We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous!!”

The Station Cafe and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: European, Central European
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Stupendous!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We chose this restaurant based upon other TripAdvisor reviews, and they were not wrong. The meal my wife and I had here was simply excellent. Its worth driving past the other restaurants in National Park to the old station house. You even get the bonus of a mini earthquake every time a train goes by!!!

It started with the very warm and friendly greeting. We had not made a booking but we could be squeezed in. The atmosphere is very homely, but as we found out, this is also fine dining.

We skipped the starters and went straight for the mains. The chicken in a herb crust with creamy mushroom sauce, asparagus, kumura mash and other delicious accompaniments was superb. My wife went for the lamb rack with a berry sauce which was equally delicious. Both meals were finished down to a polished plate.

Then the desserts were a hazelnut and chocolate cheesecake, and my wife had spring rolls filled with a macadamia mix. Again, both were polished off.

The food was simply excellent. Mains are in the $35 bracket so it is not cheap, but the quality is faultless and the taste is fantastic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    130
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good cooking”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very busy restaurant on saturday december 28th but we had a great service and the food was very good and tasty.
Just a bit pricy for the amount of food you get, but we have to say it was good quality and very well cooked.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in the area”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate here once for dinner and once for breakfast and both times we were very happy with our meal.

If you're looking for a real nice meal, this is going to be better than anything else you will find in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family and I stop in at The Station Cafe every year on Boxing Day on our way north for summer holidays. The food is consistently good and the staff very pleasant when we visit for morning tea. The pick of the food is their lemonade scones with jam and cream, although the sandwiches are nice too. This year the coffee was not as good as previous years but other than that no complaints. Very nice bathrooms too, as a bonus for travellers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLKrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville Ar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Food was okay - a little overcooked. Atmosphere was very nice. Wait staff friendly. Free wi-fi a big plus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
 

Been to The Station Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing