We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Icehotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotell E-10(Kiruna)
$112
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Ripan(Kiruna)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kebne(Kiruna)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samegarden(Kiruna)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lannavaara Lodge(Lannavaara)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Gallivare(Gallivare)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$214
Quality Resort
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
1,101
400
114
41
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,101
400
114
41
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomcold roomsleeping bagart suitesonce in a lifetimeice hotelhomestead restaurantwarm accommodationone nightice sculpturesdiscover the worlddog sleddingnorthern lightsbucket listhot lingonberry juiceyour luggageunique experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend and I were very excited about going to the Ice Hotel, and, in fact, we both enjoyed the actual night we stayed in their "cold accommodations", as they call the ice rooms.

However, the place has grown too large to accommodate their guests properly. We were given a tiny little box to store our suitcases, and had to dodge and bustle through all the other guests who also had tiny little boxes, above, below and to the left and right of our boxes. It was frustrating and unpleasant.

Also, because we took their dosgled overnight excursion on our second night, we had to live out of their luggage room for another 24 hours! It colored our experience of the hotel.

The other MAJOR complaint I have is their attitude towards the Northern Lights, which was the REAL reason we went to the Ice Hotel. Despite the description on their website that says they will go looking for clear skies, and despite clear skies in Abisko (one of the places they SAY they will drive to), the two Northern Lights expeditions were canceled. On the second night, we were so frustrated that we rented a car, drove to Abisko ourselves, and saw the Northern Lights!

I also asked at the reception desk one evening if they would kindly wake us if the skies cleared, and I was told that they had other, better things to do with their time. I was stunned. When I mentioned this to one of the managers, they expressed concern, but the young people who man the reception don't seem to understand why people come to the Arctic North in the winter. Most of them are 20-somethings, and they have no appreciation of costumer service.

So...don't go to the Ice Hotel to see the Northern Lights. Go to Tromsö instead. (A week later, I went to Tromsö with a different set of friends, and we had a great time with Arctic Explorers, where we saw the lights every night, despite the fact that Tromsö itself had heavy cloud cover.)

If you just want to experience sleeping in an igloo, go ahead and do it, but don't stay more than one night. Go to Kiruna and arrange outings through other organizations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mountainbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am sure everything has been said, but I believe it is one of the things one has to try at least once. The "warm" rooms (normal hotel rooms) are comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurant excellent, albeit you will get fed up with the lunchtime buffet if you are there for a few days, the only thing that changes is the warm dish.

The Icehotel itself is built from scratch every year, so no two years are the same. There isn't much to do once you have looked through the hotel and surrounding buildings so expect to spend quite a bit of money on activities like Ice sculpting, dogsledding, Skidoo trips etc. The rooms have no doors, just a curtain, so your personal belongings are stored in cupboards in the main building. You will get an Arctic sleeping bag and you can hire Skisuits and boots. You will not be cold once inside your sleeping bag.

The Icebar serves Vodkasshots in many colours and tastes, you pay for the glass, which is made of Ice, the first time, and subsequent refills are cheaper. Having said this, it is not a cheap place to drink.

Room Tip: For the full experience splash out on one of the themed rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Ice Hotel was every bit as amazing as I hoped it would be - a truly magical and otherworldly experience. The whole area of Jukkasjarvi and Kiruna offer magnificent winter-time vistas that will take your breath away, with the opportunity to participate in activities that are exhilarating, boundary-pushing, and culturally stimulating. I was hugely impressed with the services and facilities provided, the uniqueness of the experience, and the friendliness and warmth of the staff and tour guide leaders. Thank you so much for a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoughtfox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Icehotel at Jukkasjarvi should be listed under attractions as well as hotels. It is a must visit location for anybody visiting the Kiruna area, whether they are staying at the hotel or not.

Rooms are open for view, along with the bar, church and main hall (in fact everything except the exclusive luxury suite). Seeing the place makes you really enjoy it - but not inclined to spend the night there!

Best were the art suites - for the 2012/3 season the 'Flower' room was voted the best by our group - apparently done by two Japanese students depicting recovery after the tsunami.

The church and bar were nice too.

We arrived at 1045 and had a good look round before joining the English language tour at 1200. I would recommend this.

Room Tip: Visit - Don't stay and arrive between 1030 and 11 go round, and take the 1200 English language tour.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a daytime visit to the Ice Hotel and it was great. We'd seen a BBC show on the making of the hotel so were intrigued to see the finished product. It truly is amazing and we're told it has been getting bigger every year. The ice is gathered from the river behind the hotel every March (that is when it is thick enough) and so we were able to see them cutting the huge blocks and taking them to the freezers ready for next year's hotel.

I didn't realise until we got there that it is only a hotel between the hours of 6pm and 10am, the rest of the day they tell you it is a museum and people, like us, can pay to wander around.

They have 4 types of room which I would describe as
- ice caves with a bed,
- ice caves with a bed and ice table and chairs,
- beautifully ornate ice caves, all different and sculpted by artists
- one deluxe room, the only one with a door, all the others have a curtain, and it was locked so we couldn't go in.

There is an ice bar which opens at 1pm daily for serving drinks, you can look around it earlier than that but it isn't set up as a bar. The drinks all come in either an ice glass or an ice champagne glass.

They have an aurora viewing gallery which, although quite big would not hold all of the guests at the same time.

Alongside the hotel is an ice church where you can get married or hold a baptism - there are no services.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Eaglet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews