We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful b&b”
Review of The Calcutts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Calcutts House
Ranked #1 of 3 Jackfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely b&b in a great location, nice walk into Ironbridge and in the opposite direction there is the craft Centre which is worth a visit too.
The owners were very nice, friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was full of character. We had a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We selected Calcutts for its location as it is within a stroll of Ironbridge and the river. the bonus was the tea served when we arrived and the lovely sunny table in the garden which was very pleasant after a hard day's driving.
The rooms we had were in a small building next to the house which were comfortable and the breakfast was tasty and ample.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband booked a room here and was under the impression it would be a room in the main house with character fixtures and fittings. Unfortunately, it was none of these, we were put in a room in the stable block with a velux window, so no view. The bathroom was very disappointing, in fact be careful, my husband caught is finger between the door and sink as space was so limited. The breakfast however was delicious and very well cooked.

Room Tip: Make sure its in the main house as they appear to be bigger and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Calcutts House is ideally located for visiting the Ironbridge Museums. It also has a welcoming local pub within easy walking distance which serves excellent food. We received a warm welcome and a cup of tea on arrival. Our room was not in the main building, but in an outbuilding close by. Our sleep quality was poor because, although the guests in the room above ours were not noisy people, the lack of sound insulation meant that we were continually disturbed. The bed was comfortable and with quiet I am sure we would have slept better. The breakfast was well cooked.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agj750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My cousin and I stayed here for 4 nights on a walking holiday. It was warm, comfortable, excellent breakfasts, clean and comfortable rooms and very welcoming owners.

Plenty of parking and an easy walk to Ironbridge for an evening meal, or there is a pub just round the corner.

Good value for money, when I compared rates for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding welcome and attentive care by the owner. Breakfasts are generous and offer a good choice. Great quality eggs and bacon locally sourced and superbly cooked. I personally approve of the idea of ordering the night before. Fruit salad delicious. The arrival welcome included coffee. Much appreciated after our journey from Scarborough. Good advice available on places to eat. Very happy to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginkoOopNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just got back form an excellent stay at The Calcutts House. Beautiful big house in Jackfield, walking distance from the high street and all the attractions in the Gorge. James, Sarah and the mad Welsh Terrier gave a warm welcome to a cold weekend; a much needed pot of tea was offered on arrival. We stayed in the smaller James Glazebrook Room, upstairs in the old converted coach house. Room was clean and well set out, however the sloping roof means if your tall, you may want to stay in one of the larger rooms as the shower it a little cramped. Breakfast was excellent. Could not recommend staying here enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackfield
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
986 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Foundry Masters House
The Foundry Masters House
#1 of 1 in Coalbrookdale
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 3 in Jackfield
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
0.3 mi away
Ladywood Bed & Breakfast
Ladywood Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Jackfield
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Calcutts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calcutts House

Address: Calcutts Road | Ironbridge, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Jackfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jackfield
Price Range: $85 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Calcutts House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 17th-century former Ironmasters home. Ideally located in the Ironbridge Gorge, within walking distance for many of the museums. Individually decorated bedrooms some with antique four poster beds are located in the main house and converted coach house. All have undergone much refurbishment in the last 3 years. A newly decorated comfy guest lounge awaits you where you can enjoy a cup of tea of coffee on arrival. Breakfast is served in our dining room with views of the gardens and the Ironbridge Gorge, enjoy a home cooked breakfast with locally produced ingredients. Leave your car in our private car park and walk to many local restaurants for your evening meal. A warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Calcutts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calcutts House Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing