We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt Ruapehu ski trip”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mt Ruapehu ski trip”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We (3 of us) stayed in a One Bedroom Chalets, for 11 nights from 22/August 2012, for a ski holiday in Whakapapa & Tuora. The Lodge is a 15min drive to the car parks at Whakapapa, and about 45min away from the car parks at Tuora. It has wonderful views of Mt Ruapehu, especially at sun rise and sun set.

The Chalet is well insulated, beautifully furnished with all-new fittings and appliances. The kitchen has good quality plates/utensils & cookware, shame the cooking elements aren't as powerful as we had hoped. Overall the chalet is plenty warm during the winter nights, except for the bathroom which is spacious, but does not have heating inside. Another pity about the bathroom as another reviewer pointed out, is that the shower water pressure leaves much to be desired. You do get used to the weak water pressure after a few days...

Also as pointed out by other reviewers, the laundry and drying room are in the main part of the complex, across from the reception, which is a little far from the Chalets. It didn't both us too much as we brought our own clothes airer and would prefer to dry our gears inside the house anyway.

The staff are just so friendly and wonderful. We had friends coming to joining us for the ski trip over a weekend. They had car trouble on arrival and departure of the Lodge, the staff totally went out of their way to help us out! First calling a car garage after hours and later helping us patch up the car. We also ate at the restaurant one night for dinner. The service and the food were simply top notch.

Overall this is a great place to stay and relax, and I would highly recommend them to all of my friends.

Room Tip: Go for the chalets that offer views of Mt Ruapehu, it's quite a sight to wake up to every mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    92
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
154
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at Discovery lodge for 8 days in July 2012 as our base skiing Mt Ruapehu.
Stayed in one of the new Chalets, very modern and had all the comforts of home.
Jed and the team were fantastic, the lodge is an easy 15 minute drive to Whakapapa ski fields and a 45 minute drive to Turoa ski fields. Hired skis from Edge to Edge Ski Hire on the way to the mountain, they are located on the way up to Whakapapa ski field behind the Skotel and have great service and excellent range of skis to choose from. The chalets is new and has a double bed in the main bedroom a sofa bed in the lounge and a single pull out bed in the lounge. Chalet has new kitchen with stove microwave and two burner cook top. All cutlery and appliances are new.
The only negatives are as follows.
1) No Heating in the bathroom, when temperature gets below zero it is very cold in there.
2) Drying Room is too far from the chalets and you have to dry your ski gear in the room.
3) Only one washer and dryer (coin operated) in the entire lodge.
4) Water pressure in shower is non existent I realize they are trying to save water but you need to be able to have a good shower at the end of the day.
Apart from the above the lodge is a great place to base yourself and ski beautiful Mt Ruapehu

Room Tip: Make sure you book the luxury Chalets they are new and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are a family doing the Tongariro alpine crossing, and having come from far to NZ, we were determined to make our day a great one. DIscovery Lodge is really the closest to the start point at Mangatepopo, and their promise of being the earliest drop off was also great.

The chalet smelt brand new, with all the furnishings in impeccable condition. Also well-equipped with a kitchenette, which came in useful as we cooked a light dinner before our early start the next day.

We weren't rushing for time on the crossing, and towards the end it started to rain quite heavily. At the end point everyone was squeezed under the shelter, and we were also waiting at the back off to one side. It was only after about 10 minutes that we noticed the Discovery Lodge transport waiting to one side of the carpark. They had kept count and we were the last to catch the ride. So instead of coming by at the scheduled time, they came and waited for us earlier, which saved us about another 45 minutes of waiting in the rain. Well done !

We had a great steak dinner at their restaurant, as a reward after doing the crossing, and the quality of the steak was much better than some at more renowned steak restaurants. The hosts and staff were really friendly and chatted with us about the crossing, and was also able to provide all the info we needed.

Probably the only point that wasn't so great was the slow internet access, but hey, we were surrounded by nature, and surely didn't go all the way there to surf the net.

Room Tip: If the budget allows, go for the chalets. Having a big open space around adds to the feeling of bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in a motel unit. It was spacious and very sunny in the afternoons and therefore warm as the days were cooling down. As we arrived by car our clutch completely gave out but the motel owners were able to help and advise how to get help. As the car was taken away for a day to be fixed the owners arranged for us to be taken up to the mountain the next day, to be picked up when we were ready for home and then were driven to Owhango to pick up the car from the garage. Absolutely fantastic service from both the owners of Discovery Lodge and the AA!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnevon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a superior studio chalet,they have great comfy bed n most importantly hot shower. The chalet are excellent design structure that keeps the cold off the chalet. Imagine we can sleep so soundly n warm despite the overnight frosting temp of minus 3 degrees. Great reception desk with well knowledgeable staffs advising choice of walks. We"ll be back for alpine crossing in summer n both thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We 2(2 couples) stayed in the one bedroom hotel unit. This worked well as were prepared to cook our own meals. We all slept well and it was fun to get up in the morning to the buzz of people preparing to do the alpine crossing. The staff at the front desk were excellent. Bad weather delayed us and they were able to help us rearrange the day of our hike on the crossing. The shuttle is well worth the extra $35 with knowledgeable staff who made sure that we were prepared. The location of the lodge allowed us to do the alpine crossing and then continue on to our next location in Waitomo on the same day. We just put our belongings in the car before we left for the crossing and they allowed us to leave the car at the lodge until we came back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed here to walk the crossing. We stayed in one of the cute wee cabins, which are very basic but perfectly adequate for what we needed, and very quiet, private and cheap. The star filled skies are amazing out here! The transport service to the crossing was excellent - on time and friendly. We also got the team to pack us a lunch which was a great idea - very yummy jumbo sandwich filled with lots of goodies. All in all a very easy and economical way to walk the Tongariro Crossing. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greenkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing