We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive”

Sami Siida - Markanbaiki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Easily accessible and reconstructed Sami camp on the old market and assembly place in the village of Jukkasjarvi. Grazing reindeer, outdoor exhibitions about Sami culture and livelihoods. Sapmi slow food lunch and coffee served by the fire in Cafe Sapmi's giant lavvu-tent; sale of genuine Sami handicraft in adjacent handicraft shop. Guided tours. Ideal for day visitors with a limited amount of time, but still an interest to get an introduction to Sami culture, food and reindeer. Summer/autumn open: 5 Jun - 5 Nov Winter open: 6 Nov - 8 April Located next to Jukkasjarvi church and in 900 m walking distance from ICEHOTEL.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I loved this experience I stumbled on it by accident as it wasn't too advertised we went to the church first which is beside apart from learning about the culture the guides certainly knew their stuff and everything was well documented with diagrams and pictures. I bought a few souvenirs in a shop there and also a hot chocolate in the cafe part of the shop, there too and we were able to buy bags of moss and feed the resident reindeer in the the enclosure which we did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celticmystyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    32
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small, quaint, cozy + souvenirs & reindeer!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's easy to walk here from the Ice Hotel and you can also see the church next door at the same time (when they tried to convert the native Sami to Christianity). Interesting to see the Sami structures outdoors in the snow and to feed the reindeer some lichen. Indoors there is a small souvenir shop & cafe. We got the best souvenirs here! Sat and had a muffin and hot chocolate before walking back to the hotel in the snow. Lovely.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmAsiaMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reindeer!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were here in the winter so of course everything was snowed over. There were some artifacts that could not be seen. We bought some lichen and fed the resident reindeer...just watch out, they'll jump on you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shannonr273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a must see place if you come to visit this area of sweden. Really cool to get truly close to the reindeers. We got to race them with sledges which was really amazing. Great guides who can tell you alot of the Sami peoples history in the area and elsewhere in the Nordics.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank draken73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unna
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ráidu - Encounter with reindeer”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Aside from the Open Air Museum the owner Nils Torbjörn Nutti offers a visit of his close-by herd of reindeers ("Raidu - Encounter with reindeer"). You will get warm clothes and will be transported from his office in Marknadsvägen 84 or the Icehotel by snowmobile with sled in about 10 minutes on the frozen river Torne Älv to his herd of reindeer (not the reindeer at the museum). There Nils tells you about reindeer. You are standing in midst of the animals and you can pet them (but they don't like to be petted) and you can feed them with lichen, their normal winter diet. After feeding the animals there will be some reindeer bulls caught and put to sleds. Then everyone is allowed to drive the reindeer sled on a circuit. It's realy fun! Finaly all participants gather in a Sami Tent an Nils sparks a fire an prepares fried reindeer meet and drinks. It tasts excellent!. Now Nils tells about Sami culture and answers to questions.
It was a very nice day out. We learned a lot about reindeer and the life of reindeer herders. Nils open and friendly personality contributes greatly to the success of the event.
Price In 2013: 1.650 SEK. Duration: 3,5 hours. Suitable or children. Very recommendable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartmut_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sami Siida - Markanbaiki also viewed

Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
 
Jukkasjarvi, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Sami Siida - Markanbaiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing