We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Special Birthday"”
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Special Birthday"”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I wanted to do something different for my girlfriends "Special Birthday" and chose The Ice Hotel with a stop over in Stockholm on the way home. To make it extra special we stayed the first night (her birthday) in the Private Luxury Suite "Absinthmind" followed by 2 further nights in the warm Log cabins.

Granted the Private Luxury Suite was not cheap but the whole experience was beyond both our expectations. The room itself which had a security door on it was out of this world. The large ice sculptures inside the room which included a Bar with a complementary bottle of Champagne and Ice Champagne Glasses were incredible. Little did we know that just outside the rear door we had our own private toilet and a Sauna and shower room.

Unless you stay in this room you can't get to see it during the day when the hotel is open to the public which is a shame as it is the best room at the Ice Hotel. We did however show the room to a couple we met and they too were amazed.

We also did the sled trip with the Huskies during the day which was brilliant as it was only ourselves that were on our sled and our "Guide" was excellent. For my birthday we did the snowmobile excursion which we both had a go on and really enjoyed. The weather was very kind to us during our stay so much so it was acutally warmer outside the Ice Hotel than inside, not usually the case.

The food was without fault for this part of the world, from the breakfast to both restaurants. Again not cheap but not the standard you would expect either for the location.

All in all a fantastic holiday and would recommend the Private Luxury Suite as a special extra to an extra special experience, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose a Luxury suite if you can afford it as it completes the overall expierence of The Ice Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GTIRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    341
    98
    38
    12
See reviews for
231
762
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

this is the place to go for something completely different, and thrill and excitement whether, looking round all the ice scupltures, watching the amazing Northern lights from the hotel, or getting involved with huskey sledding or the other activities that are on offer..
sleeping in the ice rooms was the most amazing expereince, would highly recommend for 1 night, is a must really..then gettting to look round all the amazing ice sculpture rooms, are truly amazing, and to think they will all just melt away in May time, to be rebuilt to something totally new.. we where so lucky to have the northern lights out on our first night there, dancing over the frozen river and over the forrest..was just breath taking, tho was -30 that night so get the snow suits they offer as keeps you warm over your own snow jacket/pants..
we did 2 trips with huskies and horse riding at night, i didnt enjoy the horse riding at night as you couldnt see the sky much thru the forrest, and of course it was impossible to see wildlife ie Moose in the dark, day time riding only thinks much better. Huskies where good tho the sleds very uncomfortable, on hard wooden four seaters that you share, but the actual trip over the frozen river and into the forrest with the dogs was amazing..their where better deals for huskie sledding outside the hotel/discover the world, which seemed better priced and much longer time with the huskies..
the whole weekend was amazing, and it certainly is a bucket list trip to do, it is such an amazing place and speaking to the local Saami the true laplanders and visiting them was brilliant, in their traditional huts fed locla reindeer, which are all free range and live a good life..highly recommend, and cant wait to go back to Sweden again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brighton5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Travelled by overnight train from Stockholm.3 berth cabin. Pretty basic but inexpensive. Food not great on the train. Good fun though.

Stayed at Ice hotel with my wife and 12 year old daughter - first night in a wooden chalet , second night in the ice hotel. One night in the Ice room was plenty. Ate in the nearby village and in the hotel restaurant. Great food but expensive. Warm lounge for the ice hotel is a little boring - bring books and games for kids.

We did a dog sled trip with a local company - kiruna Guidetours - highlight of the trip - absolutely fantastic. Easily arranged by internet - pickup and drop off from hotel.

Saw some low level Aurora activity.

The area is stunningly beautiful - crisp dry deep snow and silence. Hotel provide cold weather gear. Don't go there expecting luxury and you won't be disappointed. Be careful if walking on the Ice on the river - obey the roped off areas !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
189 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are made a lot of good reviews of this place. You should read the ones, that are positive, because that is how you experience will be!

We were here for about two days (three nights). We stayed one night in the cold room and bookedan Art suite. If you want to stay in the cold rooms, you HAVE to take an art suite. The other rooms are not that great and I would clearly avoid the cheapest catagory. The warm hotel is not luxury but anyway pretty good.

I will add some comments to the other reviews instead of making a long one myself.

The food is great. It's Nordic style kitchen and the prices are fair. Compared to Copenhagen the prices are very fair.

The staff in restaurants and the hotel are not that well trained, but they do a good job with a big smile.

We took a lot of tours. Please note that there are cheaper alternatives than the IceHotel, so look around on www and book from home. A comment on dog sledge tour. We took a tour for four persons, I would recommend to take a tour for two persons and then ride the sledge by your selves. The Mini On Ice was fantastic.

Besides the activites listed on the IceHotel www page there is not much to do.

There is a small supermarket nearby.

We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It seems to be this place is on people's bucket list and it was on ours!

We used the Ice Hotel airport bus pick up service – which once you’ve priced a taxi fare for 2 people is still cheaper and the staff that meet you are very warm and excited to welcome you – which really did make for a great start to the trip! Once you arrive at the Ice Hotel you are shown down to the area you will be staying in and given a locker to keep all your gear (one each).

Having agonised over which class of room to stay in we stayed for 1 night in an Ice Room. As other reviewers have mentioned, the difference between the rooms is negligible once you're going to sleep but if you can afford to stay in the Ice Room you are treated to a table & chairs or a sculpture as opposed to the very basic Snow Room, which are also the furthest away from the main reception where the bathrooms are. The Art Rooms are gorgeous but as you can look at these before closing time and as we weren’t sure which room we would be given we opted to save the money. The Northern Lights rooms were a new feature this year and for the extra price you’re paying for an Ice Room with some lights that move across the ceiling, which having spoken to one other traveller didn’t seem worth the extra money.

We slept very well – something about being all warm and cosy in a sleeping bag that can cope with -40c temperatures and the small gap of fresh cold air between where you do your sleeping bag up to around your face does seem to work!

Getting ready at night does have a rather school camp feel as you are getting ready in a common area but there are 3 changing rooms off that main area to get ready in or the segregated changing rooms where the showers are.

The clothes and boots (also gloves, hats and balaclavas if you want!) that are provided are of great quality and once you have the boots on it feels like you have a small heater on your feet!

The bathrooms are very clean. The shower rooms are segregated changing rooms. Do remember to take everything you’ll need to get ready for bed or for the day so you don’t have to head back out to the locker area.

There is a water fountain in the reception area with the freshest water you’ll ever drink plus hot ligonberry drink. The Wi-Fi worked well and there are also 2 computers to use if you haven’t bought your own electronics with you.

We had dinner at the Homestead Restaurant which is a lovely walk. The restaurant is candlelit and the food was top notch, and yes – it is pricey but you’re in a remote-ish part of the world so what do you expect! Breakfast is provided buffet style at the Ice Hotel’s restaurant which is a short walk across the road. There is a wonderful range to choose from but if you’re hungry make sure you go a wee while before closing as they do start packing up dead on closing time.

Would we stay here again? Probably not as it is an expensive night’s stay and once you’ve slept on a bed of ice once I think it’s enough however if we were back in that part of the world would definitely come and check out the Art Rooms as they are something special.

Tip: If you are wanting to buy a reindeer skin they are cheaper to buy from the Stockholm airport or from shops in Kiruna town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for 1 night which I feel is enough to fulfill the 'Ice Hotel' experience, provided you arrive early enough to have a look around of course. If you want to sample the 'Lapland/Arctic' experience in more depth then you can stay for longer which would be very lovely, but I would recommend staying in the nearby town of Kiruna for 25% of the price.

The Ice Hotel itself is a fantastic place that I would recommend to anyone. The room rates are very expensive, but worth every penny. That said, we stayed in an Ice room (inbetween the cheaper snow room and expensive designer rooms). I would definitely recommend upgrading from snow to ice as the rooms are larger, but I would find it difficult to stump up the extra cash for a designer room when you can spend as much time as you like in all rooms during the day (when the hotel is classed as a museum with guests gaining 'free' entry).

As other reviews have suggested, the two restaurants are very expensive as your only alternative is a sandwich from the mini-supermarket 1 mile down the road. We dined in the main restaurant. I think it was roughly £30/main and £10-£15 for starters/desserts. It was painful handing over my credit card but ultimately the meal was one of the best I've ever had. It's not your classic 'rip-off because we've got you over a barrel' - the food/service is genuinely top notch. We followed-up with a couple of 'cockails' - 90 SEK (or £8) each - in the Ice Bar. Also expensive but if it helps you're paying for the fact you have a roof-top Aurora view point and are sitting in a bar made of Ice!

A quick go in the sauna and a change in to the thermals meant it was bed-time and a quick dash to your room with sleeping bag in hand is probably the only disappointment of the stay. Being woken with a warm glass of Loganberry juice the following morning is strangely pleasant.

Many people use the Ice Hotel to arrange sled trips etc. We used a local firm 'KirunaGuidetor' based in Kiruna but pick-up from Ice Hotel, who were alot cheaper with much smaller tour groups (just 4 people + guide on our half day snowmobile tour compared to 16+ on some Ice Hotel trips). It was excellent and a must if you've never been on a skidoo and want to see more of the area.

All in all a superb stay and one I would love to do again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBeards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Art and adventure and loads of fun. We did it all. The bar; the ice room; the dog sledding; the snow shoeing the whole thing. Everything was a blast. We also did the northern lights overnight camp which was fabulous and we did see the lights (so amazing). And though I had low expectations for the food (you are stuck when there as they are it ) it was wonderful. My only critical remark is the staff of mostly young people working for a season or two, lack polish and customer service skills. In an establishment of this price range they should be better trained. The beds in the chalet could be better as well. Kind of lumpy with scratchy sheets. Again, at this price point quality down and higher thread counts are expected.

Room Tip: Spring for an art room. If you going to do it, do it! You only stay in a cold room one night. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 57783Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
387 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
408 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
129 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
7.8 mi away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#8 of 15 in Kiruna
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icehotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing