We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfort away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had such a big family, 35 all up including the kids & the lodge was very accommodating.
The heaters in the rooms kept us warm & the guest room even had Sky Tv so we got to see the All Blacks win altogether.

Thanks team for letting us use the microwave in the kitchen.

Great team, great service. See you next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear DeShannon,

Thank you for your nice feedback. We really enjoyed you staying with us. I have to tell you, it was a real pleasure for us to see a large extended family altogether having fun. I admire you all for getting away from the city to explore in this amazing nature. It was great to hear you had so much fun on your adventures while here. You guys certainly know what it means to be a family!! Good on you and hope we see you again.

One more thing, we really appreciated you guys being so tidy and wanting to help out get the rooms ready for cleaning before you left. Much appreciated!! Hope to see you again.

Best wishes, Callum Harland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    91
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
52
152
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location of Discovery Lodge is perfect for exploring the National Park and Whakapapa ski fields. We booked a chalet which was modern and warm (visited in winter) with enough utensils to keep us for a few days (hot plate, pans, fridge, plates etc.) Food and petrol is available 5mins down the road. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially in giving tips regarding rental equipment for the ski fields.

I would recommend the Lodge to family and friends and will stay here again when we next visit the area.

Room Tip: My wife and I were travelling around NZ and wanted to save some money so we choose to cook our own b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear ExplorerRich,

We really appreciate you staying with us and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the Discovery Team does an amazing job of looking after our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We hope to see you again.

Best wishes, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great place to stay, exceptional staff, especially Jed who was ever so helpful with a great attitude to go, even the owner came and thanked us the morning we were leaving. The rooms were warm and perfect for our family stay of 34 (adults and children). Not far from Whakapapa Ski fields and less than an hours drive to Turangi. Thank you from the Motu, Laifone, Taia, Smith, Comport and Gemmell Whanau

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reremoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Reremoana,

Such a pleasure to have you all stay with us. Like I said above you guys know what it means to be family. A big thank you to Kara for organising everything with us. You did a great job!! And I completely agree, Jed & the Team do an amazing job of looking after everyone who stays at Discovery.

Hope to see you again.

Best wishes, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice motel, just off the highway between National Park and Whakapapa Village. An excellent base for hiking or skiing in this area. It's especially close to the Whakapapa Ski field. Though in the winter, the unit is very warm with different heaters and a electric blankets. Mattress is comfortable.

Motel unit has a small kitchen unit, but the stove is a bit outdated. Shower enclosure is a bit cramped as well. The price of the motel is a bit on the steep side, if you compare to similar motels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear dutch traveller,

Thank you for your feedback. And thank you for staying with us, much appreciated!

I want to take this opportunity to say a special thank you to two groups of people.

Firstly, a huge thank you to the Discovery Team for continuing to look after our guests so well. Jed, Miki, Maria, Daniel & Javi, you really are champions of hospitality!

Secondly, a thank you to all our amazing guests who continue to stay with us. We are incredibly fortunate to live work & play in this spectacular environment. We are surrounded by raw nature, which both inspires and invigorates us. But what really thrills us, is meeting the genuine good people who choose to stay with us at Discovery. Thank you to all who help make what we do so special & fulfilling.

Best wishes, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this motel, not knowing what to expect but wasn't at all disappointed. Jed, the member of staff, we met and dealt with, was a credit to the motel. He was so very helpful, cheery and a real asset. The owners, were lovely people too, spent our little boys 6th birthday at whakapapa and celebrated a little party in the room, which the staff kindly let us do so. Really lovely atmosphere that most certainly makes us want to boom again, as soon as possible. This is a lovely place to stay, with warm welcoming people. Thank you Jed, so much. Hope you liked my Hulk cake :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic place, staff are very friendly and helpful. Will be booking here again ext year. Very reasonably priced considering how close it is to the mountain. Also very clean especially considering they we short staffed at the time of our stay. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting clean, comfortable accommodation t an extremely good price.

Lisa Hodson

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ended up staying here by chance -all accom at Ohakune & National Park being full but what a great experience it ended up being.
Discovery Lodge has a great location for anyone heading up to Whakapapa or doing the Crossing but the staff made the stay memorable. Callum (owner) was extremely helpful at check-in and his staff in the restaurant were equally as friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a chalet which was comfortable and warm. We ate both dinner & breakfast in the onsite restaurant -tasty and very reasonably priced meals.
Will be back to stay when we get our 'Crossing' visit organised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing