We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay, good views when no clouds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, good views when no clouds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Discovery Lodge was one of our 'treats' on our NZ trip. It was a really nice chalet, done to a high standard and with excellent facilties for you to cook, watch TV and shower. The setting is great as if you pay for a chalet you are quite separate from the other parts of the camp which is for pitching tents, but everyone can come together in the central restaurant (if it is open! - it closes once a week for dinner and breakfast. It's quite remote, but with a car there are places you can go). Views would have been spectacular, but unfortunately in our stay the clouds didn't lift. Great location for going on the Tongariro crossing and they do a good shuttle service to get you to the crossing. Our group got caught in terrible weather on the mountain and so we had return to the base of the mountain very quickly (by 10am) and, soaking wet, had to plead a lift off another group as the hotel was unable to send a shuttle for collection prior to the scheduled time of 12:00. Still, if it had been a nice day it would have been a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    86
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
51
150
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in one of their Challet Studios, which has a queen bed, a nice kitchenette, and was comfortable for a couple. The bathroom, and especially the shower, was too small. The lodge was very well located, and the shuttle to the Tongoriro Alpine Crossing was convenient and on time. The restaurant, however, was mediocre, with a good lamb tagine but a bad chicken pasta special. The packed lunch was good, but the breakfast was disappointing and overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLarry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our weekend at Discovery Lodge is one more memory never to be forgotten. We stayed in one of the Motel units which had more than enough space and was very clean and neat. The staff made us feel at home from the moment we booked and arrived to the minute we left. We got to know Tanya well and she was ever helpful and ready with an answer to our many questions. Izzy made our dining experience something to remember for a long time and we enjoyed meeting the other guests from all over the world. We thank you ladies for making our time with you so special. We have promised ourselves that we will be back.......still plenty more to do and to experience there in the Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room number 9 - very comfortable and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tersia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Perfect place to stay to do the Tongariro crossing. I would recommend booking a chalet as the hotel itself is not much to look at. The views are wonderful of the mountains and the restaurant was surprisingly good. The shuttle was the earliest in the area and we were able to climb with limited people around. The staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brentmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
473 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in Discovery Lodge for four days. We had a chalet with a wonderful view over the Ruapehu volcano. It was a very nice chalet with a sleeping room and a bathroom.
On the area is a nice restaurant where there is a very good cook. Breakfast and dinner are gorgeous. We had dinner here for 3 nights.
The lounge however needs a remake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamcook
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in December 2012, in the Motel unit. I must say that all the staff we interacted with were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. They made our stay a real pleasure. I would agree with a previous reviewer that the food was not exceptional, but it certainly wasn't bad either. We thought the on-site restaurant offered fair value, on the whole.

As well as the amazing staff, the location gave this establishment the edge, particularly if you plan to make the Tongariro Crossing. As noted by another reviewer, it is the earliest shuttle to arrive at the parking lot at the start of the walk, and it was so great to have the early stages of walk to ourselves or pretty much so. I also really admired the approach of the bus driver (a co-owner I believe, named Callum(?)) who encouraged would-be hikers to carefully assess the weather situation before starting, and indicated that there was no charge should individuals opt to return to the hotel. This was during a period of bad weather, and this consideration of hikers' safety and comfort was impressive.

The motel unit we stayed in (second floor) had a high spacious ceiling giving an airy feel, a large bed (comfortable), a nice kitchenette and a good level of amenities. It was very clean. On site laundry was also a convenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiphias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The restaurant is pretty average, the views are wonderful, but the food is like home cooking from someone who isn't a very good cook. Aside from this, there are limited food options nearby, so definitely bring some when you come.

The accommodation was very clean, more than adequate for the price. Reasonable laundry prices, very close to the tongariro crossing.

The early 5:45am shuttle is very convenient, you get peace and quiet on the track, and the staff provide lots of information regarding weather and conditions before you go.

Would stay here again, but with my own food and a room/chalet with kitchenette.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
5.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing