We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I was so impressed from the moment i walked through the door! The receptionist was super nice and showed us around all the facilities available. I was with my father and we were checked into a family loft room, which was was super spacious and warm. We had an amazing dinner at the restaurant and the service there was superb! I was really impressed with how passionate the staff was about every aspect of their jobs. Our night was really pleasant, the beds were super comfy and the following morning we had a delicious breakfast and once again was served to us by a staff member who seemed very happy to be there! By far our best stay on our road trip around the north island!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmiss0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    146
    73
    30
    12
See reviews for
61
126
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had a nice stay at the Park. Hostel wise, this place was perfect. The rooms were clean with there own ensuite, loft style with 2 beds upstairs and 2 beds downstairs. Beds were comfy and worm. When I was there they had a deal of stay 3 nights and pay for 2, so it was actually a great deal. Only costing $20 per night. It was snowing when I arrived and the fireside lougne was a cozy place to warm up. The lounge has spectacular views of the alpine range. They do have spas, but they really need an upgrade and don't stay hot! The food is expensive and not worth the price you pay. There is a small, reasonablly priced supermarket up the road where you can buy some cheap groceries and cook your own food in thier big, well stocked kitchen. Staff were freindly.. One of the top hostels I stayed at in NZ.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel was our stop midway between Auckland and Wellington. The hotel is right at the entrance to the Tongariro National Park and in a great location right next to the highway. My sister and I had a small room with two twin beds and a tiny bathroom. Although the bathroom was tiny, it had the best shower of our entire trip to NZ. It was a chilly night and we could not figure out how to turn the heat on, but were warm enough once we got into bed. The room had a small fridge and kettle with tea and coffee. No TV, clock or hairdryer. Our room faced the courtyard where there was a hot tub that we were told closed at 10 pm. Apparently the other guests did not listen to that as we were woken up about 1 AM to a rather loud party going on outside. This lasted until at least 3 as that's the last time I looked at my clock. We did not have any noise from rooms next to or above, but the outside noise was pretty hard to ignore. If it wasn't for that, I would have recommended this hotel. We did eat in the restaurant and the food was great. It was a misty afternoon and a very rainy night/morning so we weren't able to explore the park. If you don't mind a lot of noise, I guess this would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tine1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks so much for your review! We just wanted to address your concerns. There are hairdryers as well as clocks available at reception free of charge- just pop up to reception and ask for them. I am also sorry to hear that it was noisy during your stay- we do our best to ask our guests to keep noise to a minimum after 10:00pm. We have an overnight phone number that is present at reception that we urge guests to use if there are any concerns after reception has closed. Our spas close at 9:30pm every night in hopes to keep noise to a minimum. Despite the noise we are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable!

Cheers,
The Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National Park Village hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

A lovely lodge, laid out very well with nice garden, a huge profesional style kitchen and dining/chilling area. The restaurant food was also very good. Staff were extremely friendly.

Stayed in one of the smaller 6 bed rooms for one night, was quite small but good enough. Another night I stayed in one of the 4 beds with the mezzanine floor, a lot bigger and brighter. One of my favourite places to stay in NZ! Def give it a go!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fifi1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were traveling from Rotorua to New Plymouth and needed an intermediate stop along the way. We stopped at the i-site at Taurangi and they were able to book us into a Regular Double Room with ensuite, at $120 per night. We expected the simple but adequate accommodations we'd booked elsewhere in NZ in this price range. The room was clean, but small, dark, and noisy, without TV or hairdryer (hairdryer available at the reception for a $20 refundable deposit). The rooms are arranged around a central courtyard that has a couple of hot tubs, so it was noisy until 10pm. The common areas, including the kitchen, were large, clean and adequate. This lodge may be a good choice as a backpacker option, in the shared rooms. It was way overpriced at $120 for a double ensuite. We had a better double ensuite room in a Backpackers Lodge in Wanganui for half the price. A wooden walkway in front of all the rooms made it impossible to sleep after 6am, as people with luggage clack-clacked over the wooden decking walkway on their way out. On the plus side, it had a bar and simple restaurant with adequate food, as well as a central kitchen for the guests to use.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Hi there, thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate the feedback. It sounds like the noise level was one of your main concerns and for that we do apologize. We do our best to ask guests to keep the noise level to a minimum, especially after 10:00pm. Our spas close at 9:30pm in hopes to reduce noise levels as well. In the future please feel free to use the overnight phone posted at reception if you need assistance after reception closes. Also, we do have other room types that are more spacious than the standard double and that have a television in the room. Please contact us at any time to inquire further.

Cheers,
The Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Brilliant location for walking, overlooking the mountain range and on the main road. Good self catering facilities, plenty of space and comfy chairs to sit on...Bar offers good selection of bar type foods...Out door seating area, although it can be quite windy. Room had all the basic amnities with the exception of a hairdryer. Bed comfortable, TV sounds fixed so as not to disturb other guests. Outdoor jacuzzi, childrens play area, ample car parking facilities, public toilets included showers.Mixed accommodation meeting all types of travellers, we would use again...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed with my partner for 2 nights to walk the Crossing in a premium room with ensuite. Unfortunately we could hardly sleep at night because we could hear everything from the room next door. The rooms also had only one very small window because of which the room was very dark and no views at all. We did ask for a different room but apparently they all have such small windows.
We were lucky that we had a discounted rate because it sure wasn't worth the full rate of $140 per night.
The guest lounge is very nice but filled with loud backpackers. This place is great if you like to go backpacking in style but not for anything more upmarket.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbeans999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkTraveller, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback! We just wanted to address some of your concerns. We are sorry to hear that your room was noisy- in the future please feel free to use the overnight phone number that is posted at reception if you have any concerns after reception is closed. We are glad that you got to enjoy our common room area; our lodge is quite dynamic in that we get a great mix of guests ranging from back packers to families- all are welcome!

Cheers,
The Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Property: The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From premium hotel rooms, to self catering family rooms to comfortable loft rooms, there is an accommodation style to suit every travellers needs and budget. Enjoy picturesque alpine views of Mts Ruapehu, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom in the Lord of the Rings filming locations) from the hotel. The on-site Spiral Restaurant & Bar is full of character and is open daily. The outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces are complimentary for guests and offer the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in the Ruapehu region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing