We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy but not the most friendly of places to stay”
Review of Plateau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plateau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and tidy but not the most friendly of places to stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Accommodation has been renovated two bed unit, very clean, unfortunately though tea bags, coffee etc provided, the staff were in such a hurry to go out for the evening that they did not provide any milk! due to time local shop closed.

The unit was adequate for four persons but too small for 6. Toilet in bathroom fitted extremely close to bathroom door not suitable for anyone of a larger frame. Sofa's in lounge which also act as beds if 5 or 6 persons are hard even for sitting on certainly not comfortable for sleeping. TV reception poor and was turned off by staff during stay, phone in room was also disconnected during stay.

We felt as though we were an inconvenience to the staff especially Zeus.

Would not return here again

Room Tip: Do not book unit for more than 4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our property. As we are the owners of Plateau lodge we take pride in what we do. Its sad to hear you were not happy with your stay.

Just to clarify a few points: 50% discount rooms in a self catering apartment- correct we dont offer milk. Our Local store closes at 7.00pm and we sell milk at the office.
Tv Reception is out of our hands- turning the TV off is also out of hands as Tvs are operated within the apartment, just like a normal household.
Our digital telephone is in working order and yes I do agree the sofa beds are uncomfortable.
This is an area will be looking into.
99% of our guests who stay in our Lodge are extremely happy.
Again thank you for a prompt reply .Andrea & Zeus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    94
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
68
88
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This little lodge was excellent. We came to this lodge to do the Tongariro Crossing. Although we came here with a deal (4 people for 2 nights including Tongariro transfers and packed lunches for $290), we had a look at the prices that they usually charge and it is still very reasonable. We got a two-bedroom fully furnished apartment with a fully equipped kitchen. Everything was clean and in working order - we were very impressed. We were even able to park right outside our unit to unpack. The lunch wasn't too bad although the plain sandwiches left something to be desired - the muffins were DELISH! Staff were friendly and polite, the transfers to Tongariro and back were hassle free and basically we left the place feeling very satisfied. Very happy with this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manic_cornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the compliment, we do take pride in our wee Lodge. Your feedback is very welcome. Regards Andrea and Zeus
( owner /opertaor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here recently with a large group of people doing the Tongariro Crossing. We had a variety of accommodation and all of us enjoyed the great facilities they provided across all price ranges - from standard room with shared common facilities to two bedroom fullly self contained apartments. The lodge was very warm and cozy, great bedding after a cold day on the mountain, and lovely long hot showers, as well as extremely clean and well maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff too. Thanks Plateau Lodge - we'll be recommending you to others

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
It was great meeting all of you, hope to see you here for the next challenge Mt Ruapehu or Skiing. Andrea and Zeus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Really nice place. Lovely owners with a really cute little boy.

The room we had was nice and spacious and we had a wash basin. Everywhere was clean. kitchen was well equipped but there was no oil or herbs etc.

the hot tub was fab. we made the most of that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plateau666, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you. We have amazing staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauter-Bernsbach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here a night to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. I arrived quite late, just before reception closes. Was brought up to my room by a friendly lady. Room was nice, double bed, big shower and clean. Would have liked to have a small desk in there, for $110,-. I asked at reception if I could use the jacuzzi and was advised that it is already full but they could squeeze me in at 8pm. When I went down to the jacuzzi I was the only one in there, lights and jacuzzi off, I decided to switch both back on and enjoy my beer in the jacuzzi which wasn't working very well though. Early morning the next day, I took the bus (owned by the lodge) to the start of the crossing, pick up 8 hours later at the finish. When I came back to the hotel I asked if I could just have a quick shower in the communal bathroom as I had to drive back home for work the next day. I was asked if I am staying there over night and said no but I stayed last night. The answer was a strict NO, no chance that u take a shower if u r not staying here. So I sat in my car and drove off, soaked in sweat and dirt. Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dib88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plateau666, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It's something we have been pondering on, "Are our facilties big enough to cater for day hikers?. Once the last bathroom is renovated we will relook at our policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We (two couples) spent two nights in the two, second floor ensuite rooms. This was perfect for us. It was like having our own private wing up and away from the rest of the guests. The staircase leading to these rooms is carpeted, as are the room’s themselves, which were cozy, clean, and comfortable. Each room is equipped with queen-size beds, two nightstands, a refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and supplies, a chair, TV, and nice towels and bedding. A small, yet sufficient bathroom with nice shower contains a shampoo and body wash dispenser. The common-use kitchen is large and well stocked (including wine glasses). We borrowed what was needed for a wine and cheese picnic in our room. The owners were very nice and helpful in answering our questions.

Room Tip: Two second floor ensuite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toulousekittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in September. The room had a large bathroom which was great. The kitchen was well equipped and tidy. The bed was not very comfortable and my partner ended up sleeping in one of the bunks as we were rolling together and he couldn't sleep. We checked out a day early because of the weather and this was no problem. The staff were friendly and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilentS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,585 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plateau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Property: Plateau Lodge
Address: 17 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Modern two bedroom apartment Camper van sites Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle 7.00am and returning at 3.30pm & 5.00pm Cost is $35pp One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing