We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for the Tongariro trek”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Ideal location for the Tongariro trek”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at Discovery Lodge twice, in February of both 2013 and 2014. Our decision to come the second time was based on the positive experience from our first visit. We stayed in a motel room both times. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The room in which we stayed was spacious with a comfy bed and a kitchenette. We like the location, close to the starting point of the Tongariro trek, and quiet with beautiful vistas in all directions. The shuttle service provided by Discovery Lodge to and from the Tongariro trek is very convenient. Our next visit to the area will definitely include a stay at Discovery Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    92
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
154
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed one night in March (supposed to be two but dual flat tires nixed that). 5 Stars on communication pre-stay, arranging for trail transport and food.

Discovery Lodge is a great base from which to do hiking in the area – their early shuttle option to Tongariro is recommended depending on the day of the week. The chalets are in essence one building split into two accommodations, and were contemporary and spacious with a small but useful kitchen space. The view was nice but not amazing (see ChrisWOwens review written on March 14, 2014 and Discovery team response). I only mention this re: expectations – if you were expecting solo chalets with Mt. Cook-like village views from the inside of the chalet, it isn’t going to be that.

Re: bathroom – note the “shelf” for your shower items is a plate of glass over the shower door – as it is clear you may not notice it at first.

One recommendation to the Discovery team – there is insufficient laundry equipment on site. One (slow) washer/dryer isn’t adequate for the # of guests. We needed to do laundry while there and were unable to due to the backup of people in line.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 to do the Tongariro Crossing. The customer service was great even dealing with our email queries before we arrived, and they were very accommodating when circumstances changed with our travel party. The check in process was cheerful and easy, the transport to and from the crossing was well organised and punctual. We stayed in the Chalets and although the price was on the high side, when you consider the service and area we were very happy with our stay. The crossing was unbelievable. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nnabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Could not recommend this place more!

Stayed 2 nights to walk the Tongariro Crossing but unfortunately this was cancelled due to bad weather including high winds. This didn't stop us from enjoying our stay, plenty more walks to do in the rain, all with amazing scenery.

We stayed in a studio but plenty of choices to suit all budgets. Studio was well equiped for our short stay with Microwave, hotplate and utensils so you could cook if you wanted to - although if you do, bring food from further afield as locally there isn't much choice.

We ate at the onsite restaurant both nights and were impressed with the quality of the food for the price. Packed breakfasts and lunches were also great.

Big thanks to Jed(receptionist, waiter, barman, assistant chef & more) for making us very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelburnianO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

we stayed here in April 2014. i chose it cause i wanted to do the tongariro crossing. its a great location - close to multiple trails. our room was excellent- comfortable, with kitchenette, well furnished. the hosts were very knowlegeble. this property has a range of stay options - from chalets to tents. i would recommend it .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RMMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in our campervan at the campsite for 2 nights to do the Tongariro Crossing. It is fantastically convenient for this and offers several morning shuttles to the start of the Crossing and many afternoon return shuttles. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location of the campsite is beautiful with views of the mountains. The campsite facilities were poor. The toilet and shower facilities were low quality and basic but functional. They could definitely be cleaner and better maintained and replenished with soap and toilet paper more frequently. Signage for the ladies toilet could be clearer as I found a German woman cleaning her teeth when I exited one of cubicles in the gents!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrmatthewcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at Discovery Lodge in Feb 2014 for a friend's birthday and to walk the Tongariro Crossing. We stayed in the studio chalets which were beautifully appointed, very quiet, well equiped and decorated. The choice of accomodation here however is wide from chalets, motel rooms to campervans and tents. The shuttles to and from the crossing were well organised and the frequency of the return trips meant there was no long wait at the end when getting boots off and having a shower was high on the list of priorities! We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was unexpectedly good with delightful and helpful staff. Breakfast was a DIY cook up in the studios but eaten at the tables on the lawns outside the chalets over looking the National Park. All the staff were approachable and friendly. The only down side was not being able to BYO onto the large deck outside the restaurant/games room area again overlooking the National Park. The location was excellent for the activities we wanted to do and very close to a multitude of walks and ski lifts even in the summer. We will definitely be back. It is great to know of somewhere to stay in this area which meets our needs without having to trawl through the internet hoping to make a good choice.

Room Tip: The chalets are in a separate part of the Lodge Grounds and much quieter than the motel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28beverley58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,543 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
428 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
250 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing