We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!! :)”

The Station Cafe and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
“Delicious!!! :)”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service very friendly and helpful, the meals were delicious. We had dinner here and enjoyed a lovely well balanced and yummy, well presented meal. We also had dessert, which was also devine. Will definitely return here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jensker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    129
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Gorgeous little restaurant with excellent food at very reasonable prices and perfect attention to detail.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oldskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool cafe”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A cool little cafe located in an old railway station, still part of main trunk line. Great food and very friendly staff. It's a central part of the local community.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A largely disused old railway station in a tiny little town is about the last place we expected to find a superb restaurant!. Encouraged by other positive trip advisor reports we visited with a group of eight and we were delighted with both the excellent food and the sincere and genuine "kiwi" service! So delighted were we that we returned two nights later to try the "roast night" and between us we tried every option and again it was a roast dinner served with great flair, taste and well enjoyed by all. Go on, treat yourself--you wont be disappointed with a visit to The Station!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuqueuque N.M.
2 reviews
“Best in the World”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is in my mind one of the best restaurants I have ever been too. I visit NZ once a year and especially take a pilgrimage to The Station for dinner. Often this involves a 5 hour drive from Wellington but it is worth it. I remember it from its very early days and I remember taste-testing some desserts. What a treat to eat there. Do not miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
 

Been to The Station Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing