We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can do basic, but this is TOO basic!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Eliana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eliana Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Dassia
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“I can do basic, but this is TOO basic!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed in some pretty basic places in Greece before – hotels and rooms – but this is probably the worst I have ever encountered. I don't mind a place if it's basic, but it's got to be clean and have some sort of charm about it. There was none of that here. I don't think it had been decorated for quite some years and the patchy, flesh-coloured, textured walls weren't exactly welcoming! The room had nothing going for it either. When we arrived at 4.00am, and saw it in the artificial light, my heart sank. I hate shower curtains, but I can put up with them – however it does help if they reach the inside of the shower tray. In the end we just left it and let the water onto the floor to go down the drain in the middle of the bathroom. As for the breakfasts – terrible! Most of it was in packets, and there was little cooked food except scrambled eggs which were hard, lumpy and cold! One morning they came with tomatoes mixed in with them – revolting! The coffee was cheap and nasty, so I took my own, even though the water wasn't that hot. I tried the tea but because the water wasn't hot enough, the tea didn't steep properly. We went out for breakfast on a few days. As for the staff, you do want them to look like they are making some sort of effort! I agree with a previous review about the girls on reception, but I wouldn't say they bit my head off, they just weren't very helpful or interested. I laughed at one of the photos for this hotel – the one of the receptionist on the phone – because that was pretty much how she was for the seven days we were there – and she wasn't taking bookings! A friend, who was staying on the island, phoned the hotel and left a message, but we never got it, so thank goodness for mobile phones! One last point – the swimming pool had a green ring around it so there was no chance of a swim at the hotel, either. Two girls who arrived on the same night we did, booked out the next day and stayed at a nicer hotel down the road. If we'd had the money, we would have done that too!

Room Tip: If you want to find a good room, go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyLove71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    18
    15
    13
See reviews for
35
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Eliana Hotel in June 2013, and have been coming back to this Hotel for the past 4 years. All the staff are friendly and really helpful, the food is fantastic and the rooms & pool etc are really really clean. Eliana herself is sooo friendly & helpful, and to be honest the Hotel cannot be faulted. If you are looking for a 'value for money' Hotel then llok no further and book the Eliana. i CAN'T RECOMEND IT ENOUGH!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool & sea view to get stunning views of Dassia Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 206Simon_B206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a basic hotel - so i don't want to push your expectations - but it is located in Dassia, which is an excellent location if you want to travel across all the interesting places and beaches of this beautiful island. Rooms are generally clean, however towels are replaced only twice a week. The breakfast is excellent (considering what you are paying for) - consisting of cereals, yogurt, feta cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, ham and cheese (low quality) hard boiled and scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, bread, nutella, jams and honey, diluted orange juice, and teas and coffee. Unfortunately, some items, particularly scrambled eggs, tend not to be replenished once they finish so i suggest to take breakfast at around 9am. this hotel has a nice swimming pool and reasonably priced bar ...however, i suggest to explore the many beaches of the island.

the staff is generally helpful, the night receptionist (the only male receptionist) was exceptionally helpful and always willing to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvio_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First trip for my friend and myself to Corfu and we chose the Eliana because of the positive feedback on Trip Advisor and it was excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful, the hotel was very clean and although not a 5* for what we paid is was very good value for money. Having a fried in the room was a real bonus, & you will need the aircon if visiting from June onwards and well worth the 4 Euros per day.The only negative would be the climb up the steep hill from the village & beach, so would not recommend for people with a disability, but not too dramatic for able bodied. Would recommend this hotel and would go back again next year. Dassia is a very nice resort with lots of good tavernas and bars and if you wander out of the village there are a lot of hidden gems. Corfu Town is also worth a visit, especially if you are a fan of shoes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Immacilately clean and well maintained, staff really friendly & helpful. Nice breakfast including hot & cold food and toast. Bedroom has balcony, tv, fridge, with safe box and airconditioning extra. Only downside was a small shower tray with curtain around. Difficult to have a shower without getting water on the floor.
The cardiac hill from the main road to the hotel took this pensioner 6 minutes, so no big deal.
Not impressed with the local restaurants in Dassia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights last week. Hotel is up a steep hill but me with dodgy ankles could still manage it without a fuss. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants nearby, but not a hugely active night life - perfect for a quiet (ish) holiday with a few cocktails thrown in. The hotel is lovely, very friendly staff, great breakfast and great pool with new sunloungers. The room itself is great, just the bathroom was under par with the room flooding. For the price, hardly something we were too bothered about. Our flight wasnt intil 22:40 but the staff were more than happy to have us stay by the pool and use the shower downstairs, so we got a full day of sun in. Would definitely recommend this to any budget travellers :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camnich17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. Location quite good but at the top of a very steep hill. The pool was a good size, although it looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for a very very long time. A bit off-putting. Rooms very basic, and the bathroom was a disgrace. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up, and the shower was practically useless, with the shower head hanging from the bracket and water pouring down the wall! I managed to prop the shower head onto the shower curtain rail thereby enabling me to actually have a shower! Plus, if you're over a size 14, you probably won't fit into the shower itself it's so small! Our room also had ants! The breakfast was OK, but everything was cold including French toast and pancakes. All in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyolwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dassia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dassia hotels
0.4 mi away
Dassia Beach
Dassia Beach
#6 of 16 in Dassia
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Primavera
Primavera
#7 of 16 in Dassia
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elea Beach Hotel
Elea Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Dassia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corfu Palma Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hideaway
Panorama Hideaway
#4 of 16 in Dassia
111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
#1 of 16 in Dassia
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliana Hotel

Property: Eliana Hotel
Address: Dassia Area, | Corfu, Dassia 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eliana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eliana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliana Hotel Dassia
Eliana Hotel Corfu/Dassia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing