We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Tongariro crossing”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good base for Tongariro crossing”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Doing the Tongariro crossing is really convenient if you stay at the Discovery Lodge. The shuttle bus takes you to the start early in the morning and picks you up in the evening at the end.

The motel room was huge (we were only 2) and it was clean. Staff was friendly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
155
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We travelled in a group of three and stayed at Discovery Lodge in National Park. They were the PERFECT place to stay. Up tp date weather conditions for going up Tongarario, expert advice and the earliest shuttle company made the trip amazing. We stayed in the backpackers option and it was great. Communal kitchen and lounge were awesome, lots of room around the place and also toileting/shower facilities were nice and hot after a long walk up Tongarario. I wouldn't of stayed anywhere else. It cost us $170 for three people for two nights. Great bargain! We also got lunch and breakfast (extra charge) to prepare us for going up Tongarario. One last thing, the reception girl was GREAT! Put up with my partners awkward jokes and gave us amazing advice!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed overnight in a powered campervan spot. The check-in was quick, and well-priced (35$ for 2 people). The location is amazing if you want to do the Tongariro crossing, as you're the first people on the mountain.
However, the quality of the facilities for campers and campervans is below par - the toilets were all blocked, and the shower facilities were basic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Discovery Lodge Chalet.
Lovely new room in 1/2 of stand alone cabin. Nice cooking facilities, lovely bed - very
convenient to Mt. Tongariro. Great place for two.

Room Tip: The Chalet is totally different to the Motel or camp ground - in both price and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family stayed at the motel for one night for $255 and it was just a nightmare for all of us. There were cockroachs, dead bugs, mosquitoes everywhere and there were some on the beds so I was so disgusted. The showers were just terrible and the toliet smelled bad when no one used it. I'd rather sleep outside. I wouldn't recommand this to anyone!

Room Tip: the new rooms would be better but still there are bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkgvhkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear hkgvhkv,
How did we get it so wrong for you? For all the reasons I am deeply sorry you had such a bad time with us. If there is more to this than you are saying please call me on 0800 122 122 or email me at info@discovery.net.nz I am also very sorry you did not speak to us during your stay. Had you done so, I am very confident you would have departed Discovery happy. I have been at Discovery 10 years and have never seen a cockroach inside or outside. Also very rare to see mosquitos. We are surrounded by nature so there can be bugs coming and going from time to time - some cute, some not so cute. Not sure about the smell in the toilet. All rooms are cleaned to a high standard and checked. If you feel inclined, please contact me. Once again, I am terribly sorry you had such a bad time. Kindest regards, Callum Harland, Owner Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Unfortunetly when we arrived at Tongariro we were advised that the whether was unsuitable to do the Tongariro Alpine Summit crossing as we had planned. The lady at reception was very helpful and provided some alternate options. She also let us cancel our second night of accomodation without penalty since the whether was poor and we were better off moving on.

We stayed in a studio chalet. It was beautiful, clean, cosy and warm, and on a clear day would have views of the mountains. This was the nicest accomodation on our two-week long New Zealand road trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicklpickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at Discovery twice in the past year, and we have been really pleased with both visits. We stayed both times in the basic cabins, and it was great both in winter and summer. Very private and clean. Staff was friendly as well.

Our only complaint was the hot plates in the kitchen. Both times we visited, only a handful were working, so we had to be patient in boiling our water.

We loved the peacefulness of the place, and loved activies in the area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
255 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing