We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plateau Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
139
107
28
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
107
28
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbedroom apartmentthe kitchentongariro alpine crossingvery pleasant stayexcellent accommodationshuttle serviceshared bathroomwe loved our staythe staff were friendly and helpfulclean roomsstandard roomgreat place to stayshared facilitiesstayed one nightthe buslaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 300 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed one night here after being at Waitomo Caves. We just turned up and they were very accommodating.

It was fairly priced for a double room ($70-$75), and it was comfortable and warm. There were communal bathrooms, living areas and a kitchen which were all clean and tidy. There was also a large spa which was nice. For a bit extra you can upgrade to a room with an en-suite.

As we stayed on a Monday night, not much was really open after 8pm for food. Lucky the cafe/restaurant across the road on the corner opened up especially for us!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8tbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your lovely response. We take great pride within the Lodge. It has been a family business for 20 years and it gets better every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We LOVE staying at plateau lodge. We have been regular patrons for about 5 years and it is always our first choice at national park. We usually stop in for a week or more during ski season to take advantage of the great facilites. The lodge feels like home, we usually book an ensuite double room and share the communal lounge (which is warm with a big screen TV) and the communal kitchen (which is well set up). They have a drying room for all our ski gear, a FABULOUS private hot tub, and comfy, clean rooms. This year we had one of our nights in a two bedroom apartment, which is fully self contained with kitchen and lounge, and it was awesome! The owners Zeus and Andrea are lovely and very welcoming. We used to come here when Si (Zeus brother) ran it, and it is lovely to find they have only made this awesome place better (if that was possible!). The prices are great and we always try to book early to avoid missing out. Friends of ours at work, used them for the Tongariro Crossing in summer and felt the same as we did. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thnak you for your feedback. We ensure we tick all the boxes and read everyones comments. We strive on improvong our sore points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a great stay with our little two year old in a two bedroom apartment. The guys at the office were very helpful, even lending us spices for cooking dinner because we hadn't brought any. Facilities were lovely and it is a good location for exploring the area.
Only one negative point. We went out one evening for dinner across the road at Eivens on recommendation from the lodge - the meal was truly awful - would never go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardGoldNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Our apartments are nice and cozy especially with the extra panel heaters in the bedrooms plus the heat pumps. Its a shame the Cafe across the road didint meet expectations. Thanks for letting us know. We do have 5 other cafes/Bars in Town all in walking distance which offer wonderul service and menu selection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

When i visited the Tongariro National Park the weather was bad which meant i had no choice but to stay inside the hostel and amuse myself there.
The dorm rooms were fine and the lounge and kitchen were clean and tidy and also advertised was a dvd room. To put a dvd on you had to ask at reception where the dvd player was and where they had a selection of dvds. When asking the owner to put a dvd on for the first time he said no because the dvd player was also connected to the house attached to the hostel where a family lived and a little boy was watching a dvd. Another person asked later on in the evening but had the same answer.
When we did manage to watch a film it was twice turned off halfway through the film because the child wanted to watch a film.
Now when i was chatting to the owner at other times he couldn't help but smugly tell me how much money he was earning from the hostel and the transfers to the crossing. So a little bit of advice for him is to buy a second dvd player for the hostel to avoid dissatisfied customers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acbrown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback- we like to hear what our past guests think. Yes i agree with the DVD player, This is not a good look. Problem has been addressed. My wonderful husband loves to talk and we are very proud of our establishment, its been in the family for 20 years. Tongariro National Park is a very special place- its Dual Hertiage and covers all seasons, skiing in winter and hiking summer. All the properties have worked hard to get where it is today, being busy 11 months of the year is a postive aspect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked a double with private bathroom here before flying into Auckland. Arrived late at night, pretty much straight from our desk lives. The host was very friendly and booked us for a bus ride to the Tongariro Crossing, an 8-hour hike. We were still in desk mode and wondered whether we would be capable of that on day 1.. Followed our hosts advice ('ah, it is a medium difficulty, you'll be fine'). And ventured out. What a spectacular hike, the best we ever did! upon return we slipped into the hot bubble bath of the lodge, and roamed around the grounds. Beautiful lodge, perfect room and friendly and very helpful hosts. Perfect place to start a NZ trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your comment. We have a wonderful backyard. Its rated as one of the 5 best landscapes on the Planet and is the number 6 best one day hikes in the world.

I hope this trip will be a highlight of your stay in New Zealand and future moments to come.
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews