley surrounded by snow-peaked mountains, blooming wild flowers and magnificent sunshine. We visited Tulbagh, a historic Boland village nestled in the picturesque valley for the annual Tulbagh Spring Arts Festival.

I fell in love with Vindoux's tree houses at first sight, bringing back childhood nostalgia!
The best part? Vindoux is a short 8min drive away from Tulbagh village, so you get to enjoy a weekend away in nature AND dine out in town for dinner!

Set amongst idyllic vines and fruit orchards, our Treehouse had a private balcony overlooking the "game field" with Zebras, Wildebeest and Springboks (deers). Waking up to birds chirping and view of the magnificent mountain range... The jacuzzi comes with complimentary bath salts & bodycare made at Vindoux, infused with natural fynbos plants and flowers. There's a fresh deli where you can order picnic baskets, or pick up jams & preserves for a casual walk in surrounding orchards. We were spoilt with breakfast in bed, and Vindoux makes a killer French Toast ;)

I always seek out to find hidden gems on my trips, the fact that Vindoux is a family-own & managed working farm (they have peach/apple orchards!) makes it truly special! Irene & Roy bought the farm in 2008, as they've always dreamed to live in the country. Irene's daughter and son-in-law, Sophie and Driaan du Toit then extended the farm to include a day spa, game viewing (Driaan was a game ranger and conservationist), wedding venue and more. From our chats, I could tell that the family is passionate about making special memories for their guests - thank you for an unforgettable weekend! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaHuang_FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in September 2013 at Vindoux and were thoroughly impressed with what we got. We stayed in one of the four Luxury Tree houses (Number 2) and really enjoyed the experience and novelty of it.

First, if I have to be “picky” about anything, then the 2 negatives were: The early check-out time of 10 o’clock – it just felt very rushed after what was otherwise a totally relaxing experience, and: The deluxe picnic hamper that we shared for Saturday lunch was not up to the otherwise good standard of food served from the Vindoux Deli.

Second, the positives were: Staying in a Tree house that lifts you into the realm of the birds with a balcony that overlooks the orchards. The cacophony of bird song was such a blessing and having a pair of Paradise Flycatchers going about their business within touching distance of the balcony being the highlight for me. The room itself is small (without being cramped) but functional with a double bed (four-poster style), a single chair, a chest of drawers, 2 bedside tables, a dining table placed strategically near the huge sliding doors onto the balcony (at which we ate both dinners and breakfasts served hot to our Tree house). There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a little bar-fridge to keep the milk (and crafted chocolates from Monikis chocolates across the Tulbagh valley) cool. The en-suite consisted of a toilet, basin and spa-bath with loose shower but with no shower curtain.

The Vindoux Deli menu is not extensive; but the food was good and not too badly priced. The breakfasts were delicious and filling – having sampled both the Full House Breakfast and the Traditional Omelette. While we were there, we also made use of the Day Spa – where the service is friendly and the massages excellent – a very relaxing way to end off the day.

We were looking for a peaceful weekend away to just relax and rest – and Vindoux Guest Farm gave us this in abundance. It is definitely a place I would go back to without needing any convincing.

Room Tip: Try get into a Tree house if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday night and took advantage of their Cozy special. We had a couples massage at the spa which was awesome! Dinner on the deck was special, as was breakfast in our room. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the Tree Lodge with the whole family - 6 adults and four dogs! There was loads of space and everything we needed plus lots of special touches. We loved the cozy blankets everywhere, the fynbos diffusers and toiletries, and the private garden and pool area that offered lots of privacy. (Be warned, in May the water is freezing even though the days are still warm.) The kitchen in the Lodge has everything you need and it's only about 5 mins drive to town where there are lots of little restaurants to try. Heavenly beds and the only place i've ever been that gives you enough pillows. The staff are all lovely although you might feel a bit over-serviced with daily service. (We had no luck trying to gently discourage them from coming on Sunday am.) The spa treatments were fine and offer a nice break. I doubt we will go back to the area but if we did we'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a great place to break away for a weekend or longer! We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage and had the greatest time! The wine by bicycle is a must-do! It was so much fun! Great views, nice fireplace for the cold nights, and very friendly staff. Spa was also very nice! Only bad thing I have to say is the very small bathrooms, but otherwise we had the best stay ever!
Also: Electric blankets on all beds and you get a nice bag for the wine you buy on the "wine by bike" cycle trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiritaHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

... if you are looking for the perfect, tranquil, romantic getaway...Vindoux is the place to go. Each luxury treehouse is high up in the trees. Enjoy breakfast in bed, or out on the porch and watch zebras and buck grazing below. There is a spa on the premises...highly recommended and a total treat. We hired bikes from Vindoux and enjoyed a 2 hour cycle around the area to the vineyards. The staff are lovely and you get a real sense of a homely feel when you're there. The gardens are lovely...there's a pool and a braai/bbq area. Wake up to the sound of nature...nothing beats this!

Room Tip: several room options...but the treehouse for couples is fantastic! Even has a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica-Dart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
7.5 mi away
Buffalo Drift
Buffalo Drift
#8 of 23 in Tulbagh
132 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#4 of 23 in Tulbagh
99 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
#6 of 23 in Tulbagh
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
2.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 17 in Tulbagh
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raptor Rise Cottage & Stable Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa

Address: Twee Jonge Gezellen Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range: $57 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque Tulbagh valley lies a "little piece of heaven" on this family owner fruit farm. Spoil the one you love in a luxury tree house complete with spa bath, breakfast in bed and endless mountain views.If you would like to spoil the family try the deluxe self catering tree lodge. All you need for a home away from home, sleeping up to 8 people. Complete with private swimming pool and garden.If you are on a budget try the fully equipped self catering cottages for a simply farm retreat.Onsite spoils include a Day Spa offering a wide range of therapies including couples massage, a licensed deli filled with homemade treats and eats, wedding and conference venue, swimming pool, fishing, cycle hire and game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing