We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What an experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We started a Northern Lights tour with a 3 night stay at the IceHotel, one night in the 'cold' room and two nights in the warm rooms. The IceHotel is absolutely superb, a true feat of engineering and anyone who likes travelling and new experiences should visit here at least once! The artist designed suites are breathtaking and we loved running from room to room to see what fantastic creation we would see next. The IceBar was also lovely, as was the atrium, decorated in ice chandeliers and furniture. The talk on surviving the night at -5oC was really helpful and the lovely staff provide you with all the necessary sleeping gear. Definately listen to the advice just to wear one thermal layer in the sleeping bag, although it feels like you should wear 100! The night, as expected, was phenominally uncomfortable (it is a bed of ice with only a reindeer skin) and neither of us could seem to zip our bags up enough to stop the freezing air getting in. However, it's about the experience and the next morning we were woken to some hot lingonberry juice. The next two nights in the warm rooms were fantastic, the rooms are very stylish, minilamist, and extremely comfortable and warm. the bar/cafe on the hotel site is a lovely place for a hot chocolate and the breakfasts in a building over the road were very good. A definate must for the experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GoldenFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    299
    81
    36
    11
See reviews for
202
677
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had two nights at the ice hotel, one night in a chalet,and one night in an arts suite.

We were lucky enough to get the largest arts suite,which was great fun and worth getting as the changing room facilities are much better with an arts suite. For the basic ice rooms you do not get your own cubicles for luggage storage and changing, they are communal lockers instead.

Food was ok, buffet at lunchtime was far better than evening meal.

Managed to secure a private spa cabin with sauna and jacuzzi at an extra cost per day,but worth it to have your own spa facility in the ice hotel.

Worth a visit, even if you don't get much sleep in your ice room!!!

Fantastic skidoo trip and meal in the forest.

Stunning if you are lucky enough to get a sight of the northern lights.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an arts suite and spa cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tilllytravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed over New Year 2012 and it was a fantastic experience. You're given all the kit to keep you warm for the duration of your stay...thermal suits, boots, gloves, hat, balaclava etc which makes a real difference. Slept one night on ice and with the thermal sleeping bags provided had a relatively good night's sleep - in a room that's -5 degrees! You can't choose which room you sleep in but whether you're in an artist's suite or standard room, the experience is the same...great fun. The Icehotel is open to the general public during the day and they are free to wander all the rooms but in the evening it's only open to residents. For those sleeping on ice there is an adjacent "warm" building where there are lockers (and small cubicles for those staying in Artist's Suites) where you can leave all your luggage overnight, and where showers, sauna etc are located. It's also a good meeting place with hot chocolate and hot lingonberry juice on tap. The rest of the resort is made up of "warm" accommodation which is very comfortable. Food's excellent and you can keep yourself occupied during the day snowmobiling, dog sledding, ice carving, snowshoeing etc, to work up an appetite! It's difficult to believe that the Icehotel is built from scratch every winter and is different every year...a good excuse to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I didn't sleep in the hotel! But it is an amazing attraction! You can visit all bedrooms and go to the Ice Bar to grab a drink!
Everything is beautiful over there. The rooms are made and decorated by true artists. Each one is a beautiful and especific attraction!
There is a place where you can see a guy doing some ice sculptures.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PauloQ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012, and was an amazing experience, and the best holiday ever!

We stayed one night in the ice hotel, with a couple of days in stockholm and a night in the wilderness camp.

The icebar is fantastic, the design was amazing, hard to believe it was made from ice. The drinks are quite strong so you wont need many of them. They only sell vodka and I noticed a few people asking for other types of drinks. Its probably a good idea to take some thin gloves for the icebar as the ones the icehotel give you are too big to hold the ice glass.

Staying in the room at night is an experience, when you need to loo, go, don't wait around as you wont be able to sleep. Whilst its cold if you just have a thin layer on and use the sleeping bag correctly you will sleep fine. Tip for the toilet is get into your boots and out of your sleeping bag as quick as you can and you will be fine.

The loganberry juice is a nice touch in the morning and well recommended, as is having the certificate to say you stayed in the ice hotel and the temp was -20, remember inside its -5 and it does feel warm compared to outside. Dont forget to collect this!

Breakfast was fantastic. They had everything you could wish for and is a buffet service. hot and cold food and really good coffee!

They have mobile phone lockers so you can charge your phone overnight or whilst you wait in the lobby which is a good touch, as you find that your battery dies given the cold outside. There is also a computer with internet access in case you need to check weather etc. Unless you have a prebooked activity then you may find yourself waiting around, wifi exists in the lobby and many people either read or used their ipads etc. There is loganberry juice on tap in the lobby, which I took advantage of :)

Well recommended and the best holiday I have been on!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LittleGreenLantern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyden, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

so awesome! loved it.beds and bathroom just omg defintley staying again.the resturaunt serves cold starters in ice dishes.there is no other hotel like this one!its a good cool place to stay.the one in sweeden is amazing!but if it wasn't for my childs social studie teacher I would of never of knew it even existed. so hope you enjoy your stay

Room Tip: make sure you get your coats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brianna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Utterly extraordinary. There is nothing like this on the planet; it's a once-in-a-lifetime thing to do.

I love that you get a certificate in the morning congratulating you on surviving the night!!

The restaurant serves cold starters in ice dishes to keep the feeling of the place.

The IceBar is very expensive, with a shot of Vodka over £10 each. You don't want to offer to get a round in!

The Northern Lights viewed over the hotel is a natural wonder.

Just wonderful.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - it's worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
7.8 mi away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#9 of 15 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing