We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!!!! Holiday nightmare”
Review of Telemachos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Telemachos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Rachel from bradford 3 sept - 11sept
I dont really know where to strat, i have never experianced a holiday like it. We expected basic due to the amount we paid, it was last minute n read the reviews after but thought we'd experaince it for our selves, biggest mistakae i have ever made!!!! The staff were unbelievable rude, arrogant, intimidatin and at one point was man handled by one of them on returnin from a night out. The rep was useless n didnt want to know, she aswell as the staff had faces like a bulldog chewing a wasp!! The food well i dint really know where to start, me and my friend lived of bread and butter, ur dog wouldnt even eat it!!!!! The all inclusive stopped at 9:30pm n not a minute over, u was only allowed one drink at a time and if u had 2many drinks on ur table they wouldnt serve u another. By the end of the holiday we had mad alot of friends n ended up in a group of 16, on our last day one of them was threatened by a member of staff n sed they were goin to plant drugs in there suitcase. Dimitris is the one to watch out for, we also saw rats n was over run by wasps. They tried tellin us wen to go to bed, we felt like it was a boot camp not a holiday, a couple we met flew home 3days early as they could not bare it and another tried to go home early but could not find a flight. It is the first holiday ive ever been on where i was relieved to come home and thats not half of it!!! If uve already booked i suggest u get ur money bk or swap please listen to the reviews. Dassia in its self is k not alot to do but the beach was quite nice even tho it was a pebble beach n the boat trips were good, but it was vry quite.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northern-monkey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

If any guests feel that they have been unfairly treated by a member of staff they should complain to the Hotel management at the first opportunity, not in an internet review after they have returned home, when nothing can be done.
If a guest has to live on bread and butter, that would suggest that there was something wrong with the food. It is not really believable than any guest would remain in the Hotel for the duration of their stay if the food was so bad. I would expect any guest in this position to ask their holiday company representative to move them to a different location. If this is not done, I cannot really see how the complaint can be justified. The chef has had to open the restaurant early many times during the season owing to the number of guests queuing to come in. This is certainly not what would be expected if the food was bad, nor would the compliments the chef and his staff receive every day be expected.
The closing time of 9.30p.m. for the all-inclusive bar is clearly advertised in the literature freely available before booking, and the reviews are likewise available. If guests choose not to read these before booking...!
Only one drink at a time is the rule! Perfectly correct! The idea of all-inclusive is not so that guests can stockpile drinks on a table to keep them going for hours, or to provide drinks for friends they may have made who are not all-inclusive guests at the Hotel. The idea of all-inclusive is that guests do not need to pay for individual meals, snacks or drinks throughout the all-inclusive availability times, which cover all meals, etc. until 9.30p.m. This means, for example, that when a guest wants a drink, he or she goes to the bar and gets one - it does not mean that any guest should simply pour as much alcoholic or other drink down their throat as fast or as much as they possibly can in a given time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

The staff at this hotel have no idea about customer service! The food was cold and tasteless, the rooms dirty. They are defensive if you complain and try to blame the guests for the problem. The receptionist is rude and arrogant and shouts at the guests. My children and I could not wait to come home, our holiday was totally ruined.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyGMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

The hot food served in the Hotel is not cold. Great pains are taken to ensure food remains as hot as possible throughout the mealtime.
I also take great exception to the comment made about the food being tasteless. Many dishes are quite highly spiced, and all of them have a good taste.
Of course, from time to time, there will be some guests who do not like the taste of, for example, garlic, or olive oil. Some others may not like hotly spiced dishes like curry or bourdheto (fish in spicy-hot red sauce) but not liking something is very different from the food being tasteless.
It is hardly surprising that staff become defensive, when guests make untrue, and unjustified complaints and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We booked our holiday at the last minute through Thomas Cook and unfortunately it is the worst hotel I've stayed at (thankfully it was only £380 for the two of us on a B&B basis).

We arrived at 5am in the pouring rain only for some old man on the desk to take an eternity to check our reservation paperwork. Then, the man who tends the poolside bar showed us to our room (118) which was underwhelming to say the least. It was small, dirty, had no toilet roll, no blankets (it was a cold first night too), the beds were unmade, the water was always cold (the shower would get warm after about 5 mins or so), the sink and shower were filthy, the drain in the middle of the bathroom floor was clogged with soap scum etc. In fact, the room was never cleaned properly and we had to ask for clean towels and toilet roll. It was also very noisy with the radio at the poolside bar blasting out from quite early. There are not enough loungers to go around and you have to give the loungers up at around 7pm so they can be stacked away! Also, there are LOADS of wasps around the pool area. As others have said, the pool is quite dirty looking.

I'm glad we never payed all inclusive as most people who had used to pay to eat out. The breakfast was bland with hard fried eggs, hot dog sausages, cardboard bacon and tepid beans. The coffee and tea urns were always empty, there were rarely cups available and there was one (yes one) very slow toasting machine which you had to put your bread through at least 5 times to get it toasted sufficiently, hence big queues at the toaster. Knives were also in short supply and the orange juice is more like very dilute squash. The German receptionist is also quite aggressive and we heard her give one of the kitchen staff a right ticking off (in English) after storming in there as we were eating one morning.

Jo Divito the rep is very robotic in her delivery and not very bubbly and smiley as reps usually are and seemed uninterested if you didn't want to book any trips from which I'm presuming she gets a commission. She also just refers you to the hotel reception if you have a query or issue with the hotel which most guests did!

Our last day we checked out at noon but our transfer wasn't until 3.15 am the following day and no shower room was provided and late checkout was not an option, even if you offered to pay.

On the plus side, Dassia and neighbouring Ipsos is very nice and I'd recommend Alex bar (run by a friendly Welsh woman) for a great breakfast, Parasol for a great cocktail and most of the Tavernas really for great Greek food, including Alexandros, Kirkys, Mythos, Castillo, Eric's Place. Mam a Takas opposite 'The Hill' offers a very friendly service and cheap beer!

By the way, the hill is not that bad and takes approximately 3 minutes to walk up at a steady pace.

To summarise spend your money wisely and avoid the Telemachos!

Stuart.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprice74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

If the room allocated to guests was in the condition described, then quite clearly a mistake was made, and the guests were given a room which had not been prepared. In a case like that, all that was required was for the guests to return to the reception and inform them, and be allocated a different room. Since this does not appear to have happened, then I can only assume that the problem was not as stated. Hot water cools in pipes, quite naturally, and it does take time for fresh hot water to flow through the pipework system. If the water came warm after about 5 minutes, it cannot also have always been cold, and this situation has obviously been exaggerated.
The pool bar opens at 10a.m. and it is unlikely that any music was being played much before this time. It is purely a personal conception as to what is 'quite early'. All guests wanting breakfast, for example, have finished eating by 9.30a.m.
The swimming pool is closed every night at 7p.m. to allow for cleaning. It is necessary to terminate the use of sunbeds etc at the same time, otherwise there is a serious danger of guests trying to use the pool after cleaning has started.
The pool is not dirty looking, and many others have said so in reviews.
There is nothing bland about breakfast, which is offered daily and consists of fresh bread (toasted if required) butter, marmalade, honey, cereal, milk, sliced ham, cheese, freshly sliced tomatoes, fried eggs, bacon, frankfurter-type sausages, baked beans, and orange juice, tea or coffee. The tea and coffee do run out, but they are served in thermos-type jugs to prevent spillage and premature cooling, and are constantly replenished throughout the mealtime. If any guest put bread through the toaster five times, it would be cremated and unfit to eat.
Many others have complained about the access road to the hotel being too steep, yet you did not find it a problem. Everyone has a different opinion, as your review clearly shows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

i understand that you get what you pay for but our stay here was just awfull. We had broken patio doors with broken locks,leaking toilet,ransid smell of sewage,broken taps,sinks not attached to the walls,unswept floors, used durex wrappers on arrival,dangling live electrical wires taped together with masking tape,dirty stained mattresses and pillow cases.Worst of all was when we then found pills in the bed,just totally unacceptable. The staff were very aggressive,rude and intimidating. basic cleanesses and hospatality cost nothing and if this was applied here then it would have been a great holiday. ive stayed in 2+ many time before and never experienced anything like this...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniseReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

I am sorry, but I find your review totally unbelievable.
I have no record of anyone making complaints such as you have outlined here.
All of this is alleged to have been the situation in your room - presumably on arrival. Why did you not go immediately to reception and ask to be given different accomodation?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Honestly, this is the first time i have made a review, I hope it's the last. as I never want to experience a hotel like this again. I don't know where to start. It was dirty, we had no cold yes cold water. the electric socket didn't work the food was passable and there was two choices, take it or leave it. The all inclusive drinks were desparate. I don't think i have ever been happy about an all inclusive bar being closed. the staff were ignorant, rude and less than helpfull. I had my coat stolen by one of the staff. which was seen by another holiday maker who was there for a few days after us so could not report him in case of repercussions. Our friends had a broken sink and THEY had to pay 80 euros for a replacement. the air conditioning didn't work properly and that was 50 euros a week. It is advertised as 450 mtrs from the beach. I think Olympic holidays missed a O off that distance. The Olympic rep was a pathetic excuse for one. I could go on and on but i want to get this s* hole out of my mind

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnandwendy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Does the first line of your review mean that you only intend to review somewhere if, in your opinion, it is of poor quality? That is certainly what it appears to say! Reviews are not forums simply to air an alleged complaint or grievance, but to give a reasoned general opinion - good, bad or otherwise!
What was dirty? The Hotel, your room, the restaurant? You don't say, so I have no way of knowing what exactly your problem was. I assume your comments about the cold water and electric socket refer to your room in the Hotel. Had there been any problem with either, all you had to do was contact reception, and the Hotel's maintenance staff would have rectified the problem(s)
I do not understand what you mean when you say you had two choices - take it or leave it! If this was a reference to the variety of food available, then your comment is worthless, as there is a good variety of food available at all three meals served daily in the Hotel. If you were not commenting about the food choice, then I don't know what the comment is about.
If you did not like the idea of an all-inclusive bar closing, why did you come to the Hotel in the first place? You obviously read the Olympic literature, since you mention the Hotel as being advertised by Olympic as being 450 metres from the beach (although I have never seen any official literature quote this figure) and the same literature states that the all-inclusive bar closes at 9.30p.m. I also assume that you mean that the figure should have been 4500 metres from the beach. Such a distance would be sufficient to take you to the beach in the next village either north or south of Dassia, and is a gross exaggeration of the distance to the beach in Dassia from the Hotel.
It must be assumed that you, yourself, did not see a member of staff with your coat which was allegedly stolen - had this happened, I would have expected you to report the matter. Since you say it was seen by another holiday-maker, it is only his/her opinion that any such coat looked like yours, if it existed. It cannot be claimed that it was definitely yours. Members of staff do not steal coats or other items from guests, nor would any be stupid enough to been seen with a stolen item anywhere around the Hotel.
Your friends may well have been required to pay for a broken sink. You do not know why they were required to pay for the item. For all you know, your friends could have broken the sink accidentally themselves. It is not advisable to comment on hearsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

As stated about the payable upgrade for air con we decided not to pay the 50 euros, big mistake! The room was unhygenic and not an enjoyable place to spend a relaxing all inclusive holiday. The all inclusive food and drink was a con with poor drinks and food. There were wasps and bees nests in the hotel and they enjoyed a better stay than us! The staff were also very rude. The rep was never there and failed to provide the service she was supposed to.

There is simply too much negative information to write down and would not wish to waste any more of my time writing about my trip other than to advise others NOT to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2011

Your review leaves much to be desired. You begin by saying that - as stated about the payable upgrade for air con we decided not to pay the 50 euros, big mistake. But what did you state? You did not say anything else about it.
I do not understand why the room was unhygenic. If there was any problem with the room, why didn't you contact the Hotel's reception desk and report the problem?
The food and drink provided under the all-inclusive contract is neither poor, nor a con. The vast majority of our guests are well satisfied with both.
Although it is not the Hotel's business to answer for the Holiday Company Representative, your comments about the rep are totally untrue. She was in regular attendance at the Hotel throughout the season, and guests were able to see her almost every day (except on her day off, or when she was on airport duty). There was also an office telephone number for holiday company assistance when the rep was not in the Hotel, and an emergency out-of-hours number as well.
You have not provided any real information to substantiate your recommendation that people do not visit the Hotel, presumably because there is nothing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks here and have had a good holiday no thanks to the very rude staff at the hotel, the poolside staff being the worst especially if you were all inclusive. The food and service in the restaurant was adequate.
The entertainment was very poor in our 2 weeks we had 4 karaoke and 2 pop quiz/bingo nights. No BBQ or greek night as advertised.
Our room was clean ans spacious but we were in the new block.
Would not recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baggiebri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YianniAki, Manager at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were reasonably satisfied with the food, restaurant service and room at the Hotel.
As far as your other comments are concerned, there is nothing I can do about 'rude' staff now. If such a problem arose, it should have been brought to the attention of the Hotel Reception there and then, not aired some time after the event in an internet review. Any problems like this must be dealt with at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dassia
7.7 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 15 in Dassia
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corfu Palma Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
8.6 mi away
Benitses Bay View
Benitses Bay View
#1 of 3 in Gastouri
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primavera
Primavera
#4 of 15 in Dassia
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telemachos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telemachos Hotel

Address: Dassia 490 83, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Price Range: $37 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Telemachos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Telemachos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telemachos Hotel Corfu/Dassia
Tilemachos Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing