We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We came from Auckland by train (Kiwi Scenic) which took about six hours. We arrived one hour late and we were pleasantly surprised that Cole (Colin), the owner of the lodge, came and picked us up here.
This was just the beginning of an amazing stay. Our executive room (a suite) in the lodge was very comfortable (very good mattress) and a well equipped kitchen. We cooked our Christmas dinner in the kitchen and ate in the garden. On boxing day, Cole and Jimmy prepared an excellent BBQ. They organized everything to keep us busy and they were always happy to help us.
New Zealand is the 61st country that I have visited, and if Cole and Jimmy's hospitality is representative of the country, this would make New Zealand first on my list.
Thank you for being such perfect hosts - we will highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice. We had the one at the very end (Hopopito) which was particularly quiet + ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik_from_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 92 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

The combination of price and website description lead us to expect a lot from the "Executive Suite" we booked but we were a bit disappointed. Having said that, it was OK for a couple of nights. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the heating provided does keep the place warm. The optional breakfast looked a bit expensive to us so we made tea & toast, which was a bit of a struggle as the kettle/toaster are balanced on a small table in the corner of the sitting room and there's no sink for washing cups etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Four of us stayed after a long day skiing. We had two seperate large rooms with ensuites, a little lounge room and a little kitchen. It was like a little miners cottage. Very cute! It was very warm with lots of heaters. Bathrooms were very very clean!

The bed linen and towels were great quality. And the beds and pillows comfortable.

Good place to stay will definitly stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kje007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed two days/nights in this place. Great atmosphere, very nice room and excellent breakfasts. The place is run by extremely helpful people; Jimmy and his parents. They picked me up from the busstop, brought me to the start of a short track nearby, gave information about tracking in the National Park, about transport, where to have diner, etcetera. Even made a reservation in a nice hotel in Wellington, my next destination. I can very much recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The accommodations at the Lodge are simple and rustic, as befits a national park. Our room was large and came with shared cooking facilities. Like many people who come to the park, we hoped to hike the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, said to be one of the most spectacular hikes in New Zealand. Unfortunately, even though it was summer (early March), we ran into bad weather, and the staff of the lodge spent a good deal of time helping us decide not to attempt the crossing (because of high winds) and helping us plan an alternative hike, which turned out to be very enjoyable. One negative about the lodge is that the continental breakfast offered is quite expensive, and there is little choice in the village. Had we known, we would have brought our own food and used the cooking facilities.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge specifically to do the crossing and were more than pleased with our choice. Accommodation slightly old fashioned, but in a nice way- all was clean, very comfortable and ideallly suited for purpose. Owners were very friendly and helpful and had a cold beer waiting for us at the end of a hot and tiring walk. Perfect! The walk itself is highly recommended - unique and stunning landscape, although maybe not ideal for those who like to be on their own as the transport arrangements inevitably mean that you are sharing the route with a fairly large number of other walkers. Well worth it though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This lodge was very clean, warm and comfortable. The managers where friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NachoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,647 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
445 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Crossing Lodge

Address: 27 Carrol Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $113 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongariro Crossing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Crossing Lodge is the only place of its kind in National Park Village. Our family-owned and operated boutique lodge caters for travellers seeking personal attention in a welcoming and laid-back atmosphere. We offer spacious and comfortable rooms with a distinctive historic character where you can relax and recharge after a hard day’s trekking, biking, skiing or travelling. In the warmer months, our landscaped grounds and patio garden, with mountain views, provide an oasis of calm and seclusion for weary adventurers. As travellers ourselves we know what it’s like exploring a new country or dashing down to the mountains for a weekend. We strive to offer a place where guests can feel rested, at home and taken care of from the moment they arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tongariro Crossing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Crossing Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing