We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price; convenient for Tongariro crossing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great price; convenient for Tongariro crossing”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were 7 of us, stayed in 2 loft apartments, and did the Tongariro crossing. The motel was very supportive to our stay. Nice warm wooden interiors, yummy food, and young travelers all around. The only downside is that you cant make noise post 10pm as the walls are too thin and gets very loud for others. I loved the place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank enak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    148
    75
    34
    12
See reviews for
67
130
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I finally decided to do the Tongariro Crossing and used an on-line special with the Park Lodge.

I have to state for the record that I am REALLY not a fan of backpacker type accommodation adn most times i have attempted to use budget facilities I have been shocked by the standard and takiness of backpacker accommodation, so I conceded to my partner and gave it one last go....

The experience was quite frankly, mindblowing! I'll explain...

Although we booked a rediculous special which included 2 nights accommodation, cooked breakfast for 2 on both mornings, a bunch of drinks vouchers, a bunch of hot drink vouchers and transfers to and from the Tongariroo crossing (uincluding 2 MASSIVE meal packs), the service we received from start to finish was as good as most 5 star hotels I've stayed at. The staff were friendly, informative, well informed and always willing to go the extra mile. I thought, having booked a special deal, we would be treated like second rate citizens... Who would have guessed?

The facilities, whilst bruised as can be expected from a backpackers lodge, far exceded my expectations and a quick rundown is as follows:

The main communal and restaurant area is homely and it's a pity the fire wasn't going! But given the 22 degree wether, that would have been silly!.

The bar is great and the staff were fantastic,

The spa pools were well kept and clean.

The room was a little cramped (we got a 2 level room with a double bed on the mezzanine. The only bad thing I have to say about the lodge is that the biggest beds they have are doubles and if you're a 6ft 4inch fella like myself, that poses a problem. Especially if you're not alone in your bed! The room was well maintained (albeit a little bashed and bruised).

The restaurant food also excededd my expectations and the beef burger and pork ribs were outstanding.

Well done The Park. If you had bigger beds we would be returning for the winter season, but unfortunately it is a deal breaker for me.

If you're after good value for money and a great atmosphere with likeminded people, I can't speak highly enough of this venue.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudiHefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here on the Tongariro crossing package. Room, breakfast, lunch, transfers, and even a beer is included in the package.
This package makes doing the crossing easy. Just turn up and let them take care of everything...except the long walk.
The park has everything in one place. It has the feel and friendliness of a backpackers, but without the shared rooms. Great place to stay for all the summer activities.

Only negative is the bed was not the most comfortable. But if you do enough during the day that won't matter

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great place to stay if you are looking for a reasonable place close to the ski fields and hiking tracks like Tongariro.

I have stayed at this place numerous times in the last 12 months and have enjoyed all stays, it isn't the quietest hotel (its timber walkways can be noisy at night) but staff are always friendly and helpful.

Also has a nice bar and restaurant for end of day drinks & food.

Relaxed casual hotel... the hot tubs are also nice at the end of the ski day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the park travelers lodge after purchasing a grab one (www.grabone.co.nz) voucher which included
2 nights accom
Breakfast each morning
A wine or beer each night
Transfers to and from Tongariro
$230 per 2 people.

Was an awesome deal and we were not disappointed.

THE ROOMS
we were a group of six and so we booked 2x standard rooms and 1x loft.
The standard rooms are normally $120 per night twin share, they are clean and tidy and fresh looking as the lodge was built in 2006 . They had a double bed. 3 comfy chairs, a desk and tea and coffee making faculties and an ensuite, well worth the money.
The loft is very cute, it has two single beds downstairs and a tea and coffee making facilities and a desk, unstairs it has a double bed, is a nice setting if you have
Couple and some singles as the couple are sleeping in a separate area. The loft is normally $140 per night twin share and $35 per extra person.

FOOD
the lodge has a nice big kitchen for if you want to self cater, we did not take this option but I went and had a look at the kitchen and it was clean and tidy and large so multiple groups could easily cook at the same time, there are nice table and chair areas close to the bar that you can eat your self catered meal.

The resturant food was nice, there is a small menu so of staying several nights you might want to try next door after a while, the salad was nice and my husband had the ribs which were lovely. Dinner ranged in price from $16 for fettuccine or a beef salad, to most dishes being in the low $20s, with the most expensive dish being steak tht was $30. Dessert looked great although we didn't eat any.

Breakfast was nice, it was part of our package which was great and we could order anything on the menu On te package which ranged from $9.50 for musli to $17 for a full cooked breakfast. Eggs Benedict with crispy bacon was $13.50 it was delicious and very reasonably priced I thought. The bar and resturant area is very cute, it is set around a nice fireplace and has lots of big wooden beams to make it very charming and warm and cosy.

Happy hour was 6-7pm and the house beer and wine was $5. The house beer and wine is normally $6 and so reasonably priced either way.

The lodge is in the shape of a square with a hollow middle where all the rooms look out onto a courtyard and the two spa pools. As said in previous posts the rooms don't have great sound proofing and was a bit noisy on Friday night and Saturday morning when everyone got up early to do the crossing.
Although its a lil noisy it didn't really bother us and we had a great stay here. I don't think it would be worth giving This place a
Miss just because of the noise.

THE STAFF
the staff were great and really caring. They have a lot of foreign staff that I can only assume are over here tripping around, it was great to hear all the different accents and they were all really friendly throughout our stay.

TONGARIRO CROSSING
the crossing was awesome and really worth doing, we were really lucky that we had good weather for it. The lodge drops you at the start and picks you up at the end, if you don't have a package deal I think this is a $35 return trip.
The spa was great to get into and have a soak after walking 19.4km. It was really enjoyable relaxing in there with a couple of wines

All in all was an extremely enjoyable trip and one easily done on a budget .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

this place is really more of a hostel than a hotel. i stayed in a small single room with an uncomfortably saggy soft twin bed. the lights were extremely dim. the only heat was from a portable heater that inadequately heated the space. there was no tv or phone. bathroom sink was extremely tiny- almost unusable. the hottubs are in the yard outside the rooms so it was often noisy. very rudimerntary accomodation.
the restaurant and bar and fireplace room are nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Booked two rooms for one night (for the wrong day), they changed the booking with no problem. The lodge was well appointed and the rooms were very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good and the continental breakfast is good value for 10 bucks so is the unlimited Internet for 10 bucks a day.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanaDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,582 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Property: The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cozy hotel rooms, to family mezzanine lofts, there is an accommodation style to suit every travellers needs. Enjoy picturesque alpine views of Mts Ruapehu, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom in the Lord of the Rings filming locations) from the hotel. The on-site Spiral Restaurant & Bar is full of character and is open daily. The outdoor hot tubs, courtyard & open fireplaces are complimentary for guests and offer the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in the Ruapehu region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing