We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value lovely house.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Herberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Herberg
Ranked #15 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great value lovely house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location for an overnight stop. We had an excellent stay for one night. We enjoyed a glass of local wine on the stoop in the evening sun. Then wandered off to a local restaurant for a bite to eat. The complementary glass of port was a nice surprise as was the opportunity to discuss the magnificent art in the house and have a bit of a chat about wine. Opportunities for slight improvement would be to provide some menu options for breakfast and perhaps provide guests with a key to access the furniture on the stoop. That said we had a great evening in Tulbagh and would recommend De Oude Herberg to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is the third time that I have taken a break for a couple of days to De Oude Herberg Guesthouse in the historic Church Street in Tulbagh, but the first under the new ownership of Jan du Toit and his wife. The deco is fabulously old world, with antiques liberally and tastefully scattered around, and with leatherbound books filling many a cabinet. The breakfasts were generous and tasty and the service great. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maynardophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

if you are looking a for a few days in a small town this could be the place..it's prime has long gone and some items need repair as the place is for sale..but the rooms are nice ..and if you believe in supporting single ownership this is an ok place for a few days.

Room Tip: all 4 rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

The name means ‘The Old Inn’, which is well chosen because everything in this B&B is old and creaky.
The room - we stayed in the ‘Montpellier’ at the front of the Cape Dutch-style house - was so so. And the shower was outright horrible with the plastic shower curtain clinging unhygienically to our bodies.
However, the breakfast was excellent.
Tulbagh is a small, historic town with quaint buildings.
We stayed here on a Monday night when most restaurants are closed. Our hostess sent us to a nearby establishment. Let’s put it this way: we’ve had better meals.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

This is a comfortable guesthouse with good rooms (esp. "Twee Jonge Gezellen") and a pleasant courtyard and pool. We enjoyed our second visit. Regrettably the restaurant onsite (tho separately run) has now closed, and indeed the guesthouse itself is now up for sale, so I am not sure what the future holds.
Meantime, it is an excellent place to stay, with plenty of local eating places, vineyards, and scenic drives in the vicinity.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
336 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

Beatiful house on a beautiful street of historic properties in a very scenic area. Welcoming host provided good recommendations to eat locally and for our onward journey. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

welcoming, comfortable, fine decor and linen, nice pool area
staff were warm and attentive, breakfast v.g .
would love to come back as tulbagh is part of a most beautiful region
seperate review of adjacent restaurant Pielows in which we had a super evening

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.2 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
0.2 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
0.1 mi away
The Witzenberg Country Inn
The Witzenberg Country Inn
#16 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Herberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Herberg

Property: De Oude Herberg
Address: 6 Church Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a historical building, De Oude Herberg guesthouse is situated in of the oldest homes (since 1885) in Tulbagh, it is even a historic landmark. It features English-style décor and antique furniture. It also has an outdoor swimming pool and honesty self-service bar. Breakfast is included with fresh fruit, yogurt and eggs to order. For larger groups dinner with wine pairing can be arranged, as long as booking is made in advance. Enquire about our special rates! There are 4 rooms in total, of which each sleeps 2 guests, with one room that is an adjoined family room that sleeps 3. The air-conditioned rooms all come with satellite TV and tea-and-coffee making facilities. There is fresh filter coffee and complimentary port. The en suite bathrooms are equipped with a bath, shower, hairdryer and free toiletries. A laundry service is also available on request. Guests can relax by the swimming pool, in the shared lounge or in the full on site bar. Smoking is permitted in the outside areas. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas and free parking is available off-road. Pets are allowed with prior arrangement. A variety of museums, restaurants and shops are located within 1 km of De Oude Herberg guesthouse. Twee Jonge Gezellen and Saronsberg wine farms are 7 km away and Waverly Hills is 19 km from the guest house. De Oude Herberg Guesthouse has been welcoming guests since October 11, 2013 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Herberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing