We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Ice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Ice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Unforgettable experience staying at the Ice Hotel at Jukkasjärvi!
The hotel and the overall ice sculptures are quite amazing including the location and silence around the area.
Not very impressed with customer service at reception upon arrival after being told by staff that they had to check in a group that was just walking through the door without at least being directed to another staff member.
I had also given preference for 3 Art Suites 2 months in advance and this was not attended either.
Dinner was very nice at the restaurant and the hot lyggon berry juice available at reception a plus.
Shame the Ice Church was closed the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonçalo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    275
    78
    36
    9
See reviews for
181
644
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Even if you are not a fan of ice and snow, you must visit and stay at least one night in the ICEHOTEL. Every year it is created in a different form, unique in each room, sculpture and building. It is considered a living museum, so during the day visitors from surrounding areas can visit until 6pm when it closes and the guests move in! The ICEHOTEL is surrounded by permanent buildings such as a shop, reception, restaurant chalets and cafe, but it is also situated next to a dry room which houses changing rooms, lockers and showers and toilet facilities. You can borrow all the winter wear from the hotel while you are there which is great and can book trips such as snow mobile and sledge riding! We renewed our vows in the ice church as a special way to celebrate our 25th anniversary, something very memorable. Would go back again , sleeping in a thermal sleeping bag inside the hotel has to be on everyone's bucket list!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and book a design room, if your going to do this once then do it in style! Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Visiting in December, just before Christmas was great as festive plus snow on the pine trees.

Stayed in both the ice room as well as warm cabin - both decent.

Great gear to borrow there including boots, one piece snowsuit, gloves and face burkha.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We travelled as a family of four in August and stayed in a cabin for 4 people. the cabins themselves are adequate but nothing special.

The twin beds are v comfortable - the bunk beds good for kids but less comfy for adults. There is a total lack of storage space in the cabins - no shelves or cupboards to put things and limited hanging space with v few hangers. There is a kettle, microwave and fridge but these are not really self- catering places (don't think they aspire to be). There is no hob and very limited crockery,cutlery etc.

Two things set this place apart in summer. firstly the location is wonderful, right on the lake in the heart of the forest. It's only 15km from Kiruna but a world away in terms of beauty. Secondly, the staff we met were all without fail friendly and flexible, including email contact with them ahead of our stay. There seems to be a real "can do" approach often lacking in these kind of places. The guys at the activity centre were just great and we had a really wonderful day out rafting and fishing. Completely magical and the kids really loved it. All the activity leaders were friendly and took great care of us to make sure we had a good time. We particularly appreciated how flexible they were- they have a schedule of activities but were really helpful sorting us out with something tailored to us and our kids' ages which wasn't restricted to the advertised combinations.

Food was good - all served at the Homestead restaurant 900m up the road which is the only place they open during the summer. the menu is rather limited and I think we would had struggled a bit with the kids for more than a few days since they had both decided there was NO way they were eating reindeer.

In the winter, this place must be amazing, but we enjoyed the rather "out of season" feel.

This being Sweden, activities, food & drink are expensive although the room rate was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: Some cabins have a lake view - might be worth asking for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Level Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I only did the guided tour in summer, to the facilities and it was interesting to see how they make it, how they store the ice to build it, a nice guided tour, a bit expensive maybe, but interesting, maybe once I will experience how it will be to sleep there also

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Wallyontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From a sunny warm South African climate point of view, It is cold, it is expensive but it is BEAUTIFUL and worthwhile. My review will be based purely on the Ice Hotel and it's facilities. Not taking into consideration the lovely and nice warm rooms. Also keep in mind this was in winter with not much to do. Your cold room is only that. A room. No door just a curtain but who wants privacy in that cold any case. You are dressed in layers girl!!!Their are beds, bed lights but nothing else. Some grander rooms have seating "furniture" from ice, Depending on the type of accommodation you book you may either share ablution facilities or have private facilities. We shared. You get a locker to put your bags in and lock everything away. Then you walk in your pajamas to the room. Nothing strange as most others are as well. Make sure you go to the toilet before you go to bed as the ablution facilities are in another before the time as it will get cold! Somewhere through the night I took one of the reindeer skins and put that on top of me as well. But this will be like my firewalk - no grand affair, but something to remember!! Especially the art rooms. Lovely little lounge area for warm drinks or just drinks and something light to eat. The Ice Bar was of course very interesting, All glasses are made from ice. Do not put ice in your drink, put drink in your ice!! 2 Restaurants in Jukkasjarvi, the one a little bit cheaper that the other one but more cosy and less grand. Try both. Both serve good food. You can walk to both restaurants in town. Take the bus to Kiruna for a day there. Go see for yourself and come back smiling. Do not expect too much to do, especially in winter, but for the excursions the hotel offers. Which is interesting. Summer is surely a very different story. One day I will come back for a second visit in the summer.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms in the Ice Hotel sleeps the same, they just look different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ZeldaMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent christmas ar the Icehotel, a very nice and strange experience. The place is absolutely beautiful, the palace/hotel made of snow and ice is a marvel and the bar and church are works of art! There is a warm area where you keep your things in lockers and where you can also take a warm shower in the morning etc. Keep in mind that some of the hype comes from people not used to cold or even snow - the introduction starts with "have you ever slept in a sleeping bag?" and naturally if below -10 degrees and sleeping outdoors/in cold environments are very exotic to you this will add to the experience! We had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent and borrowed snow kick-bikes to visit Jukkasjärvi church and the little souvenir shop next to it, which was nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing