We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to say we enjoyed it BUT”

Mountain Heights Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Heights Lodge
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cold Staff, Dirty cutlery and upon telling the staff the cutlery and plates, glasses etc were dirty - they told us - That is wasnt there responsibilty to clean it..
After paying Top Dollar to stay here I would NOT do it again. Sleep in the car instead.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flemo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this lodge and we had a good stay. It is true that it stands beside road #4, which you have to follow south for 2 Km after National Park village to reach the lodge. So there is nothing around it but the road, trees and some fields with horses and llamas (?) grazing. The atmosphere was quite although the road is just there. But it didn't bother us to sleep.
Our unit had a kitchen, a queen bed, another room with a single bed and a bunk bed and the bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable enough but if you choose this lodge, don't expect to find a very modern appearance. On the contrary it is more rustic.
All this was ok for us and so I consider this a good accommodation. However the staff let me down, as they were quite cold and dry. This was really surprising in New Zealand, where the people are so nice, relaxed and friendly. That's said, I have to say that they were at least efficient answering our questions and arranging our shuttle bus to be able to do the great Tongariro Crossing.
Finally let me confirm that breakfast was included in the price but bear in mind that it is just a cold breakfast, with bread, butter, jam, milk, cereals and fruit juice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Accomodation is 2km outside National Park, so not suitable if you looking to go to town for a few drinks. Website says full breakfast, toast and cereal provided only, no hot food, when our friends asked for some more butter to put on their toast, it seemed to the host as a major issue and commented "they used all the butter". Hosts were extremely rude not only to ourselves but witnessed this to other guests as well. Whilst sitting in the communal lounge area (which closes at 10.30 pm) a person came in and rang the bell looking for accomodation, the person asked to view the accomodation first to which the host replied you either want it or you dont. Two wrecked cars and large electrical pylon are the views. Rudest hosts ever met. Should change their day job

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Great lodge, quiet quaint rooms, very reminiscent of a good old kiwi bach.

Very friendly and knowedgable staff, they made the crossing real easy for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We found Mountain Heights Lodge to be very adequate for our purpose, although a little dated. We were in town to do the Tongariro Crossing and were able to catch a shuttle directly from the Lodge. The kitchenette was very well stocked and clean (better than most we found on our two week trip in NZ). The Lodge is close to the main highway, so road noise could be an issue for some. We noticed it mainly in the early evening hours, and it did not keep us from sleeping.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRaeSMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed in a motel unit. Was surprised how run down and basic everything was which is okay as long as it is comfortable, clean and everything works. Unfortunately unless the shower was either running at boiling or freezing it was just a trickle and the bed had seen better days. There were cobwebs and thick dust in parts of our room. A few people seem to have had very contrasting experiences with the hospitality of the owners so I deliberately went with an open mind only to be dissapointed. On arrival after ringing the intercom system the lady turned up without a welcome. I explained that we had booked for tonight which was followed by an uncomfortable silence until she said 'and? ' Once she did warm up thanks to the efforts of my husband she was helpful in answering questions about the area. We had not fully realised how directly on the highway the lodge was and whilst it was nice to go up to the cows and alpaca at the back of the property the area is not very picturesque with 2 old car wrecks on site and there isn't really anything to do in the grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anp032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed here a couple of days before xmas after booking online wewere put in a motel room so no breakfast. Please note this accomodation is outside the village and is on the main road so trucks drive by all night!!. Not sure if this is normal in NZ but beds were not remade or towels replaced but someone had beeen in our room as towels were hung up. Rooms were a bit tired and were not value for money. I should add i dodnt normally review on here but spend at least 80 nights away a yr

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Haus
Ski Haus
#6 of 9 in National Park Village
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heights Lodge

Address: State Highway 4, National Park Village, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $77 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Heights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing