We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
91
181
103
39
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
181
103
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongariro crossing bar and restaurant walls are thin roaring fire mezzanine room spiral restaurant school holidays packed lunch lamb shank ski lodge two single beds great atmosphere stayed here for one night tea and coffee family room both nights pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 431 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

A friend and I didn't book any hotel as we planned to do the volcano flights and leave the same day. As things go, we decided to stay the night eventually and googled our way to finding accommodation. This was one of the closest and the first one we tried. We just walked in to reception and asked. Thankfully a room was just made available. Woohoo! It was a 4-bed room, more than enough. They had basic tea and coffee facilities with a fridge. Toilet and bath was small but it's not like you need a large one.

It was a comfortable sleep. Though the next door neighbors were a bit loud and stomped their way around....early in the morning. Perhaps it would be good to remind clients to be a bit more considerate.

Overall, it was a good stay. Made even better by the friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank LinesRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkS12388, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thanks for your positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for the staff mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

We stayed here in order to do the Tongariro Crossing - I was told to ring the day before doing the walk to ensure the weather was good. I spoke to a very friendly girl who helped me book in the shuttle for 3 people to take us to the crossing in the morning and explained we would be needing a late check in and she explained the procedure. We got our key from the mailbox at the front, with a map of the complex to show us our room along with the shuttle information for the next day.
No complaints - the heating was on when we got in, the bed was super comfy, tea and coffee was provided, with mugs, wine glasses and a fridge.
We were up for the 5.45am shuttle, but the next morning we checked out at 9am and the walls are pretty thin, being able to hear the people next door very clearly but due to the location, you tend to be up and out early to hike/ski/checkout so not too much of an issue for us.
The only issue we had both nights was finding a car park - it would be better if they had lines in the car park for car parking spots as many people left big gaps between themselves and the cars next to them but not big enough for another car to fit. They could fit a lot more if they did this.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelynR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkS12388, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Many thanks for your overall positive review. Having just completed a substantial overhaul of our car park - it was in bad shape - we will definitely mark the parking lines which we are required to do by council but also because it's the sensible thing to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Came here for dinner mainly because of the open fire and dining area. My friend and I both ordered the curry of the day. Very disappointing - it seems the chef just used yellow curry powder and nothing else to make the sauce. It was pretty tasteless. I’ve eaten lots of Indian meals and this was one of the worse. Also the naan bread was dry and burnt and not at all like the texture naan should be

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank StevoKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkS12388, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Thanks for visiting our restaurant and taking the time to review. Having eaten a number of your curry specials myself I would disagree in so far as the taste of the curries, and no, that is not how they are made. I would however agree that the naan bread has been poorly prepared and this has been brought to the attention of the head chef for remedial action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

All the facility in the room was great. The bed comfortable. The hotel offers free shuttlers to the national park and mountain which was great. The wifi was a little too unstable even at the lounge/restaurant, but other than that everything was good.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tamluong91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkS12388, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thanks for your review. We 're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We don't actually provide the shuttles. That's arranged (free) by the ski company in the winter as part of the lift ticket price. We agree with the problems you experienced with the wi-fi. When we are busy it's not great and we're working on that. We can't get fibre / UFB until 2020 in National Park. We are in the process of adding another ADSL broadband connection but like everything else in the central plateau it takes forever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

The room was nice and clean. The restaurant was really basic and the service was poor, we wanted to have a continental breakfast (offered on the menu) not the buffet and they said that day they didn’t have that option, only the poor, expensive and mostly empty buffet was available.
The hotel is nice and really good located if you are going to the ski centre. The receptionist were very kind, as were almost the rest of the people working there.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank M5610SRstefaniar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkS12388, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thanks for your generally positive review. It appears we let you down at breakfast but at least you appreciated the other aspects of your stay. Thanks also for the staff review - they always appreciate a mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews