We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“42 Traverse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howards Mountain Lodge
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Basic but warm rooms with a lovely lounge with a large fireplace. Breakfast was great, and our trip to and from the 42 Traverse was a very pleasant. It is only a short walk to a range of bars and restaurants and has lovely views from the end of the driveway.

There were three of us lads sharing a room and apparently the couch in the lounge is comfortable to sleep on if you are the one snoring all night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pturnernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Howards Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 416 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Clean, good firewood for warming it up, panel heaters in the room REALLY work, phew got hot.
Kitchen had the goods, needs a local picture or something to jazz it up.
Staff helpful, good drop-off service.
Stayed in room with 3 bunks, pillow was monstrous so dumped it, otherwise fine for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinaski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very clean (basic) rooms, hot & plentiful showers and a nice sitting area by the fireplace...nothing else needed! Also for a good meal on advice from owner is at The Station - a converted train stop just around the corner. We finished the crossing early and caught another bus back to National Park with no problems. It seemed like plenty of additional transport with hand-shake agreements beteween the various lodges...nobody get's stranded.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked deluxe twin. Room was warm, neat, and comfortable. Service was courteous and advice given was knowledgeable. Budget accommodation, excellent value for the money. Took bus to Tongariro crossing walk, were a few minutes late finishing. We had sent message ahead we would be a little late and bus did wait for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Howard's Lodge is not a fancy accomodation - but if you're looking for good, affordable accomodation (and don't mind bunking in with friends), you'll get a great deal here. The Tongariro Crossing package, which includes breakfast, a packed lunch and delivery/pickup for the Crossing is a bargain and makes planning for the Crossing a breeze. The staff were friendly and helpful, and while some of the toilets/showers areas could do with more regular cleaning, the premises were generally in a good state with plenty of social areas for people to relax in.

Room Tip: Be aware that the four-sleeper rooms are pretty small.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and really like it. The rooms are clean and comfortable, kitchen well equipped and tidy, and they have lounges with wood burners which makes them lovely and toasty warm on those colder nights. The staff are friendly and helpful, know the area well and can organise track transfers etc easily.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably quieter
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words Nicky, good to hear we are getting things about right.

See you for the snow I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

During a telephone conversation with Howard’s Lodge to let them know that we would be arriving later than expected, we were told to ‘just arrive whenever’. When we arrived at 9.20pm I was somewhat surprised to see that no lights were on. We found reception and there was a key and a note which gave us directions to our room, told us that the bus was leaving at 8am and breakfast was at 7.30am. The lodge didn’t seem overly busy to say the least and I was surprised that we had a double room when a twin room had been requested and accepted. The room was freezing and the heating didn’t work; I woke up in the middle of the night and had to put extra clothes on because it was so cold. We spoke to a couple the next morning and their heating hadn’t worked either. We were woken up before our alarm went off because the walls were so thin and heard everything from the bathroom across the hall. At 7.30am we went to reception to be greeted by the accusation ‘what time did you arrive last night’ and following our response there was some joke about not changing the clocks… was this the same person who told us to ‘just arrive whenever’?! We asked where breakfast was being served and the look of genuine surprise on the guys face was unreal. We were told ‘you need to let us know that you want breakfast’. Surely the fact that we were there at 7.30am, were about to climb Mount Tongariro and the note that this guy had written for us the previous day stated that breakfast was served at 7.30am (nowhere in the note did it say we should let them know) would have given him some inkling that we were wanting breakfast. After somewhat of a standoff, we gave in and waited for the bus to leave at 8am. I am amazed that some people work in the hospitality business and would strongly recommend that you look for somewhere other than Howard’s Lodge to stay should you need accommodation in this area.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Here is your booking confirmation showing a double was requested

A new Confirmed online booking has been received as follows:-

Property Name Howards Mountain Lodge
Status Confirmed
Arrival Date Wednesday, 17 April 2013
Departure Date Friday, 19 April 2013
Customer Name
Total Guests 2
Room(s) 1 x Standard Double

Your other fictions to be corrected here are that it was I who phoned you, you said you would arrive easily by 9.30, by 9.50 I closed up and left a note (sorry but we don't run a 24 hour reception, I had already stayed open 2 hours past normal for you). Clearly you go the note. Yes we turn lights of when not required, to remedy this the switch to put them back on is in the usual place. You also could not decide if you wanted transport or breakfast. Bus leaves at 8.30 not 8 and you rolled up at 8.15 wanting bus and breakfast, sorry but we are a small family operation so if you want on-demand services please try the Sheraton - but be prepared for their prices.

No interrogation of your arrival time took place, just curiosity as I didn't hear you come in and perhaps the clock changes were the reason you were later than you said. You really need to be a bit less sensitive I think.

In future please look at your own lack of organisation, your indecision, your booking the wrong room type before so unfairly criticising the same in others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,605 reviews
8.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
341 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howards Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $52 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing