We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, at best.”
Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Jackfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a friendly run family pub. Where a warm welcome awaits you every time. You can sit outside on the patio or sit over looking the river Severn . Enjoying a nice ice cold drink or have a meal, looking out for the kingfishers or the otters. In the winter, you can enjoy a meal inside feeling the warmth of our log burner. Or just enjoy a drink. Soaking up the friendly atmosphere. Sit at the bar and have a nice chat with our friendly locals. We are a dog friendly pub. There are water bowls outside, for our four legged friends. We also serve a variety of teas, coffees, lattes, fruit teas, hot chocolate etc. There is a special board, which is changed throughout the year. With a large selection of vegetarian options.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ate here recently and found it very average, food was OK but very standard pub grub. I'm sure during the summer when it's possible to sit outside the views more than make up for the food.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoMAk981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 332 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

As during previous years, I stayed at the nearby Calcutts House B&B guesthouse. For my evening meals, I took a very short walk to the Black Swan. Suffice to say that the evening meal was as an enjoyable part of my holiday as any other. The food is excellent and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Martin_Evans_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

proper home cooked pub grub and good ales served in a lovely spot by friendly helpful staff, will defo be going back next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank carla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Excellent local pub very near Ironbridge. We often stop here after a long walk for a refreshing drink. Staff are always friendly and welcoming and if you sit outside there are lovely views over the River Severn. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kiwi824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

OK. So its a pub that does food rather than a restaurant, but allow me a little artistic licence. What do i want from a country pub? Good choice of well kept ale. Good quality pub food with wide range and sensible prices. Friendly bar staff. Friendly locals. Large beer garden with a beautiful view. Good choice of malt whiskies to finish off the evening. Well, tick, tick, tick, tick, tick and tick. Enough said. Sitting in the Sun overlooking the beautiful river Severn, pint of cold local beer in hand, with the waft of what certainly appears home cooked food. Apart from the Euromillions numbers coming up, evenings don't get too much better when you want a break from the rat race.

Date of visit: August 2012
2  Thank adrian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing