We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Average - BUT great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Poertschach
Certificate of Excellence
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive Average - BUT great location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Parkhotel for one night only as we could not stay at our preferred choice (Lake's - My Lake hotel and spa) of hotel for the entire trip of our holiday. We had read that it was a rather 60's throw back. The restaurant, bar areas and outside dining areas were fabulous - the service we found very good also. Our room was, we felt very very over priced for what it was. It appeared that we were staying on the side of the hotel that had not been updated and revamped, however the price reflected a luxurious room in our opinion. The bed was very uncomfortable, the bedding was the quality of a motel and the bathroom was clean but very basic. We were very glad to have stayed only for one night and then move to a more modern chic hotel afterwards.
I would stress though that the staff, front desk, restaurant and bar waiters were fantastic and we could not fault them, who really appeared to be happy in their work.

Room Tip: I guess if you want to sleep and feel cool and calm then you have to stay on the refurbished side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
32
63
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
München
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Although some effort has been put into modernizing parts of the hotel, the patina is widely obvious. This is partly charming, partly irritating, as it is a quite costly matter to stay in this hotel. The room was pretty basic for example, and we were surprised to see that nobody seemed to look after the tennis courts as weed was growing in the fields. Moreover some members of the staff seemed to cultivate a bit of a snobby working attitude. On the other hand the food was very nice, and the view of the lake simply gorgeous! Expect to see yourself surrounded by many upperclass senior people and families.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferien_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you read the other reviews here, the story is simple. If you pay for a superior room then you get a modern air-conditioned room with unparalled views over the Worther See from your balcony. If you pay for a standard, then you get an old-fashioned room on the other side of the hotel (with nice but slightly less impressive views) and no air-conditioning. Thankfully, we chose the superior room.

But this division between the refitted and older side - even obvious as you walk along the modern corridors with nice freshly-painted walls on the modern side and brown unimpressive doors on the other - gives the hotel an identity crisis. The main reception, restaurant and bar are badly in need of an update. But the a la carte restaurant at the bottom with a great elevated view onto the lake is great - and the service is super.

This is a 3-star hotel with 5-star pretensions. It is a really odd mix. And there are irritations like wifi only being available in the reception lobby area. BUT,

It has the best private beach area of any at Portschach (all the others are cut by the lakeside public pedestrian route). The superior rooms are, well, superior. The breakfasts are excellent. The service is friendly. AND the views are the best of any hotel in Portschach. I'm not sure how many superior hotel rooms have the great west view of the lake, but it must be at least 60. The other - doubtless fine hotels in the town - only have 6-12 rooms facing the south (narrow) view of the lake. And that is the reason why a superior room at the Park is the best deal.

Room Tip: A superior room on the highest possible floor gives the greatest value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

An excellent location which is difficult to fault. The hotel itself is quite large and impersonal but I found all of the staff attentive and eager to help. My room was very hot, with no air conditioning, I had to leave the balcony door open all night (it was pretty quiet outside so not a problem). Rooms are quite dated although perfectly serviceable.

No tea making facilities (is this a UK thing!) in the room. Breakfast typical continental, nice to be able to eat outside on the balcony and take in the lush view though. Internet access only in the lobby (but it is free).

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with A/C if travelling in the Summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham_Hilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel location and grounds are amazing. We swam on the dock and walked the beautiful grounds. We rented a standard room with an excellent view. the room had no air conditioning and no fans. It was so hot and there was no air movement at all. We didn't sleep at all because it was too hot. We later found out the the rooms on the other side of the buidling are superior rooms and they do have air conditioning. The rooms are very dated, holes in the carpet and very old decor. Nice hotel but it needs renovations. the internet is only in the lobby.

Room Tip: pay for the superior room to get an air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It was my second visit Poertschach.
The hotel is in a superb location, with all rooms having lake facing views .
My room had a good size balcony with table and chair.
The room was very spacious, with Austrian twin beds, chair and table, mini-bar, safe, flat screen TV but free Wi-Fi is only in lobby. A towelling robe and slippers are provided for each guest.
The hotel has extensive leisure facilities including large indoor and outdoor pools, which are very warm, a solarium, a gym and an indoor sauna/ steam spa.
The hotel organizes the cycle rides free of charge.
The food is absolutely delicious with a wide range of choice.
Liked it very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This resort was great! It's located on a nice peninsula with great views of the lake. The room we stayed in was very nice & recently renovated. The lobby & restaurant downstairs were older, but still very nice. There was always someone at the front desk who spoke English which was nice in a less American-touristy area. I really enjoyed renting a paddle boat with my husband and swimming off the dock. Beware of the geese... they can be quite mean & protective! I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsKelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portschach am Worther See
0.3 mi away
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
#3 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
#8 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balance
Hotel Balance
#5 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
107 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Poertschach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Poertschach

Property: Parkhotel Poertschach
Address: Hans Pruscha Weg 5, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Poertschach 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Parkhotel Pörtschacha hotel where tradition and modernity, relaxation and high-class entertainment blend together perfectly.… after all, there’s only one prime location!40,000 m² of park, the island location on the shores of Europe’s warmest, most scenic bathing lake, the chance to take in the sunrise and the sunset from the same spot, and the view of the lake all around you – that is the prime location!From the rooms and suites you can enjoy a view of the crystal clear blue waters of Lake Wörthersee. The Parkhotel Pörtschach’s stylish, relaxing atmosphere is the ideal starting point to explore the breathtaking natural surroundings, the area’s cultural treasures and the vibrant nightlife around Lake Wörthersee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parkhotel Poertschach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing