We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for two”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Discovery Lodge Chalet.
Lovely new room in 1/2 of stand alone cabin. Nice cooking facilities, lovely bed - very
convenient to Mt. Tongariro. Great place for two.

Room Tip: The Chalet is totally different to the Motel or camp ground - in both price and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 273 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family stayed at the motel for one night for $255 and it was just a nightmare for all of us. There were cockroachs, dead bugs, mosquitoes everywhere and there were some on the beds so I was so disgusted. The showers were just terrible and the toliet smelled bad when no one used it. I'd rather sleep outside. I wouldn't recommand this to anyone!

Room Tip: the new rooms would be better but still there are bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkgvhkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Dear hkgvhkv,
How did we get it so wrong for you? For all the reasons I am deeply sorry you had such a bad time with us. If there is more to this than you are saying please call me on 0800 122 122 or email me at info@discovery.net.nz I am also very sorry you did not speak to us during your stay. Had you done so, I am very confident you would have departed Discovery happy. I have been at Discovery 10 years and have never seen a cockroach inside or outside. Also very rare to see mosquitos. We are surrounded by nature so there can be bugs coming and going from time to time - some cute, some not so cute. Not sure about the smell in the toilet. All rooms are cleaned to a high standard and checked. If you feel inclined, please contact me. Once again, I am terribly sorry you had such a bad time. Kindest regards, Callum Harland, Owner Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Unfortunetly when we arrived at Tongariro we were advised that the whether was unsuitable to do the Tongariro Alpine Summit crossing as we had planned. The lady at reception was very helpful and provided some alternate options. She also let us cancel our second night of accomodation without penalty since the whether was poor and we were better off moving on.

We stayed in a studio chalet. It was beautiful, clean, cosy and warm, and on a clear day would have views of the mountains. This was the nicest accomodation on our two-week long New Zealand road trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicklpickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at Discovery twice in the past year, and we have been really pleased with both visits. We stayed both times in the basic cabins, and it was great both in winter and summer. Very private and clean. Staff was friendly as well.

Our only complaint was the hot plates in the kitchen. Both times we visited, only a handful were working, so we had to be patient in boiling our water.

We loved the peacefulness of the place, and loved activies in the area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Discovery's new bungalows at the front of the lodge are lovely. They were toasty, warm and nicely furnished. I was disappointed that we didn't have a porch or a view of the surrounding volcanoes. We were also a stone's throw away from the highway - not a relaxing spot at all.

I would recommend this lodge to people who are tramping in the area and who need a comfortable bed to sleep in for the night. It was unfortunately, not the mountain retreat we were hoping for.

We tried the lodge restaurant on our first night and we were very disappointed. Although the bungalows have a self catering facility, we were far away from any supermarkets. Had we planned better we would have bought our own food.

The people working at the lodge were very friendly and obviously have a passion for the area - a great resource when planning an epic tramp. For me, the new bungalows are fairly pricey for a spot right beside a highway.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the Discovery Lodge mainly because we wanted to do the Tongariro Crossing. The hotel is very convenient to the park and offered an early morning shuttle and frequent pick-ups on the crossing trail. Unfortunately, we were not able to due the Crossing because of high wind, but the owner quickly told us of several different hikes in the park and we had a great hike anyway. The workers were very helpful and really helped us to make the best of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squatchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed at Discovery Lodge the night before we started the Alpine Crossing and I believe there is simply no better place to stay for that purpose. The bungalows are brand new and very tastefully furnished. There is nothing missing and we should have stayed another night. The type and style of bungalow is a real benchmark for every lodge.

The lodge is providing a bus at different times in the morning that gets you directly to the starting point of your Alpine Crossing walk (which is a really nice walk - although not as breathtaking/life changing as Lonely Planet wants you to believe). They will also pick you up by bus on the other side of the mountain (volcano) at different times.

If you want a nice and cosy environment before and/or after the Alpine Crossing then book the Discovery Lodge. This is a place that can not improve anymore - as it is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetEarthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,630 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
441 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $14 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing