We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howards Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
130
184
54
25
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
184
54
25
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacked lunchtongariro crossingthe kitchenpool tablesandwichesgreat place to staycrossing packagerooms are basicspa poolshuttle busnice loungebunk bedstwo nightsperfect basecontinental breakfastlounge areawould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 431 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The bed is comfortable this is undeniable. But after 1 week, they accuse us of damaging the hiking equipment that we never rented and wanted to charge me for that. This is shocking as they didn't investigate thoroughly before making such an accusation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerKarenYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie C, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

I again will apologize for the miscommunication between shifts. I did, however correct the mistake as soon as it came to our attention. I also did not charge you a late fee for the 6 or so pairs of boots that you failed to bring back to our rental shop on time, but instead, leaving them in a different hostel. In another town where a friendly driver brought them back to us. I believe I was treating you very well and with respect in this little predicament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This backpackers is great - the host is very nice and we had a few laughs with her. The Tongariro Crossing package is well worth the money(but make sure you have enough time to catch the return bus).
We planned to be in National Park for one night and ended up being there for 4(!)
The only disadvantage for this place is that the bathroom doors are a bit uncomfortable as they don't go all the way down(but the nice atmosphere makes up for that - One of the best weeks I had in New Zealand).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie C, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Glad to hear you had a 'perfect stay' and for telling everyone else about it. I will make sure Annie knows you appreciated her efforts. Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed one night as we were in town for a multi-sport event in the area. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and despite Howard's being pretty full we got a quiet night's sleep before our event the next morning. The lovely lady who checked us in had even made some yummy granola and other baking to welcome guests. Will definitely stay at Howard's again

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MissCazza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie C, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thanks for taking the time for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes we were brim full your nights but that's the real test and all was well. Great weather for the event as well but feels lke snow here today so hope to see your for the ski season. cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The room was clean, the bed comfortable and same for the other facilities. It was quiet and safe to leave the car while on the mountain. I had a relaxed stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M, Manager at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Thank you for your feedback - we apologize you did not receive a response to your review at the time.

This property is now under new ownership & management from Nov 2017 and we hope you come an stay again in the future and see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is our second visit to Howard's Lodge, first time for skiing, this time to torture the kids on the crossing. Lived up to our expectations with warm rooms and warm welcome. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable with good tips and advice. Very well appointed lodge and excellent value - we will be coming back.

Room Tip: If you get a room thst faces the car park you get the sun in the afternoon which warms it up without needing the heater.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie C, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thnaks for your review Jan, always nice to hear we are getting things right. Fingers and toes crossed for snow and we'll see you then !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews