We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay, great service, awesome location. Highly recommend! We stayed in a private room which was ideal. Food in restaurant was good, quick and friendly service. Clean, good value. Definitely stay again when in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Good Moring Helen,

Thank you for your review of The Park. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. With a diverse range of staff here on the property we strive to provide welcoming and friendly service to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Administration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    146
    73
    29
    12
See reviews for
61
125
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good location for exploring the area. Rooms with private facilities were good. Walls are wafer thin which can be an issue (was for us on the last night). Kitchen facilities not as well maintained as YHA facilities. Staff could have been a little more helpful regards walk options and parking restrictions at walk start locations. Overall stay was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Permanentabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland - new zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had booked a package for 2 nights so we could do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing,and added an extra night for over easter our room (10) was great, bed was very comfy, spiral bar and restaurant had awesome choice of food and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Just wished we had been able to get on the early bus for the crossing as I am a slow walker and ran out of time so only managed to do half of it. I think next time I would take my own car out there so i was not restricted to times, but all in all had a great time here and will definately stay next time I come here :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twodeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time. Please keep an eye on our website for flexible rates all year round.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Administration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower hutt
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I can't rave enough about this place. From the time we arrived to the time we left - i was impressed. Staff could not have been better, every single one of them whether cleaning or serving all took the time out to say hello, rooms are very clean, beds were very comfortabel, great shower, food is fantastic. Information is outstanding. Packed lunches are great, breakfast great. We did the Tongoriro crossing but could not do the first day as weather was not great. Reception recommended other options and said we might be able to go the following day but was marginal. The lodge kept us informed about the weather conditions and updates. In the mornign we did get to go and the driver was informative and gave us a good briefing. The lodge aslo gave great advise on what to wear and genuinely cares about safety of their guests. I will be recommending here to all my friends and family. Thank you for such a great stay. If anyone is thinking of doing the crossing - please please please take the advise of the DOC notices and the staff at the lodge. The weather conditions change rapidly on the mountain - we came accross a group from the Sates who were in shorts, t shirts and sunhats with thin jackets. They walked past all the warning signs from DOC and got caught up in the cold mountain conditions and fortunately they made an intellegent move to turn back with the younger ones in the group who were not coping, its a shame that they were not dressed for the occasion as they would have missed some fabulous sights!

Room Tip: Rooms do not have great sound proofing so would recommend asking for a room that perhaps is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jen,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate it and have passed your comments along to the rest of our team who always love to hear positive feedback. We have very multicultural team here at The Park which creates a dynamic and fun work environment.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Park.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Administration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friendly service and good amenities available. Onsite bar and restaurant were great, other options available next door but we felt no need to move. Packed lunches are a good size even for the blokes, buffet breakfast had good range but could have used a bit of attention (soggy hash browns, watery eggs when running low). Rooms were a good size and general atmosphere was easy going. We bought a fantastic value package deal off grab one but would easily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellibells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend to walk the Tongariro Crossing. While the rooms were basic, that was all we needed. The staff were helpful, service was great and meals were nice and reasonably priced. The inclusive transport to and from the crossing was well organised and on time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Steve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

we bought a voucher deal for a 2 night stay with brekkie and transfers to the Tongariro Crossing and welcome drinks, but when all was said and done, we checked out a day early, right after we did the crossing, as we could not bear the thought of sleeping another night on the most uncomfortable beds ever! the room was like a cave, very poor lighting, the shower door couldn't open/close without opening the bathroom door, so nil privacy if you were staying with people who you would not want to see you in your birthday suit...even if it is a backpacker/economy accommodation, everyone deserves a decent sleep, and the mattresses were not, as several other reviewers have found. this was a one off for us, never again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,489 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
413 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Property: The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From premium hotel rooms, to self catering family rooms to comfortable loft rooms, there is an accommodation style to suit every travellers needs and budget. Enjoy picturesque alpine views of Mts Ruapehu, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom in the Lord of the Rings filming locations) from the hotel. The on-site Spiral Restaurant & Bar is full of character and is open daily. The outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces are complimentary for guests and offer the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in the Ruapehu region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing