We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Honestly, the one star rating goes only for the few helpful staff. The hotel was absolutely atrocious. My family and I are all vegetarians, and having booked for half board, it was a bad decision as we had to eat out on most days. Breakfast was the same each morning- boiled eggs, cheese, ham, bread, orange juice. For dinner, you had no choice. Just turned up and had to wait to see what they decided to make for you. When we informed them we are vegetarians they began to make something different for us, however, it was usually just salad, omelettes and watermelon for dessert. The pool was, to say the least, disgusting. Did not swim once at the hotel, but went elsewhere to other pools (Malibu beach). The rooms were so basic, and towels were changed every 3 days. No safe to place any valuables.

I would say the only thing which made up for all of this was the trips we went on- Gaios island, Paxos, Anti-paxos, horse riding, and the tour by bus around the whole island.

DO.NOT.STAY.AT.THIS.HOTEL.

Corfu Chandris hotel which is opposite Oscar hotel seemed way,way,wayyy more pleasant. Consider that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zzk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    13
    11
    32
See reviews for
16
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester Uk
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel for one week half term break and stayed half board. We knew it was end of season but did expect the hotel to be as advertised. Unfortunately it was not. I am aware one recent review said the pool was open. It was not! We and several other holiday makers checked with the manager who told us it had not been cleaned and not to use it. We had also looked at it and it was certainly in a poor state. Unlike any other pool I have ever seen in a hotel. He advised another guest to use the pool of the hotel opposite but as that hotel was closed for the season, we could not do this.


The hotel also boasts what looks to be a nice bar area, but alas that was also closed the entire week despite many of us asking it to be opened up so we could relax in it in the evenings. Especially as many other bars and restaurants in Dassia were closed so not much to do in the evenings.


The rooms were basic, which is fair enough as it is only 2 star. Ours was also cleaned every day. But the towels were so threadbare they resembled nets rather than towels. The shower floor had a nasty crack in it and the shower curtain did not reach the floor so the bathroom flooded every time we had a shower.

Breakfast was again basic but adequate and we really enjoyed the evening meal, but then we like Greek food. There was not really any choice although the waiter did try hard to give an alternative if someone really didn't like their meal. In fact the waiter, cook and cleaner did appear to work their socks off.

For me most frustrating thing is that I

know I could have got a cheaper, higher rated hotel on Corfu town, but specifically chose this one for its pool area and bar. Alas, neither of these
were provided and the manager simply shrugged his shoulders when guests made comments saying it was end of season. In my opinion a hotel should either be closed or open. Or at least make it very clear if any facilities are not going to be open during your stay. We were not foretold otherwise we would have looked elsewhere. For that reason it was the worst hotel we have stayed at in any of the Greek islands. Despite not paying that much, I know for a fact we could have got a better hotel for the money we paid. If I were
you I would consider looking elsewhere, especially if going at the end of the season!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dassia hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I am surprised on reading past reviews that people have been so unhappy with their stay in this hotel. The pool was maintained and NOT full of algae, it did however, have peeling tiles giving the appearance of being unclean. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast and offered a variety of foods. This is a budget hotel and as such has basic rooms and bathrooms, they were clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. If you expect the ritz you should expect to pay an awful lot more for your holiday!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Mbestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this hotel in June and we went in October half term I was told that most of the Restaurants were winding down. When we arrived at the hotel it was very quiet this was at 11pm we went for a walk and nothing was open, we thought this was strange. The next day I was looking forward to using the pool but on looking at it it was full of algey the pool had not been cleaned in weeks.
I explained to the receptionist that it was our honeymoon and asked if there was any chance we could have a double bed rather than the twin we had, he said no but it would cost extra if there was one. We later found out that there was a four day holiday when we arrived so Tuesday most things were open but there were excursions as there were not enough people to go on them.
Tuesday morning the hotel ran out of cerel I complained I was told there was a four day holiday it won't happen again. They had shut down the bar in the evening although they used it to serve drinks with our evening meals. If there were not the odd bar open there was nothing to do in the evening.
Our towels never got changed when I did find out to leave them on the floor they were just folded and placed on top of the bin.

Room Tip: They don't have sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having just got back from a week at half board, the food was the lowest of the low...No choice for breakfast but bread, jam, sliced cheese or ham, cornflakes,tin peaches and hard boiled eggs...luke warm water to make coffee and orange juice tasted like squash.....No choice of what they gave you for the evening meal and desert was a small plate with 2 slices of apple and 3 slices of an orange..!!!! The food wasn't fit for a cat or dog..The beds were rock hard and the towels smelt awful and were thread bare...The bin in the bathroom wasn't emptied everyday and the drains smelt like rotten eggs..The swimming pool was green and filthy ( not fit for having a swim in )....If you walked in off the street for an evening meal, as a paying customer, you were offered a menu and choice of food..!!!! We were given worst food than a prisoner..!!! The weather was a bonus and the beach was lovely and clean...I would never go back to this hotel,as we had to buy 3 evening meals elsewhere, Paid enough money for such a tired hotel....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks this October and found this hotel to be great, yes the rooms are tired and need upgrading, the bathroom needs new plumbing, but the air con works the balcony is great, the beds are comfy. We stayed on half board with a continental breakfast and dinner. The evening meal was served, no choice but great food all the time, fresh fruit and veg from the garden and all freshly cooked,
The owner and staff take some beating great service.
Dasia closed down while we were there so be careful when you go.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let us start by saying this is a Greek 2 star hotel,
After reading other reviews here and elsewhere,we were in two minds what to expect, What we did find is a 2 star hotel that is old and tired many of the fitments have seen better days,the furnishings basic but comfortable and the housekeeping good,
Some of the complaints are about the no choice set meal for half board guest, well We must say we were impressed,although we only stayed a week, the meals did not repeat themselves, Were well prepared from in the main fresh ingredient's and very tasty, Although Ionian in style my wife [a fussy eater] enjoyed most of what was presented to us
Another complaint was of the staff, although not the best of English speakers we found them friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are at the back [inland facing]
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizardHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dassia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 15 in Dassia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corfu Palma Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jason Hotel
Jason Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ipsos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dassia Beach
Dassia Beach
#6 of 15 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elea Beach Hotel
Elea Beach Hotel
#4 of 15 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hideaway
Panorama Hideaway
#3 of 15 in Dassia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Property: Oscar Hotel
Address: Korakiana, Dassia 490 83, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Hotel Class:2 star — Oscar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modest 3* Hotel, on the main road in Dassia, a mere 300m from the beach and 100m from the bus stop to Corfu Town (12Km), the Kirki restaurant with it's great selection Buffet Menu & A la Carte choices will fill your appetite, while the Viva Bar with it's smooth music and wonderful Cocktails will quench your thirst. Refresh yourselves in the sweet water swimming pool at the back of the hotel, whilst getting a good tan in the surounding garden area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Corfu/Dassia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing