We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to grab a shuttle to Tongariro Alpine Crossing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plateau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plateau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to grab a shuttle to Tongariro Alpine Crossing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We used the shuttle service to and from the crossing and it was great. The driver was knowledgeable, helpful, and informative. They were prompt for pickups and dependable. Would use them again. We did not stay at the hotel/lodge. Only used the shuttle service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your response. We have daily shuttles departing for the Tongariro Crossing. We are happy to pick you up from your accommodation if you are not staying with us. We try to be as flexiable as possiable for the Trampers. Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    84
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
54
77
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We (couple, 51 * 57) spent 3 nights there and were really and fully satisfied. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the offered shuttle to the hiking tour war exactly in time, the roms clean and the kitchen absolutely perfect.
An excellent place to explore the volcano region around, well located in the village and a perfect stay. Absolutely to recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
The weather here in the Tongariro National Park is just amazing. Sun every day. The opportunities to hike and explore the back yard is endless with oodles of sunshine. Just think in a few more months we will be covered in snow which makes the region even more special. I will pass onto our great team how much you enjoyed Plateau lodge & Plateau Shuttles.
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The main reason I booked to stay at Plateau Lodge was for the 'free wifi' advertised. However, the 'free wifi' is misleading as it only turned out to be 20MB free, which is useless.

The 'Spa' also is not as expected with jets that are pretty much powerless and controlled by the staff in reception. So when the jets stop you have to get out of the hot tub and walk to reception to ask them to be put back on - a rather stupid system.

Another disappointment was the mass of flies in the room.

I would not recommend this hostel to my worst enemy! Stay at The Park Travellers Lodge instead. It is in an excellent location with cheap wifi, great hot tubs and has a really good value restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAW011991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
This comment seems to be written by the last person who wrote on trip advisor. Thank you for your valued comments you seemed to be very angry.
Young gerneration on tight budgets like to have everything for free. 40mb compliemntry on check in is our policy which allows 2-3 hours on wifi time (Depending on what you upload or download. Our Lodge is expectional clean - as you can see by other trip advisor comments. New Zealand is experience a very hot summer this year which does attrcat flies, last year we had a very wet summer - so there where less flies. Yes staying at the Park is a great hostel with all the facilities we are 15 rooms with warm & cozy rooms. Our spa is a hit - you must be the only ones who didint enjoy the free hot tub time and unfortunetly did not see the buttons on the side of the hot tub to create the soft flowing bubbles. I wish you all the best in NZ travelling with the Stray Party Bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been travelling New Zealand with Stray and the National Park would have been one of my favourite stops if it was not for my accommodation. I booked my accommodation in advance and paid more to stay at Plateau Lodge instead of The Park so that when I arrived I could use the 'Free WIFI' to book further travel arrangements. You only get 20MB for free which wasn't enough to book anything. They then have the cheek to charge $2 per 20MB. Feeling fairly ripped off I ask the owner to see if there was anything she could offer us, she rudely said no and that was the end of that.

We decided that we should try the 'Spa', which consists of a Hot Tub with 4 useless jets, it is effectively a dirty bath tub. The controls to the 'Spa' are kept in reception so once the 'jets' stop, you have to get out to ask for them to be put back on.

The room seem to have a small fly infestation, I am not sure what had previously died in the room.

WORST hostel in The National Park. STAY AT THE PARK INSTEAD. They have more hot tubs, MUCH cheaper Internet ($4 Unlimited per day), a great restaurant and a better location and the staff are actually helpful. You are not made to feel like a second class citizen.

You would have to pay me, A LOT, to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priceyy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedabck. Young travellers expect alot these days for so little. When paying less then $27 a night and travelling on a shoestring budget there demands can be unreasnable Its a shame they do not respect the polices & procedures of thier accommodation.
As you you can see we have a lovely clean cozy Lodge with 15 rooms. The Park is a wonderful place if you like to have 300 people staying with you.
Our hot tub has slow releasing jets thats why its a hit tub and not Spa. Yes the button is in recpetion plus on the side of the Hot tub. We are a proud Lodge with 20 years and as you can see we very clean & tidy by reading through other trip advisor comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

An awesome couple owns and runs this lodge. They are knowledgeable about the area and the activities. The accommodation was exactly what we needed where we needed it. Clean, well serviced apartments, and a really social atmosphere. We thoughroughly enjoyed our "Tongariro Crossing" stay, and willbe back for our winter "Ski" stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay in apartment one or six. They are on the ends of the building and give you a bit more deck spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2ieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Zeus, Andrea and Wee Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the lodge (19 in total) this time. We found the lodge to be very clean and the staffs are fantastic. Value for money and everyone is very friendly. The lodge could get "Sky" like many of the other places within the area. This would help and promote the facilities even more. Once again thanks: - we all enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Patrick thank you for taking the time to comment about Plateau Lodge. We loved having you here and your party. Lets see how many will tackle Mt Doom next year. Look forward to seeing you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed in 2br apartment and the experience was excellent.
The place is run by a young couple with 2yo son and even that you there are busy, its a tight ship. The unit we rented was squeaky clean, with small but fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with shower, cosy living and dining area with round table. 2bedrooms, one with double bed and one with 2single beds. There were wall heaters in the bedrooms that we found very useful, flat screen TV in the living area that we didn't use, and air conditioner mounted on the wall above TV that we also used. With all the hitting equipment even on the cold nights the place was very warm an cosy.
Internet voucher first for 40MB and later need to top but this is pretty standard in all New Zealand, reception was quite good. Things to recommend for change - put a wall heater in the bathroom and more shelving space for toiletries; add Teflon frying pan to the kitchen ( there is a cast iron or die cast one?, maybe good for meat but all pancakes burned), maybe some more storage space.
Outside is a nice covered deck that runs along units, we were in #1 that was the first from the entrance road and we had no one walking by windows. In the front of the lodge is a big grass area with BBQ and playground that was convenient for us since we had toddler with us. There is a very nicely looking common lounge but we didn't use it.
The lodge is located 3min walk from The Park Travelers Lodge where we have eaten dinner every night and the food was good (pan fried salmon and nachos highly recommended).
The lodge has 2 buses for transport to and from Alpine Crossing. Because friend of mine stayed in different lodge, we used transport arranged by her lodge. But in the afternoon on the way back from the hike, although we were only 2min after 2pm at the parking, our transport was already gone. Very tired we were looking at waiting for another 1.5h to get our bus round, while we were spotted by Bill from Plateau Lodge. He gave us a place on his bus and told us not to worry about the fee because they will settle this with other company. And that's the service oriented attitude!
Summarizing, great place, I would stay there again and recommend to my friends

Room Tip: Apt #1 is very private, no one walks in front of your unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment. We have a wonderful team who keep our place in great nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
7.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plateau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Property: Plateau Lodge
Address: 17 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Modern two bedroom apartment Camper van sites Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle 7.00am and returning at 3.30pm & 5.00pm Cost is $35pp One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing