We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute pleasure”
Review of Pension Ria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Ria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute pleasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What can I say that has not already been said. This Guesthouse in Pörtschach is as good as it gets. 
My wife and I have visited the region many times in the past but had not stayed on the Lake. 
Christine and Stuart made us feel like we were staying with family. 
Breakfast on the sun terrace in the mornings was not only lovely, but fun also. From the 'quirky' little messages on the egg shells to the warming up of the 'would be' tennis star Virginia Wade (aka Stuart) before his 10am game. 
Christine and there son Phil, seem to do a lot of the work along with Christine's mum but I am sure that Stuart helps out after he finishes playing tennis - ha ha ha, only joking. 
Thanks for a wonderful week. We hope to see you again in the future. 

Andy (Leeds England). 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
55
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We are family of 4 (two small kids) and we had a great time in Pension Ria. Its a place to feel at home and welcome. I really appreciate the personal decor instead of the anonymous international style in big hotels. We could sit outside for the nice breakfast with personally signed boiled eggs and excellent cheese and ham. We were able to borrow plates and cutlery and glasses for our dinner, also eaten at the terrace. Helpfulnes and a welcoming attitude all around. We had a nice room with two rooms en suite so there were room for all of us. The kids were welcome too. Its was a only a beautiful walk to the communal swimming facilities by the lake. Entry was free due to the Wörthersee-card, which came complementary. The water in the lake was crystal clear and 25-26 degree Celsius - very pleasant indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week in Sept 2011 and have got nothing but praise for Christine!
She really went out of her way to ensure that we had everything we needed, recommending places to visit, looking up train times, allowing us to borrow her laptop to check bags in for return flight.
The breakfast was great aswell. Boiled eggs with smiley faces on everyday.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We went to stay last year and were made to feel very welcome. Chrissie the lady who runs the guest house is Austrian and has an english partner so she speaks fluent english. They both had a fantastic sense of humour and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated with affordable prices. We always had a very filling breakfast which we had on the terrace every morning. We were only a five minute walk away from the lake which is absolutley amazing. Chrissie made available a couple of bicycles which was a great way to see more of the lake. We are definatley going to return and without a doubt we will be booking with chrissie next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riggend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is our fourth visit to Pension Ria and its keeps getting better.Family run, lovely comfy rooms and very friendly service. Quirky Yorkshire handyman fixes anything from Wi Fi Connections to broken glasses. Stunning scenery, fantastic lakeside bars and restaurants, tennis courts to hand, Located just one hundred metres from the main street on a quiet side road and two hundred metres from the waters edge. Difficult to beat for value. We will be back for a fifth visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robtoon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed with my girlfriend in Pension Ria during the Carintian HalfMarathon, it was a perfect base for us! It is centrally located in Poertschach and it is what we wanted to have: a small guesthouse ran by a lovely family, making you feel at home. The first morning we had to wake up early because of the race and the owners did for us a very early breakfast (6:30 am). Pension Ria is also a Worthersee Card partner, so you can do a lot of excursions saving a lot of money. Next year we will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Had a wonderful holiday at Pension Ria. Hosts were most welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Had a lovely room, very comfortable. Hotel in good location, near Lake where you can participate in water sports, and lovely boat trips. Hired bikes and visited many towns and areas around the lake. Very handy place to stay if you are interested in tennis as its on the door step. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Hope to return with my family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portschach am Worther See
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Poertschach
Parkhotel Poertschach
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
#8 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
#3 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
115 reviews
4.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ria

Property: Pension Ria
Address: Koschatweg 2, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension RIA*** We simply love having guests! RIA is an exceptional, smart and affordable bed and breakfast in the center of Pörtschach, very close to the beautiful Wörthersee, next door to the Congress Center Wörthersee, the Werzer Tennis Arena, shops, bars, restaurants.Service is our credo, individuality first, different, fair deal. You will love it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Ria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing