We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, so helpful”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this motel, not knowing what to expect but wasn't at all disappointed. Jed, the member of staff, we met and dealt with, was a credit to the motel. He was so very helpful, cheery and a real asset. The owners, were lovely people too, spent our little boys 6th birthday at whakapapa and celebrated a little party in the room, which the staff kindly let us do so. Really lovely atmosphere that most certainly makes us want to boom again, as soon as possible. This is a lovely place to stay, with warm welcoming people. Thank you Jed, so much. Hope you liked my Hulk cake :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic place, staff are very friendly and helpful. Will be booking here again ext year. Very reasonably priced considering how close it is to the mountain. Also very clean especially considering they we short staffed at the time of our stay. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting clean, comfortable accommodation t an extremely good price.

Lisa Hodson

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ended up staying here by chance -all accom at Ohakune & National Park being full but what a great experience it ended up being.
Discovery Lodge has a great location for anyone heading up to Whakapapa or doing the Crossing but the staff made the stay memorable. Callum (owner) was extremely helpful at check-in and his staff in the restaurant were equally as friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a chalet which was comfortable and warm. We ate both dinner & breakfast in the onsite restaurant -tasty and very reasonably priced meals.
Will be back to stay when we get our 'Crossing' visit organised.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked a studio chalet over the internet after seeing other comments and photos and we were not disappointed. By booking direct with their website we got a special pre-paid price so the cost was reasonable for the area. The lady at reception was not expecting us as we had booked the previous night but she was very helpful and friendly and put us in the chalet that got the best view of Mt Ruapehu when we said we were keen amateur photographers. We were able to photograph sunrise and sunset over the mountains from the roadside opposite the chalet - perfect position!!!! The studio was tastefully furnished, comfy bed, had a good, quiet heater and the kitchen was well equiped. The onsite restaurant was closed but we were recommended to the Station Restaurant in nearby National Park Village and had such a great meal we went back the second night.
Unfortunately Discovery does not have broadband service so no wi-fi but the cafe behind the service station at National Park Village offers free wi-fi if you eat there.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our 2 night stay. We were upgraded to a chalet without a charge. The chalets were very nice, clean, with lovely furnishings. The owners were incredibly helpful to our young adult son. He had just taken a new job and was trying to get some paperwork faxed back to the United States. They went out of their way to help him at no charge. We had lunches packed for our day hike and they contained the best sandwiches we have ever eaten! The meals in the on- site restaurant were superb. We had a great stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaB536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose to book a chalet, there are other cheaper options (camping, backpackers) on site. The chalet was private and reasonably sized for the two of us. All facilities were there - equipped kitchen, fridge, good bathroom. There were picnic tables dotted about outside on the grassy surrounds. The only thing that spoiled it was that at night there was a strong smell of sewage coming from the drains around the edge of the gardens. We had to shut all the windows and bedroom door but it still seeped through. We did mention this to reception, they did say sorry, but nothing more.

The on site restaurant was better than it first appeared - very good food and wine choices.

David wanted to do the Tongariro Crossing, so this was arranged by the very helpful lady in reception as was the transport there and back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked the place through the Auckland visitor centre as we planned to do the Mt Tongariro alpine crossing.
The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We asked her about a trek to do and she recommended us to do the Mt Tongariro alpine crossing. She booked us in, and also recommended us a restaurant which she also booked for us. We originally booked a bed room but she upgraded us to a chalet which was very nice and cosy. After hours of driving, we had a lovely dinner and a warm place to stay.
The chalet is fully equipped with kitchen, kettle, toaster, plates etc... and a flat screen tv. It was fresh and clean. I particularly enjoyed the mattress cover which had a remote to heat up the bed, very nice when it's freezing out there.
We got picked up early in the morning by the bus which took us to the car park where the walk starts.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibiFlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
449 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
532 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $14 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing