We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I believe most people come here for the experience instead of seeking a comfortable stay. To be honest, it's not hard to figure out that the stay is not all that comfortable. People might think it is over priced, maybe.. but I still think it is a experience worth paying for.

The hotel is opened for public during the day, so our room is not exactly ours until the visiting hour is closed. But the guest are given a small "changing room" to store our belongings and to change to "proper attires" for the night. The changing room is enough for a few luggages and have a bench to seat maybe 2 people. Other than that you can rest at the hotel lobby or bar. There are a few tours that the hotel operates to bring the guest around the hotel, check the timing with the front desk. The lobby for the "warm hotel" and the ice hotel is separate.

There is no difference to the snow rooms, but the design of each art suite is different and they are different each year. If you booked an art suite, the design is randomly assigned (I assume). I am a bit disappointed that we were not given a more interesting suite, well.. but we still can go in to have a look at all the other suites.

The dinner at the ice hotel is lovely. Dishes are served on ice plates and are delicious. The diamond cocktail is nice and interesting too and I am lucky enough to find a bottle of DRC Echezeaux at a bargain price which totally made my night. If you want to drink more, you can proceed to the ice bar, just don't try to stick your lips too long on the ice cups.

The bathroom is shared, like those in the gym. When it comes to bed time, each guest will be given 2 sleeping bags. A thin layer one, probably those thermal kind, and a thick, down-filled one. Wrap those sleeping bags around you in your changing room and get ready to run to your room. There is no lock for the rooms, as the hotel staff will walk in to wake you up the next morning with a hot lingo berry juice. The body will not really feel cold given the sleeping bags, the face is the part that will be suffered. Don't put any moisturizer as your face might just get frozen. Keep it dry, you should be fine. You will be given a certificate for sleeping overnight in a ice room and the room temperature and outdoor temperature will be stated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    275
    78
    36
    9
See reviews for
181
644
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ice Hotel in March and it was an amazing experience . We had an Art Suite the first night , great fun.You wear as little as possible so make sure your ready to run to your room and get straight in your sleeping bag. . . .the giggling will keep you warm ! I even enjoyed getting up in the middle of the night to go to the loo, the hotel has an eerie mist inside it and as I crossed the yard to the warm side I caught an unexpected glimpse of the Northern lights !
The next day we went dog sledding ( my favourite bit ) the dogs are all happy and healthy and the mushers are extremely kind to the dogs and all commands are almost whispered . Just be aware the dogs love to run and don't stop to relieve themselves if you get my drift !
We upgraded our warm accommodation to an Arctic lodge well worth it and very easy access to everything you need to get to.
We went snowmobiling the next day and saw crystal clear skies and a magnificent display of the Northern Lights including a fabulous home cooked meal before the return journey back.
The Ice Bar is a must . Drinking cocktails out of an ice glass is delicious and its warmer in Ice hotel than you think as it's a constant -5C . . . .Toasty ! especially when it's -15C outside !!!
There's lots more to do so I'm sure we'll go back so if you're thinking about going . Get It Booked !!! And don't worry about what to wear they loan you an all in one suit for the duration of your stay along with boots,mittens and a hat if you want them .

Room Tip: Choose an Art Suite if you can afford it. You have a walk in locker room which is very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanThomas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What to say about this hotel...? You just GOT TO DO IT!!!
Completely made from ice, each winter they rebuilt it.
The rooms are amazing and divided in different categories: From a "basic" snow room till the magnificent ART rooms, filled with ice sculptures.
Definitely a must if you've never slept in an ice hotel before.
And definitaly a must if you've already slept in an ice hotel before.
Don't forget to take a drink in the ice bar.

Don't expect a lot of comfort in the ice part of the hotel. But they have a warm section as well, equiped with toilets, showers and, of course, a sauna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeekakaloekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A visit to the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjärvi is extraordinary, exiting and fun!

Having a drink in an ice glass in the ice bar looking through an ice sculpture as window is remarkable is to say the least. Or get married in the ice church. Then going to bed in your underwear only, curl up in a raindeer skin and sleep like a baby i plus 4 degrees Celcius only...

Then next day take a trip on the river in a dogsled, or watching the northern lights during night. This is truly once in a lifetime experience!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sture N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A visit to the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjärvi is extraordinary, exiting and fun.
Having a drink in an ice glass in the ice bar looking through an ice sculpture as window is remarkable is to say the least. Or get married in the ice church.
Then going to bed in your underwear only, curl up in a raindeer skin and sleep like a baby i plus 4 degrees Celcius only...
Then next day take a trip on the river in a dogsled, or watching the northern lights during night.
This is truly once in a lifetime experience!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ssscc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited this place in Summer though people usually go there in Winters. Luckily for us they still had a smaller version of the hotel, with two cold rooms and since we were the only ones booked in the cold accommodation, we had the hotel to ourselves. The ice bar is cool and the staff very helpful. The night in the cold room is very comfortable with the sleeping bags. The location is just next to the river and is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A wonderous environment and well executed. The warm rooms are great, the Ice rooms itself was "survivable" and the activities were all first rate and hosted by interesting and caring people. We did snowmobiling, dog sled, ice driving, northern lights and of course enjoyed the Ice Bar each evening. Breakfast was amazing each day and the restaurants though limited to 2 were great dining experiences

Room Tip: we stayed in the "northern lights" ice suite... very nicely done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozoceanview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing