We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !”
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Spent one night in a snow room at the Ice Hotel. The hotel is spectacular with each room having a different theme. Sleeping on a block of ice was fun due in part to an excellent sleeping bag.

We ate at the Homestead bar which is a 15 minute walk down the main road. We were informed it was full but turned up anyway and it was almost empty. Half way through the meal the waiter excitedly ushered us outside to see the northern lights. A real treat.

We took the ice sculpting session and would highly recommend it. The teacher was excellent and had herself carved the spectacular unicorn within the hotel. We were very happy with our sculptures but were in awe of an Australian lady next to us who produced a fantastic Picasso !

Would highly recommend a visit

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mike826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
There are newer reviews for Icehotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Most of the reviews for this hotel tell it like it is - brilliant. An experience you will never ever forget. My husband and I loved our two and a half days at ice hotel but felt somewhat under informed in general. The website was not as informative as it could be, so I will write this review with that in mind - to try help prepare others.

The staff at the reception were really friendly - particularly Heiko but in general they did not provide enough information on arrival or during the stay and we felt they should be doing some of the excursions themselves so they can help with more information on how to prepare and what to expect. Plus the hotel should put more staff on at the desk - as waits at the desk could last fifteen minutes. For a hotel at this price I would expect a higher level of service at the front desk, as everyone really has a lot of questions.

If you are in a cold room:
- book activities to fill the entire day if you are in the cold rooms. The price will make your eyes water (although they are truely incredible). You only gain access to your ice room at 6 pm and it's not as if you could sit there for any amount of time anyway until you go to bed. So you spend a bit of a time at a loose end if you don't have activities planned. There is really nothing to do other than activities and the lounge / reception areas are soulless
- for the same reason book dinner at the ice restaurant or homestead the minute you arrive or you will not get seating at a normal hour - if you get the six pm dinner, you will be done by 730. From there your options are pretty limited between then and going to bed in your ice room. The ice bar is fabulous but incredibly incredibly expensive. Drinking large amounts will also cause you to need the bathroom in the night which will mean trekking down long freezing corridors and going outside to access the loo at 2am.
- you can choose between a couples sleeping bag and a single. You sleep in a linen bag in the sleeping bag which then pulls up to tighten around your face. Wear thermal underwear, socks and a beanie and you will be perfectly warm. We had a double and the linen ended up twisted around us which in turn lead to claustrophobia. The door of your ice room is a half a curtain but you really won't be worrying about privacy as you just run down to bed and are so focused on getting the sleeping bag set up, the curtain is the least of your worries.
So I recommend the 8pm dinner, short drinks at the bar, and single sleeping bags

The excursions are out of this world. The hotel doesn't tell you but they are actually really flexible and can organise private tours if you want. We got lucky and booked the overnighter in a cabin, and it turned out we were alone on the tour. Would have been a totally awful experience if the other 10 strangers were there on the tour (as its bunk beds in a VERY small cabin together). There was no electricity, only a long drop in a small cabin and no running water - but a place as wild and romantic as you will ever see in your life. we got there on snowmobiles (so take a small backpack for overnight) which are really easy to drive, and were cooked a lovely meal by candlelight with our guide. Back the next day to the communal showers in the ice hotel, which are really like high quality gym / spa showers with all the amenities you would want.

We hired snowmobiles and Terese took us out on incredible trips into the wilderness - carving across snowy lakes past the reindeers. Truly an experience I will never forget.

We didn't see the northern lights - which was why we went, but in the end we didn't even care. Overall I guess the experience of sharing bathrooms, and leaving your luggage in lockers, and shuffling down long dark ice corridors to go to the loo in the night might feel like it would put you off (I would usually NEVER get involved in something like that. BUT it was COMPLETELY worth it.

ON seeing the lights: If I did it again, I would fly to Kiruna, spend a night at the Abisko sky station (where you have more chance of seeing the lights) and then two nights at the ice hotel, one of them on an excursion. Do huskys and snowmobiling activities.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the art rooms - just go look at them - they are extraordinary. no point given...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrienneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed one night in a warm room and one night in the ice hotel.The IceHotel is on the outskirts of a small village by a lake with a Sami visitors centre. We enjoyed walking in the environs and across the frozen lake and an enchanting husky dog slide. The hotel supplies cosy exposure suits, boots and balaclava etc.

The warm rooms are very comfortable and the warm dressing room you use before you stay in the ice hotel is undersold. It is a 24 hour warm life support with seating, drinks, lockers, changing, bathrooms and a sauna. Of course The IceHotel is stunning, although unseasonably warm weather meant parts of the bar were slowly melting as we enjoyed our cocktails. We were lucky enough to see the Aurora on our last night before the ice room. We had a deep and restful sleep in our ice room, in the supplied arctic sleeping bag and our thermals.

We included breakfast buffet was good. We bought some food from the Coop supermarket in town. And we ate at the HomeStead restaurant nearby and The IceHotel restaurant. Both served very yummy food. The latter is twice as expensive but you do get food served on ice plates!

The place works like clockwork (in a nice way) with people ready to help get you and your luggage get where you need to be for your experiences. We travelled with Discover the World.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the IceHotel after travelling from Abisko National Park on a package trip with Discover The World. Our first night here was in cold Ice room (standard) you do have the option to stay in a more luxurious more expensive room but in our opinion you're better off in the cheaper rooms as you get to explore the whole IceHotel and all the rooms anyway and once you are in the room all you can really do is sleep (you cannot take luggage or anything into the ice rooms, only yourselves - all personal belongings go into large locker of which you have a key).
In fact the only issue we had was living out of a locker for the time you are booked into the ice room it's a bit annoying.
The second day night we had a warm room and it was amazing! Made better from sleeping the night before in the cold room - and the fact that we had all our belongings in the room!

We were there for two days and had a few activities booked (including the night snowmobiling - awesome), Personally we think two days was enough. The Ice Hotel is an amazing place and we fully recommend you experience it at least once!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just come back from a fantastic stay at this Ice Hotel. We went for our son's wedding and they could not have picked a more beautiful & romantic place in which to get to get married. The ceremony was performed in the Ice Chapel by a priest who was delightful. Eva the wedding co-ordinator was so helpful with all the arrangements.
We all dressed in our wedding outfits, some wearing snow boots including the bride! We were able to warm up in the dressing room with hot lingonberry juice whilst the photographer took their photos. Then we had the most amazing meal in the restaurant, some of the first courses were served on ice blocks .Rheindeer steaks were so tasty complimented by an excellent selection of wines. After the meal we went across to the Ice Bar to celebrate some more with cocktails named after the ice sculptures. Drinking colourful liquids from ice shot "glasses" is a novel experience! We also managed to fit in husky sledging & snow mobiling whilst we were there. The Ice Hotel can lend you snowsuits, boots, gloves, balaclavas & hats for your stay which kept us nice & cosy, so don't go and buy stuff if you don't think you will use it again. The staff are all very helpful, and our cabin accommodation was excellent.
I would say that this is an expensive holiday but as it was such a special occasion, it was well worth the cost.
Would we go back there? Probably not! As we are of the older generation we prefer holidays in warmer climes!

Room Tip: We had cabin number 8 which had a double bedroom & a single. Also a small kitchenette area with...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreaanddavid74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We slept one night in the ICEHOTEL in one of the standard ice rooms. They prepared us quite well by giving a lecture on what to do, how to dress, how to sleep and to stay warm.
There is a sauna, hot to warm up and an ice sauna to cool off.
The restaurant across the street served a great lunch and breakfast which was included in the price.
We took amazing photographs of all the ice scupltures and artist rooms in the hotel.
Amazing experience.
The guides were fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steyl-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This 4 or 5 day experience is fantastic. We went for our wedding anniversary and tried not to think about the costs of the add-ons because they have to be done. The snowmobile in absolute darkness with the headlamps bringing to life the snow laden trees, the dog sledging in -30 degrees, the ice sculptures in all the different rooms and the ice bar make this an experience not to forget. Just think of it as a 2 week holiday and it is not expensive!! You will have as much fun as you would have had in 2 weeks on the beach!
We slept with nothing but a beanie hat to prevent heat from escaping from our head and were more than warm enough. Remember to keep your clothes inside your bag between the layers and your shoes between your bag and reindeer skin as you may have to make a trip to the loo in the night. Remember the rooms are not en-suite!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
409 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
460 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#10 of 15 in Kiruna
20 reviews
16.6 mi away
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
#6 of 15 in Kiruna
17 reviews
9.4 mi away
Malmfaltens Logi & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range: $177 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icehotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing