We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and Unhelpful Owner....”
Review of Plateau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plateau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude and Unhelpful Owner....”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been travelling New Zealand with Stray and the National Park would have been one of my favourite stops if it was not for my accommodation. I booked my accommodation in advance and paid more to stay at Plateau Lodge instead of The Park so that when I arrived I could use the 'Free WIFI' to book further travel arrangements. You only get 20MB for free which wasn't enough to book anything. They then have the cheek to charge $2 per 20MB. Feeling fairly ripped off I ask the owner to see if there was anything she could offer us, she rudely said no and that was the end of that.

We decided that we should try the 'Spa', which consists of a Hot Tub with 4 useless jets, it is effectively a dirty bath tub. The controls to the 'Spa' are kept in reception so once the 'jets' stop, you have to get out to ask for them to be put back on.

The room seem to have a small fly infestation, I am not sure what had previously died in the room.

WORST hostel in The National Park. STAY AT THE PARK INSTEAD. They have more hot tubs, MUCH cheaper Internet ($4 Unlimited per day), a great restaurant and a better location and the staff are actually helpful. You are not made to feel like a second class citizen.

You would have to pay me, A LOT, to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priceyy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedabck. Young travellers expect alot these days for so little. When paying less then $27 a night and travelling on a shoestring budget there demands can be unreasnable Its a shame they do not respect the polices & procedures of thier accommodation.
As you you can see we have a lovely clean cozy Lodge with 15 rooms. The Park is a wonderful place if you like to have 300 people staying with you.
Our hot tub has slow releasing jets thats why its a hit tub and not Spa. Yes the button is in recpetion plus on the side of the Hot tub. We are a proud Lodge with 20 years and as you can see we very clean & tidy by reading through other trip advisor comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    92
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
65
86
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

An awesome couple owns and runs this lodge. They are knowledgeable about the area and the activities. The accommodation was exactly what we needed where we needed it. Clean, well serviced apartments, and a really social atmosphere. We thoughroughly enjoyed our "Tongariro Crossing" stay, and willbe back for our winter "Ski" stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay in apartment one or six. They are on the ends of the building and give you a bit more deck spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2ieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Zeus, Andrea and Wee Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the lodge (19 in total) this time. We found the lodge to be very clean and the staffs are fantastic. Value for money and everyone is very friendly. The lodge could get "Sky" like many of the other places within the area. This would help and promote the facilities even more. Once again thanks: - we all enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Patrick thank you for taking the time to comment about Plateau Lodge. We loved having you here and your party. Lets see how many will tackle Mt Doom next year. Look forward to seeing you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lustenau, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed in 2br apartment and the experience was excellent.
The place is run by a young couple with 2yo son and even that you there are busy, its a tight ship. The unit we rented was squeaky clean, with small but fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with shower, cosy living and dining area with round table. 2bedrooms, one with double bed and one with 2single beds. There were wall heaters in the bedrooms that we found very useful, flat screen TV in the living area that we didn't use, and air conditioner mounted on the wall above TV that we also used. With all the hitting equipment even on the cold nights the place was very warm an cosy.
Internet voucher first for 40MB and later need to top but this is pretty standard in all New Zealand, reception was quite good. Things to recommend for change - put a wall heater in the bathroom and more shelving space for toiletries; add Teflon frying pan to the kitchen ( there is a cast iron or die cast one?, maybe good for meat but all pancakes burned), maybe some more storage space.
Outside is a nice covered deck that runs along units, we were in #1 that was the first from the entrance road and we had no one walking by windows. In the front of the lodge is a big grass area with BBQ and playground that was convenient for us since we had toddler with us. There is a very nicely looking common lounge but we didn't use it.
The lodge is located 3min walk from The Park Travelers Lodge where we have eaten dinner every night and the food was good (pan fried salmon and nachos highly recommended).
The lodge has 2 buses for transport to and from Alpine Crossing. Because friend of mine stayed in different lodge, we used transport arranged by her lodge. But in the afternoon on the way back from the hike, although we were only 2min after 2pm at the parking, our transport was already gone. Very tired we were looking at waiting for another 1.5h to get our bus round, while we were spotted by Bill from Plateau Lodge. He gave us a place on his bus and told us not to worry about the fee because they will settle this with other company. And that's the service oriented attitude!
Summarizing, great place, I would stay there again and recommend to my friends

Room Tip: Apt #1 is very private, no one walks in front of your unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment. We have a wonderful team who keep our place in great nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found the rooms comfortable, and bedrooms cozy. It is well located in National Park Village, around 15 min to the top of the Bruce (in summer). The bathroom was a little strangely laid out (lock the door if you're in there, so someone doesn't take your knees off if you're on the toilet). The shower is nice and strong, with endless hot water.
The storage is a little tight - there are no wardrobes in the bedrooms, instead there is a shared wardrobe in the main part of the apartment. The bedrooms themselves are small - room for the beds and bedside tables, and that's all.

While their own website advertises that "LCD flat screens TV in our lodge and apartments all LCD's have Sky.", this is not the case. We did not have sky, and the reception of the channels we did have was very fuzzy (obviously not Freeview either). When we asked about this at reception, we were advised "We are going through a change with Sky at the moment. It's a matter of balancing new motherhood with running a business". So, there may be Sky in the apartments in future - if this matters to you, check with them directly before you book. TV was an LCD though, so that part is correct.

Also to be aware, while there is Wifi available, this is in the form of a 40mb voucher given when you check in, and after that you need to top up. We could not get connected (room 6) to even log in and use it, as we could not get ample reception from their Wifi. So, gave the voucher to our friends in room 5 to use (they could get reception), and we used the 3G on our phones to check email / weather forecast ...etc.

Those things aside, I really did like the place, and would stay again, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pusspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your response on your stay with us. We are a family Lodge owned & operated by a family also. Its a great lifetsyle but a busy one. We are alsways up dating our facilites to suit our clientele plus the fine balance of ongoing overheads. Our 2 bedrooms still need a few creature comforts to help with the sizing. This year we allocated money towards new roof & Insulation. 2013 is a tidy up year with creature comforts through the Lodge & Apartments.
Thank you for comeing see our volcanic backyard and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 adults based on tripadvisor reviews. I was expecting to be mildly disappointed as I thought the website photos looked a bit drab and dated, however this is getting 5* because it totally delivered.

Friendly and helpful owners (walks, weather...), apartment looked far nicer, brighter, cleaner, more modern than in the website (!), and whole setting was spacious and felt rural with views from the gardens.

Its a 15 minute drive to the DOC and roughly same distance to the start of the the Tongariro Crossing walk (although currently due to the volcanic activity it's no longer a 1-way trip so to avoid carpark overcrowding the only permitted transport is booked via your accommodation - which Plateau Lodge does.

A good choice for tramping within the park - I definitely recommend Plateau Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPorkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yes the photos of the 2 bedroom apartment do not fit the actual look of rooms. We are happy to say we have a new website being created with new vsiual shots of the rooms, I'm sure this will show the true look and feel. Again thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked this lodge as a base to do the Tongariro Alpine crossing as it is located about 10-15 minutes away from the start point and has a shuttle bus service available. Alas for us the weather let us down so we could not to do the crossing. However, the owners were great and provided us with advice for other great walks and we still had a good days walking. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. We had our own shower and tv but you can go basic if you wish. There is a well equipped communal kitchen and social room which we used. There is plenty of parking. There is not much around and the local supermarket is quite expensive so I would recommend buying any food you need when passing a large supermarket and take it with you. Really friendly place and ideal for outdoor pursuits.

Room Tip: Get a room with your own bathroom and tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thnak you Gary for your feedback. When the weather is right here in the Mountains the activities are endless and very enjoyable. When athe weather is cold & wet and the hiking trails or skiing is on hold for the day, it takes some time to choose another alternative actvity. I'm glad you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plateau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Property: Plateau Lodge
Address: 17 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Modern two bedroom apartment Camper van sites Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle 7.00am and returning at 3.30pm & 5.00pm Cost is $35pp One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing