We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but not particularly cheerful”
Review of YHA National Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA National Park
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap but not particularly cheerful”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for one night in a double room with private bathroom. When we arrived there was a swarm of flies flying around outside our room which was really off-putting. The room had seen better days with numerous stains on the carpet. We thought about mentioning the fly problem to reception but when we saw the queue we decided to go back later. When we did go back later - albeit after 8pm - we found the reception closed and no facilities available to purchase a cold drink or anything! This isn't normally a problem except there are no shops in the local vicinity, and the pub next door had also closed for the evening. It was a cheap room but i honestly would not look to stay there again. Climbing wall is a bonus if you are into that kind of thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doris_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
7
33
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a double, ensuite room for one night. Room no.22.
Large room with sofa aswell as double bed. No towels were included. The toilet leaked at the base and there was water everywhere. The shower curtain was mouldy. There was only a very tiny face mirror in the room and no others. The room stunk of damp and mould. The bed was very old and the matteress dipped in the middle. Outdated and old room decor.
Pub and resturant near by- good food. Good sized kitchen, a bit messy and unorganised though.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We came as two couples so we booked two en-suite rooms on the second floor. They were basic but clean. The shower was warm and had good pressure. We cooked in the communal kitchen which was clean and large. We were able to arrange through the hostel to get the bus early the following morning (which stops outside the hostel) to the Tongariro crossing trek. This made everything very simple. We were even able to borrow hiking boots, and hats and gloves from the reception. Overall, it serves its purpose as a starting point for the Tongariro crossing - basic but convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hostel, fabulous views and the staff are so friendly, room was clean and spacious and had a great feel to it, also the climbing wall was a bonus! Defo stop here even if it is only one night. Not too expensive If u are a member.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Room was lovely - very clean for a 10bed dorm! Toilets were clean, kitchen could have done with a clean.

30 dollars to do the crossing - that was fine with is because it was our main reason to visit. Sadly the hostel is very far from the village! And it cost 30 each for a trip in!

On the upside there is a lovely pub next door! Very reasonable and handy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWard126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuuuli, American Samoa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was by far the coldest hostel. I skipped showering for the 1 night I was there because the bathroom was ICE cold and the water was warm but not warm enough. The hallways and kitchen were also very very cold. The bedrooms were big and spacious but the walk downstairs to the bathrooms were "take your breathe away" cold! It was nice that they provided additional blankets because they were definitely needed. There isn't much to do here so unless you're planning on hiking into the national park (as most do) you shouldn't stay here for more than a day. The hostel was very helpful in planning national park trips and other skiing type activities. The climbing wall was a great/unique addition but cost money and was also a very cold room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. Although double ensuite room was big, very cold, not just room but whole hostel. When hostel busy kitchen becomes crampt. Hostel mainly used for people doing the Tongariro Crossing which can be easily arranged from the hostel. Wouldnt recommend staying any longer than is required as there is very little to do. 3 nights was way too long! Has a climbing wall but you have to pay to use it and hire shoes.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
7.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA National Park

Property: YHA National Park
Address: 4 Findlay Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent view of volcanoes right from our doorstep. Closest hostel to start of TONGARIRO ALPINE CROSSING with own bus - $ 35 per person return. Most rooms with ensuite bathrooms, off-street parking, internet/Wi-Fi, DOC hut passes. INDOOR CLIMBING HALL 8m high, 55 top rope climbs, beginners - advanced. Transport to Tongariro Northern Circuit, 42 Traverse and other mountain bike trails, free pick up from Intercity bus stop and train station. Whanganui River trips. Bar/restaurant next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing