We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The most amazing inspiring trip I will ever take in my life. A real holiday of a lifetime - a real must for those who like something a bit "different". Clean, friendly, unbeliveable night in the Ice hotel and a view of the Northern Lights at 2 am and minus 21 degrees and 2 nights in the warm accomadation - Cannot recommend enough !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennynorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    275
    78
    36
    9
See reviews for
181
644
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed just one night in the cheapest cold room. It's expensive and I would suggest you stay somehere else such as the wonderful Lappeasuando Lodge in Gallivare to do an trips like Husky Sledging. ( Icehotel overnight sledging price currently 5950SEK 3pm to 11am , Lappeasuando Lodge price currently 2910SEK for 10am to 4pm!! ( they do transfers to Ice Hotel as well)). We slept well but we had spent a night earlier in the week in the igloo we had built which was about -17! If you worried about being cold go for single sleeping bags rather than doubles as they are easier to keep warm in.
The service was okay and the atmostphere in the ice bar in the evening was a bit dead. It was also a bit crowded in the morning when everyone is trying to get to their locker.
The nearby Homestead restuarant is excelent - the food is of such a high standing you don't mind paying Swedish prices.
In conclusion - this is definately a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this place. Having stayed for three nights, one in an ice room and two in the warm accommodation, I can honestly say that the Ice Hotel is one of the best places I've ever experienced. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the hospitality is second to none. Watching the Northern Lights on the viewing platform on the roof of the Ice Hotel was simply magical.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is one of the things you definitely need to do if you are visiting Kiruna in Sweden, the experience of being in a hotel where everything is made of ice is extraordinary, I didn't spend the night because I was traveling solo and I preferred to spend the night at Reindeer Lodge, you can stay in the cabins outside of the ice hotel if you want more comfort too. Each year the hotel is rebuilt from scratch and new artists participating in the construction of the rooms. The bar it's pretty awesome too, but it only serve vodka

There are three room types inside:
1 - Single: Only one bed in four walls of ice.
2 - Medium: Bed, nightstand, table with two chairs in four ice walls.
3 - Main rooms: These are the rooms that are designed by artists from around the world and are perfect for honeymooners or couples in general. (but are more expensive and you have to book well in advance).

Room Tip: The bathrooms are outside the hotel, so you better go before entering (although you can go out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iksolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter (13) and I visited this hotel in Jan this year.We loved the experience- we did not sleep over in an Ice room because we found it way too expensive for our budget and slept over in a warm room which I am glad we did, as people mentioned it really was cold and they couldnt get much sleep in and the realization of no ablutions(obviously) in the room put me off completely.The warm Kamos rooms were comfortable, and roomy.The Ice rooms with their unique themes were incredible;the ice sculpting was fun - having breakfast across the street was a bit of a bother.Walking into town to a supermarket is a bit too far for small children.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What an experience! My wife and I Came here as part of our honeymoon in January - Wow.

If you want to experience something different, sleep in a art gallery or try out being an Eskimo then this is the place. We stayed in one of the art suites - more expensive than a regular ice room - but an amazing experience. We were woke up with hot lingonberry juice (similar but sweeter to ribena).

The only disappointment was it was fairly quiet - we visited the ice bar and we were the only ones there but this never took away from the experience. Loved it and proudly display our certificates at home!

A must in your lifetime!!!!

Room Tip: pay more for art suite and get your own locker/ changing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sb5edu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went in January, so it had been built not too long ago.

The hotel experience here was wonderful
1. The rooms were beautiful, and guests are free to see all the art rooms before their booked guests settle in
2. The staff are helpful in directing you through the experience and very efficient. For example, they would offer a two person's sleeping bag even though it was not what you booked when they saw that you were a couple
3. Friendly staff
4. The restaurants had good food. It's not cheap. But its what is expected when you're at this part of the world. They have 2 main places to choose from, one is more modern european, the other more old school. I prefer the latter.

The ice rooms initially feel cold as you're walking through. But if its -25C outside, then inside its relatively warm.
The sleeping bags they provide are also SUPER warm. In fact, I woke up sweating the next morning.

So all in all a worthwhile experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowflakesHkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing