We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A classic!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel has a long history, which makes it special. There are a lot of activities and the view is fantastic. The staff is really helpful.
The promenade is not so great and pretty small, but it's OK. If you go there out of season, it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werzers, Marketing-Management at Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Silvia,
Thanks a lot for your informations - we are happy to hear, that you did like your stay at Werzer's Hotel! For the size of the "Promenade" I would like to say, that this is our garden and hotel- beach. The Promenade of Pörtschach starts outside around the corner and would be much longer, real nice walk along the lake, along bars and restaurant ... It's a pitty, if you didn't see it - we hope next time!
Lot's of greetings from Carinthia,
yours Werzer's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
36
40
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel has really nice facilities for small children, they keep the kids busy all the time while the adults can relax, have dinner etc.
The hotel staff is friendly, rooms are nice, amenities are plenty, the location is great.
The only drawback is that the reconstruction of the beach front drew in people from town making it more crowded in 2013 than it used to be before. We stayed here many times before, it is still very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRozsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Hotel in Pörtschach is an annual Must for a weekend in Summer.this Year we had Dinner in the New Restaurant Directory at the lake is wonderfull and the Dinner there was firstclass ! Obviously the Weekend with the Fete Blanche is the Most büßest Surfing the Year, but the staff Händlers the evening perfectly.the Restaurants here are all orientier to the West,so you have every Day your Dinner in the evening sun.a Real Nice Summer Hotel with a Bar and music.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Had booked this place at a very good rate for 3nights in late October, so out of season really. "Solid" choice describes the place best. Very deserted, and I can see how some people compare the charmes of the place to one of a hospital in the communal areas. Room was super spacious and nice though, with a terrace and direct view&access to the lake.

We used the hotel as a base for driving around in the area - without a car Poertschach would have certainly been incredibly boring.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Werzer's Portschach is a solid choice. Let me tell you why. As previous reviewers stated, there is nothing wrong with the hotel. The rooms are clean, the service I experienced was very friendly and efficient, the food was good although not outstanding, the view from the restaurant is lovely and the access to the lake is great. It is very child friendly; although I don't have children, I remarked on the extensive programme offered to entertain the little ones during the day and into the evening hours (I guess only in peak season). Nice touch was the children’s breakfast buffet and the daily news which announced the day’s children’s programme and activities. The spa area offers a number of choices and is free; you can book treatments as well. The biggest selling point is without a doubt the lake itself. I stayed for 4 nights in peak season and the hotel was fully booked - the lawn area was fairly packed but we could comfortably find room for our sunbeds. Room prices are high but acceptable for the worthersee...I have been coming to the lake for many years, portschach is a nice, albeit small place with a couple of restaurants and shops, a supermarket, bank and a chemists. The main town, Velden, is a 10 minute drive away and offers more extensive facilities; however, I believe the lake is nicer on the portschach side. All in all, I can happily recommend staying here, if you are looking for something quirky or romantic, look elsewhere though.

Room Tip: the lakeview rooms are certainly the best, floors 3-6. they are priced accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank muffel2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

we were on a half board package and didn't get a bad course in the entire week. my wife doesn't eat meat and a special meal prepared for her every evening.

the hotel is new and in a great location beside the lake. However, the rooms are only average, clean well equipped but pretty standard. get one on the west side overlooking the lake. the ones on the other side are not great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I re stayed at werzers resort for a long weekend and still I do like this place, it is situated in a perfect location overlooking the Wörthersee towards Velden, fabulous view if you a lake view room / suite from floors 3 – 6.

The hotel has its own beach front, historical boat house, beauty and wellness and indoor swimming pool. Tried all and all is just simply fabulous.

There is a dogs area by the lake, not very breath taking, in fact I find it very unsafe as it where boats dock and also dogs are not allowed to go into the lake for some strange reason.

Service is friendly, they will try and help you anyway they can, checking in quick and simple and is greeted by a firm hand shake by the receptionist / manager.

However this time around the major downside was the interior design and furnishings of the rooms and especially the suites, I found that everything was just thrown in, miss-matched and just an eye sore. It was like my grandmother decorated it in the 70s look. As I was staying in one of their suites I complained, off course the receptionist did mention that she was helpless and that I could check out the same night I checked in. therefore we arranged to speak to the director manager who came to our room to see what the problem was, she was extremely nice and very attentive and very professional, she saw the obvious and not only did she change me to another suite but she completely rearranged the suite by adding new furniture from the down stairs lobby and adding flat screens instead of the old TVs. Now this was a service and a service I really liked, I guess there isn’t many guests that move to another suite and then have it re arranged.

The ups: fabulous location, it has the best location from any hotel in the area in terms of views plus the beach and lake is on the property unlike many other hotels!
Good service.
Friendly staff

The downs: room are very out dated, I don’t think the hotel keeps on top of things by adding electronics and furnishing for the modern guest.
Breakfast is extremely dull and tasteless.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euroboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portschach am Worther See
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Poertschach
Parkhotel Poertschach
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
#8 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Balance
Hotel Balance
#5 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
108 reviews
5.9 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach

Property: Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Address: Werzer Promenade 8, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach: The ideal 4 star superior hotel for a family get-away If you are looking for an exclusive hotel to unwind and spend an unforgettable holiday, then you have found the right place! The Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach is the perfect hotel for a holiday with a top wellness offer and the whole family. At the Werzer's you can indulge in wellness and relaxation, in sport activities and in an excellent culinary offer. The Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach places great emphasis on making its guests feel welcome and at ease. Your vacation will be turned into an unforgettable experience thanks to: 120 exclusive rooms, 2.000 M² spa with indoorpool and its magnificent traditional bathing house with heated pool at the lake, the Werzer's kids club "Kinderland", the 3.000 M² private beach, the Werzer's "a la Carte" Restaurant, the comfortable bar and lobby with a reading corner and free Wireless LAN, the Werzer's "Badehaus" (an antique, wooden bathing house), the large beach with its flat shore and last but not least the magnificent lake terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing