We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for those who want to sleep - next to State Highway 4”

Mountain Heights Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Heights Lodge
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Not for those who want to sleep – next to State Highway 4”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe queen room with balcony. The L-shaped front room is large with 24m2 and includes an extra bed and sitting area. The toilet/shower room was 4.5m2. Although the room had add-on double glass windows (not factory-sealed), this did not stop the noise of 100 kph passing cars and trucks at less than 20 meter from the room.
During the night I counted more than 300 cars and trucks racing along our bedroom, some trucks even using their engine breaks. To top this off, the owner was not very friendly or welcoming upon our arrival. The only fridge was in the sitting area downstairs and the owner locked that part of the house when she went off to cut grass for the horses. So we had to wait until her return before we could get things out of the fridge. Having only rested my legs, but not my head, we checked out early the next morning. A sleepless night, a meagre breakfast and a bad memory. I should have looked at Google earth to avoid this mistake.
Since it was my idea to get some sleep I rate this experience as terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

A group of 15 of us stayed here for a friend's birthday and to do the crossing and it was perfect for a large group of people. We usually stay in Ohakune when we do the crossing or go skiing as there is more to do in the town in terms of eating out or a rainy day/no mountain day but as we were self-catering, it was perfect. It was so reasonably priced too and the lady working reception, possibly the owner, was lovely. The hot tub was a welcome treat after a day of hiking. Sorted us right out. Sky tv in all the rooms and Location was beautiful. I don't think you'd find better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Lodge is a short drive from the town, but we found it to be a very acceptable place to stay. We found the owners most welcoming. We had an upstairs room that was cozy and quiet. The owner was quite helpful in lining up transpotation so that we could be picked up to do the "Tongariro Crossing." The included breakfast was very good. She had good knowledge of the surrounding restaurants and provided information about sights for our onward journey

Room Tip: If you are looking for a five star hotel or lodge this is not it. It is simply a cozy old place to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Unfortunately we did not read the reviews for this lodge until after we had stayed. A lesson well learnt. Now reading the reviews we can understand why so many bad comments. Just recently we had stayed for two nights in what looked like online a great little country lodge. So deceiving....... Not only was the accommodation a let down for what we payed (the highest B&B rate during our entire stay in NZ). I have to admit that the staff were neither helpfull or friendly. We initially wondered had we done something wrong and then realised that this is the wrong industry for them. Never would we recommend the lodge to friends or even strangers and never would we stay again. Read the reviews!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cold Staff, Dirty cutlery and upon telling the staff the cutlery and plates, glasses etc were dirty - they told us - That is wasnt there responsibilty to clean it..
After paying Top Dollar to stay here I would NOT do it again. Sleep in the car instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this lodge and we had a good stay. It is true that it stands beside road #4, which you have to follow south for 2 Km after National Park village to reach the lodge. So there is nothing around it but the road, trees and some fields with horses and llamas (?) grazing. The atmosphere was quite although the road is just there. But it didn't bother us to sleep.
Our unit had a kitchen, a queen bed, another room with a single bed and a bunk bed and the bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable enough but if you choose this lodge, don't expect to find a very modern appearance. On the contrary it is more rustic.
All this was ok for us and so I consider this a good accommodation. However the staff let me down, as they were quite cold and dry. This was really surprising in New Zealand, where the people are so nice, relaxed and friendly. That's said, I have to say that they were at least efficient answering our questions and arranging our shuttle bus to be able to do the great Tongariro Crossing.
Finally let me confirm that breakfast was included in the price but bear in mind that it is just a cold breakfast, with bread, butter, jam, milk, cereals and fruit juice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Accomodation is 2km outside National Park, so not suitable if you looking to go to town for a few drinks. Website says full breakfast, toast and cereal provided only, no hot food, when our friends asked for some more butter to put on their toast, it seemed to the host as a major issue and commented "they used all the butter". Hosts were extremely rude not only to ourselves but witnessed this to other guests as well. Whilst sitting in the communal lounge area (which closes at 10.30 pm) a person came in and rang the bell looking for accomodation, the person asked to view the accomodation first to which the host replied you either want it or you dont. Two wrecked cars and large electrical pylon are the views. Rudest hosts ever met. Should change their day job

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,582 reviews
7.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
14.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
260 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heights Lodge

Property: Mountain Heights Lodge
Address: State Highway 4, National Park Village, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Heights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing