We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service.”
Review of Schnapps Bar

Schnapps Bar
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The venison pie was great. The Kiwi pavlova exactly as suggested. The beer was great and the barman/owner attentive and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    107
    37
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet but nice”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don't expect to find a lot of entertainment in the village. Pool table available for customers and nice fish and chips! Closed by 10pm !!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orniepure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had our dinner here on new year . The ribs was delicious and the garden salad . Just bit disappointed with the salad as they just serve French beans and 2 baby carrot . I expected a proper salad when you ask for garden salad not beans
Overall it was ok

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, GIANT meals”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Visited twice for dinner after looking at the menu's and atmosphere of all the other venues in town. Good mix of local's and travelers, friendly and relaxed. The menu had a reasonable selection and the food came quickly. The portion sizes were very generous and we ordered accordingly, opting to share. Kids meals were very large and I'd consider sharing them if you have young children.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PouletFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fast Service, Good food, Warm Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We ate here both nights we stayed in national village. The weather was rainy and it has a nice warm atmosphere for drinking some speights beer and their food was pretty good too. You just order up front and the food comes out pretty fast. Very convenient after a long hike. The only annoying part was there was just horse racing on the tv's which we really aren't interested in. Some other sport would have been better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnapps Bar also viewed

National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Schnapps Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing