We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two bedroom apartment in Summer”
Review of Plateau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plateau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Two bedroom apartment in Summer”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found the rooms comfortable, and bedrooms cozy. It is well located in National Park Village, around 15 min to the top of the Bruce (in summer). The bathroom was a little strangely laid out (lock the door if you're in there, so someone doesn't take your knees off if you're on the toilet). The shower is nice and strong, with endless hot water.
The storage is a little tight - there are no wardrobes in the bedrooms, instead there is a shared wardrobe in the main part of the apartment. The bedrooms themselves are small - room for the beds and bedside tables, and that's all.

While their own website advertises that "LCD flat screens TV in our lodge and apartments all LCD's have Sky.", this is not the case. We did not have sky, and the reception of the channels we did have was very fuzzy (obviously not Freeview either). When we asked about this at reception, we were advised "We are going through a change with Sky at the moment. It's a matter of balancing new motherhood with running a business". So, there may be Sky in the apartments in future - if this matters to you, check with them directly before you book. TV was an LCD though, so that part is correct.

Also to be aware, while there is Wifi available, this is in the form of a 40mb voucher given when you check in, and after that you need to top up. We could not get connected (room 6) to even log in and use it, as we could not get ample reception from their Wifi. So, gave the voucher to our friends in room 5 to use (they could get reception), and we used the 3G on our phones to check email / weather forecast ...etc.

Those things aside, I really did like the place, and would stay again, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pusspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your response on your stay with us. We are a family Lodge owned & operated by a family also. Its a great lifetsyle but a busy one. We are alsways up dating our facilites to suit our clientele plus the fine balance of ongoing overheads. Our 2 bedrooms still need a few creature comforts to help with the sizing. This year we allocated money towards new roof & Insulation. 2013 is a tidy up year with creature comforts through the Lodge & Apartments.
Thank you for comeing see our volcanic backyard and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    88
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
61
83
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 adults based on tripadvisor reviews. I was expecting to be mildly disappointed as I thought the website photos looked a bit drab and dated, however this is getting 5* because it totally delivered.

Friendly and helpful owners (walks, weather...), apartment looked far nicer, brighter, cleaner, more modern than in the website (!), and whole setting was spacious and felt rural with views from the gardens.

Its a 15 minute drive to the DOC and roughly same distance to the start of the the Tongariro Crossing walk (although currently due to the volcanic activity it's no longer a 1-way trip so to avoid carpark overcrowding the only permitted transport is booked via your accommodation - which Plateau Lodge does.

A good choice for tramping within the park - I definitely recommend Plateau Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPorkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Yes the photos of the 2 bedroom apartment do not fit the actual look of rooms. We are happy to say we have a new website being created with new vsiual shots of the rooms, I'm sure this will show the true look and feel. Again thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked this lodge as a base to do the Tongariro Alpine crossing as it is located about 10-15 minutes away from the start point and has a shuttle bus service available. Alas for us the weather let us down so we could not to do the crossing. However, the owners were great and provided us with advice for other great walks and we still had a good days walking. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. We had our own shower and tv but you can go basic if you wish. There is a well equipped communal kitchen and social room which we used. There is plenty of parking. There is not much around and the local supermarket is quite expensive so I would recommend buying any food you need when passing a large supermarket and take it with you. Really friendly place and ideal for outdoor pursuits.

Room Tip: Get a room with your own bathroom and tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thnak you Gary for your feedback. When the weather is right here in the Mountains the activities are endless and very enjoyable. When athe weather is cold & wet and the hiking trails or skiing is on hold for the day, it takes some time to choose another alternative actvity. I'm glad you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed one night here after being at Waitomo Caves. We just turned up and they were very accommodating.

It was fairly priced for a double room ($70-$75), and it was comfortable and warm. There were communal bathrooms, living areas and a kitchen which were all clean and tidy. There was also a large spa which was nice. For a bit extra you can upgrade to a room with an en-suite.

As we stayed on a Monday night, not much was really open after 8pm for food. Lucky the cafe/restaurant across the road on the corner opened up especially for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8tbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely response. We take great pride within the Lodge. It has been a family business for 20 years and it gets better every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We LOVE staying at plateau lodge. We have been regular patrons for about 5 years and it is always our first choice at national park. We usually stop in for a week or more during ski season to take advantage of the great facilites. The lodge feels like home, we usually book an ensuite double room and share the communal lounge (which is warm with a big screen TV) and the communal kitchen (which is well set up). They have a drying room for all our ski gear, a FABULOUS private hot tub, and comfy, clean rooms. This year we had one of our nights in a two bedroom apartment, which is fully self contained with kitchen and lounge, and it was awesome! The owners Zeus and Andrea are lovely and very welcoming. We used to come here when Si (Zeus brother) ran it, and it is lovely to find they have only made this awesome place better (if that was possible!). The prices are great and we always try to book early to avoid missing out. Friends of ours at work, used them for the Tongariro Crossing in summer and felt the same as we did. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thnak you for your feedback. We ensure we tick all the boxes and read everyones comments. We strive on improvong our sore points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a great stay with our little two year old in a two bedroom apartment. The guys at the office were very helpful, even lending us spices for cooking dinner because we hadn't brought any. Facilities were lovely and it is a good location for exploring the area.
Only one negative point. We went out one evening for dinner across the road at Eivens on recommendation from the lodge - the meal was truly awful - would never go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardGoldNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Our apartments are nice and cozy especially with the extra panel heaters in the bedrooms plus the heat pumps. Its a shame the Cafe across the road didint meet expectations. Thanks for letting us know. We do have 5 other cafes/Bars in Town all in walking distance which offer wonderul service and menu selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

When i visited the Tongariro National Park the weather was bad which meant i had no choice but to stay inside the hostel and amuse myself there.
The dorm rooms were fine and the lounge and kitchen were clean and tidy and also advertised was a dvd room. To put a dvd on you had to ask at reception where the dvd player was and where they had a selection of dvds. When asking the owner to put a dvd on for the first time he said no because the dvd player was also connected to the house attached to the hostel where a family lived and a little boy was watching a dvd. Another person asked later on in the evening but had the same answer.
When we did manage to watch a film it was twice turned off halfway through the film because the child wanted to watch a film.
Now when i was chatting to the owner at other times he couldn't help but smugly tell me how much money he was earning from the hostel and the transfers to the crossing. So a little bit of advice for him is to buy a second dvd player for the hostel to avoid dissatisfied customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acbrown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback- we like to hear what our past guests think. Yes i agree with the DVD player, This is not a good look. Problem has been addressed. My wonderful husband loves to talk and we are very proud of our establishment, its been in the family for 20 years. Tongariro National Park is a very special place- its Dual Hertiage and covers all seasons, skiing in winter and hiking summer. All the properties have worked hard to get where it is today, being busy 11 months of the year is a postive aspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plateau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Property: Plateau Lodge
Address: 17 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Modern two bedroom apartment Camper van sites Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle 7.00am and returning at 3.30pm & 5.00pm Cost is $35pp One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing