We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hidden gem”
Review of Plateau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plateau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a Grab One deal - two bedrooms up to 4 people (aimed at families no doubt) including lift pass for two adults/two children.

Plateau Lodge is a great place - it is a BBH Hostel - yes but one would not know from the outside. It is only a mere 20 or so meters from the main highway and about 200 m from the turn off to Whakapapa (Ski and Hiking area) - takes about 15 minutes to get there. So Location is very, very handy - also if one wants to go to the other ski area Turoa - Ohakune is not far either.

Rooms - we stayed in a very spacious two bedroom private unit - one bedroom with a double bed and the other with a double and two singles - two fold down couches in the living room also - that means potentially one could sleep 8 people - tough very crowded then and not enough seats for eating - so perhaps leave it at 4-6:-)

Well appointed kitchen with full oven, fridge and microwave - though no toaster (but I am sure we could have asked for one). Bathroom very clean but small and the shower as nice as it is to have a full shower - in times of water shortage as right now a flow reduced one would most likely be better - but who am I to judge.

The table was a bit small but again - no big deal we had breakfast with 4 on it - but left most of the ingredients on the bench - buffet style..

The staff are exceptionally friendly and the whole place oozes comfort. They do have a hot tub to - good in winter for your skiers.

The only thing I would have liked was some "normal" curtains - as the walkway to the other units goes past the only door/window where light comes in and so just walking around in your underwear is not a good idea - and drawing the "full" curtains during the day makes the room very dark - and a waste of a nice day to.

Overall - very happy there and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the walk way - less people walking past it and you might get a way l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your honesty- its good hear the good & bad of particular room. The Apartments have been our focus for the last couple of years with upgrades each summer period. This summer we have new Gas ovens going in, Head boards and side tables.
Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice room with en-suite in the apex of the main lodge building. Staff very friendly - gave us a good recommendation for somewhere to eat in the evening (Station Cafe). Free wi-fi and plenty of parking. Good location for all walks in the national park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks for the feedback- we are in walking distance to all amenties, shops, cafes/bars, trains station and bus station. All our local cafes have a great name and menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights in a double bed private room with ensuite bathroom, tv, kettle, electric blanket. Cost $110per night.
Well appointed room - big enough for 1 but would be squeeze for 2 suitcases for a couple.
Last night had a noisy couple next door (that can happen anywhere) but tonight very quiet. Friendly staff and nice guests.Comfortable lounge area to relax and talk. Few minutes walk to National Park restaurants.
Well located to drive to Turangi and Whakapapa village and local attractions.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyJo_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

I'm very pleased to hear that your stay was very enjoyable. We try and keep the place as laid back and as friendly as possiable. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We picked up a GrabOne deal for Plateau Lodge and would totally recommend it to others. The apartment was great - clean, well-presented, the kitchen was well set-up and the shower was amazing! The staff were really helpful and friendly, the shuttle to the Crossing was punctual and the spa was the perfect way to relax after the walk. The location was also great - a short walk to dinner. The beds and sheets could maybe have been a bit more comfortable, but that was a minor factor in an otherwise fantastic weekend. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLNZ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your response. the weather has been remarkable warm & pleasant which has added to the feel of the area. Our apartments are new & modern with all teh creature comforts. In regards to the sheets & bed. the sheets are brand new -2 days old. - therefore they can be a wee bit crispy. Our beds are only a few years old 2.5yrs, a different bed in a different environment can be hard to get use too.
again thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I booked a shuttle ride with them months in advance and from the other side of the world and on *the* day it turned out I was the only passenger. They were happy to drive just me to my destination.

And then, when it turned out that I was an idiot and left my had on the shuttle, they organized a hat relay between shuttle drivers and magically my had appeared at the door of my tent only a few hours later.

They've gone above and beyond the necessary and went out of their way to make what would have been an expensive mistake right...

Room Tip: My only experience has been with their shuttle and friendliness. I can't imagine they do anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rbphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad we could help and make a person smile and enjoy their holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We used the shuttle service to and from the crossing and it was great. The driver was knowledgeable, helpful, and informative. They were prompt for pickups and dependable. Would use them again. We did not stay at the hotel/lodge. Only used the shuttle service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your response. We have daily shuttles departing for the Tongariro Crossing. We are happy to pick you up from your accommodation if you are not staying with us. We try to be as flexiable as possiable for the Trampers. Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We (couple, 51 * 57) spent 3 nights there and were really and fully satisfied. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the offered shuttle to the hiking tour war exactly in time, the roms clean and the kitchen absolutely perfect.
An excellent place to explore the volcano region around, well located in the village and a perfect stay. Absolutely to recommend!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hello,
The weather here in the Tongariro National Park is just amazing. Sun every day. The opportunities to hike and explore the back yard is endless with oodles of sunshine. Just think in a few more months we will be covered in snow which makes the region even more special. I will pass onto our great team how much you enjoyed Plateau lodge & Plateau Shuttles.
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,695 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
457 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plateau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Address: 17 Carroll Street | National Park Play Centre, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $45 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Fully self contained two bedroom apartments Camper van sites with power and free use of facilities on site Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle: Cost is $40pp 6am-7am-8am-9am-& 10.30am departures returning all afternoon from 1.30pm to 6pm One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing