We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howards Lodge has an unhelpful, rude manager.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howards Mountain Lodge
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My partner and I booked to stay in a dorm together which we were told by a lovely lady on the phone that there would be us two and 5 others in the room, when we checked in, the Manager at the desk put us in two seperate dorms and told us it wasn't his problem and that the woman didn't know what she was talking about when we quieried this, when we asked where the facilities were, bathromm etc.. he just pointed to a direction saying they are in there - we basically had to wander around the complex to find drying rooms ect.. We paid $33 each to stay in tiny beds which felt like they would colapse at any moment in dorm rooms with at least 9 beds in, very expensive. We also meet a group travelling who encountered this man who double booked one of their beds less than two hours after they had checked in! They were then told when they went to sort it out that it wasn't his problem! Yet he was the one who doubled booked in both of the people! If we hadn't of already parted with our $66 we would have left! Definitly wouldn't stay again and encourgae others to find a more freindly helpful place where the managers actually are pleased to have your business.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RellKapitiCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 426 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

We were referred to Howard's lodge from the I-site and it proved to be a decent and comfortable place to stay for one night. The communal kitchen was large, clean, and well stocked with cooking utensils. We had a double ensuite room which was more expensive than others in NZ at $100 but it did have a nice roomy shower. If I was in the area again I'd probably look for something cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, General Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed two nights at Howards lodge and would recommend finding accommodation elsewhere in National Park.

When we came to pay for our accommodation we were met by a sour/surly guy at the front desk. He immediately accused us of making a phone booking for two seats on the Tongario Crossing bus and not turning up for bus trip. The fact was that I never made a booking for the trip and all correspondence I had with Howards Lodge was via email, not phone.

Very disappointing.

National Park offers plenty of accommodation with great Kiwi service so look elsewhere before staying at Howards Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank AoteroaKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, General Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new ownership & management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My sister's and I stayed at Howards Lodge to experience the Tongariro Crossing. We were told we must be back by 4.30pm, unfortunately due to my sister having a panic attack on the top of the Red Crater we missed the bus back. The weather was not too good and we did not have mobile reception due to this, so when we finally finished the hike we phoned Howards Lodge to let them know we had completed the track. The guy who runs the place was very annoyed and charged us each $30 for having to come out, pick us up and take us back to the lodge. At no time did he ask why we were late. I did say to the guy their, if you would like some feedback on why we were late, I'm quite happy to supply it, he was not interested at all even though he made and extra $150 to pick us up. For goodness sakes get some feedback ask your clients what they want. We heard from one person that they had to run the last 3 kms to make the bus. Oh boy is this an accident just waiting to happen. If you market your business a bit better you may have loads of people coming down and using your services. But alas I feel Tongariro is just a quick cash pool.
If you want a real good look around go on an earlier service but you may need to ask because you're certainly not told.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Riversnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, General Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

I am almost at a loss for words when it comes to writing a review on a place that I could not wait to leave. The man at reception was the most unfriendly and unhelpful person I have ever had to deal with and that alone was enough to put us off ever booking there again.

Then came the next unpleasant surprise. We booked the family en suite room and were completely shocked at how tiny it actually was. It has 1 x Queen size bed and 2 x single beds in a room about 13ft by 9ft (we guessed this by using my husband’s height). The one bed was so worn out that even after being made up you could not hide the huge dip in the middle.

Is there anything good about Howard's Lodge? Well, Yes! The Bathroom was fine and the shower was lovely. That unfortunately is the only nice thing about this place.

The lounge was alright but the T.V. stations were limited and had a very poor sky reception. The communal kitchen was clean and spacious.

We had booked for a couple of nights but after our first night there we were already contemplating cutting our holiday and our losses short and leaving. This had been a terrible disappointment and we will never book at Howard’s Lodge again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonHellcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, General Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This lodge was good value for the price. It was well maintained and immaculate. We paid $25 per person for a night in summer. We enjoyed the spa, lounge with large TV and internet. Beds were comfy with linen and towels provided. Manager was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank CarolynWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, General Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback, this property is now under new management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed in an ensuite room on our way to the tongariro crossing. It is an old lodging facility, but clean and well equipped

Rooms
The rooms are VERY basic both in equipment and comfort. Clean though, but a bit smelly.

Communal kitchen
Kitchen is well equipped and VERY clean.

Staff
Staff was helpful and correct but not friendly at all!

Overall
I would not stay here again because of the lack of comfort. That being said, our stay was ok. The price is reasonable and the lodge has transport to the Tongariro Crossing (at a fee) and a rental shop where you can rent about all outdoor equipment you may need.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, General Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
8.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
449 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howards Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $47 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing