We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and affordable”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

For this price you can't really go wrong. It has everything you need for Tongariro access. Hot water showers for when you return. On the negative side the beds do sink in the middle & the blinds were broken but you will probably be so tired you won't care! Friendly staff and a good vibe in the restaurant though...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annabel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    147
    74
    32
    12
See reviews for
64
128
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at The Park through a "grab one" Tongariro Crossing package.

The Park has a great location for doing the Crossing and would be good for people wanting to do MTB or skiing in the area as well.

Our room was adjacent to the kitchen and was very noisy. The walls in our room were paper thin and you could hear every footstep outside, every plate being handled in the kitchen, everyone in the hot tub. I note the manager says there's a night telephone you can call in the lobby if there are noise issues however my feedback would be I wouldn't return because of this noise, not use a phone number to call someone about it during the night. Especially when a lot of the noise was from the kitchen staff in the kitchen.

Cleanliness of the rooms was a little off, I found hairs in both the bed and shower that wasn't ours.

The rooms were also very dark and we found ourselves bored as there was no TV in the room. The bed was old and small, lots of roll together. We left after the first night despite our package covering two nights.

On the positive side the breakfast was good (although they seemed unprepared for the 6.30 start of breakfast, no serving spoons etc) and the shuttle service was good too (to the Tongariro Crossing). The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

Overall as it was part of a Grab One special it wasn't good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manger at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the property. I am sorry to hear your expectations were not met during your stay.

I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room onto our new housekeeping manager who will look into this matter further. I do apologise for the noise coming from the kitchen as well; we will make an effort to keep the noise to a minimum in this area in the future.
We do close our spa pools at 9pm to decrease noise levels as well.

I am glad that you had positive experiences dealing with our staff and enjoyed the transport service to the Tongariro Crossing. I hope you had an enjoyable day on the Crossing and enjoyed Tongariro National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had two brilliant nights staying here, package deal brought off "Grab-One". The transfers for the Crossing were well organized. Lunch was packed for us and we had started the day with a full-cooked breakfast and decent coffee. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant both nights was warm and friendly with many travellers. The evening meals in the restaurant were delicious, large and at a reasonable price. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offthefarm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to put together a package that suits a wide variety of people.

The Tongariro Crossing is a great one day walk and we are happy that people such as yourselves are able to come and enjoy the Central Plateau as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Rooms Division Manager
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This place was great to crash after the 20k Tongariro Crossing.
We stayed in the dorm rooms (all with ensuite) and ate in the restaurant. We found all to be comfortable and enjoyable. Only thing to say about the restaurant is that I asked for the burger to be cooked well done and I was told that might not be possible as they were busy....not really the response you expect when you are paying someone to cook your food. However, it was reiterated by myself and friends that the burger needed to be well done and thankfully it was.
We did use the hot tubs on our return from the walk, unfortunately we couldn't get all the bubbles to work but it was still nice and warm for our muscles!
Would recommend the Park for anyone wanting to be in the National Park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shjnmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Park. I apologise for the response you received in regards to your meal and will speak with our food and beverage team in regards to this.

All of our guests are special and anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable is our pleasure.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Rooms Division Manager
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay after a 20km trek across tongariro national park. I was truly impressed with this place (not just because I was tired from the trek!)

I was staying in a 4 bed room with en suite- two single beds and a bunk bed. The bathroom was clean and the shower was great, however no soap was provided and no mirror which was a minor annoyance.

This, though was a minor gripe and in no way affected my stay! The beds were really comfy and had no trouble with noise!

Real mix of people staying there- friendly for all types of people! I was on the stray bus- had a cheap meal deal as a part of that- really great value and was pretty delicious considering it was a meal deal which usually fall below expectations! This is the exception though :)

The two hot tubs are an added bonus. Especially to rest those tired muscles after the tongariro crossing!

Highly recommend!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Good Morning Rebecca,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We pride ourselves on being able to cater to a wide variety of people and thus give your the opportunity to meet lots of different people.

We are very glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Rooms Division Manager
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here for food and had a very poor experience. We both ordered pizza but neither of us finished it - really bad food. We also encountered poor service with a waitress who was at best disinterested and mostly rude. Strongly suggest avoid this place for food, at least.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank citytravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wow! What an outstanding little gem - everything you need right on site. Friendly staff, stunning facilities, very warm and cosy. Great food, extensive bar & restaurant choices. Reasonable prices. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Good Morning Gordy,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very lucky to have such a great team of staff and be able to live in a beautiful part of New Zealand. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Rooms Division Manager
The Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Property: The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From premium hotel rooms, to self catering family rooms to comfortable loft rooms, there is an accommodation style to suit every travellers needs and budget. Enjoy picturesque alpine views of Mts Ruapehu, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom in the Lord of the Rings filming locations) from the hotel. The on-site Spiral Restaurant & Bar is full of character and is open daily. The outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces are complimentary for guests and offer the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in the Ruapehu region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing