We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious surprise hiking to Briksdal Glacier”

Briksdal Glacier (Briksdalbreen)
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Stryn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Gatesville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Glorious surprise hiking to Briksdal Glacier”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our cruise ship docked, we disembarked the ship and we booked our Glacier Express shuttle to Briksdal Glacier from the locals at a nice discount. Even upon arrival in Olden we were impressed by the scenery even though everything was crowded by mist and clouds. The shuttle will take us through Olden Valley, past multiple waterfalls, lakes, a river, and someplace above the clouds the tops of the fjordlands mountains. We took a late morning shuttle in the hopes the clouds would part and sunshine might prevail. It is a 20 minute ride in a comfortable van.

The shuttle ride produced many oohs and aahs from us as the clouds seemed to lift giving us a glimpse of the spendor hidden away. Upon arrival at the base of the hike to Briksdal Glacier all of us were excited to see more mist clear away. Our research stated we would have to walk uphill most of the way to the glacier and it would take about 45 minutes (for those fit and able). The walk down was supposed to take 30 minutes or so. Our shuttle allowed for a total of a 2 hour visit.

For us who were in our 60s and 70s the hike would take 50 minutes up and 40 minutes back. But I'm ahead of myself. The hike is fairly steep past a roaring river, past a large waterfall spraying us with cold wet glacier water (refreshing), and onward through a flat spot with goats in a field resting near a pond, then on to another uphillo climb toward the glacier and glacier lake. The farther we climbed the more we were bathed in glorious sunshine. From several viewpoints along the way we could see huge rocky and treed mountaintops with their respective vertical waterfalls spilling down the valley in majestic fashion. Each step resulted in awesome beauty. The hiking paths were large and accommodated the hoards of cruise passengers hiking as well as the for an additional fee - troll cars shuttling people up the path to a stopping point only a 10 minute hike of the glacier.

The actual receding glacier isn't all that impressive since we have seen several fantastic glaciers in our past travels. However, the hike with resulting views makes it all worthwhile to see the splendor that Norway offers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    116
    27
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Who would of thought a sheet of old ice would made such a lasting impression. We took the trip to the Glacier during our Fjords cruise back in May, although a touch pricey but this was Norway. A 30 minutes coach trip from the small village of Olden through some the most stunning countryside I've ever see, green fields, lakes, waterfalls.
We took the option to walk from the coach park and it really is a 45 minutes walk from here. But boy it was worth it. Marker posts along the route show just how much the glacier has got smaller over the decades but even today seeing the blue ice making its way down to the ice cold lake leave a lasting impression.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeti72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The most stunning scenery on earth”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The glacier is not what I expected, I imagined a big chunk of ice that you could walk up to and touch (well I guess you can do that if you climb 1000ft first!).

The glacier itself is behind the mountains, you can see it creeping over the top between the valleys, it makes it's way down a couple of the slopes, but essentially it is out of reach for most people.

We travelled down the lake by boat, the water is the most amazing colour due to the minerals being washed down from the mountains constantly, very surreal looking.

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Norway, a true feast for the eyes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rampant_Sc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“2 mile hike each way or the troll bus”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The scenery is beautiful along the full length to the glacier. you have to be fit to do this trip if walking as its uphill. The troll bus will take you at a fee, but not to the glacier you have to walk the last little bit yourself. i saw mothers with prams not ideal as the terrain is rugged. Its a shame that people after us got to the top and the cloud came in so they did not see anything. Thankfully we did but only for a short while
There are shops and a cafe at the bottom, where the toilets are free to use.
I have said no fee to the attraction, but you will have to get there by yourself and use your legs otherwise there is a fee

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank debsk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Middleham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A truly spectacular place to visit. Best approached on foot to fully appreciate the surrounding area, however there are 'Troll-cars' for the less abled/lazy. The waterfall are amazing - and one of them covers you in mist so take a coat. The glacier is amazing and you can go rafting on the lake and get really close. Although the glacier is retreating due to climate change there is still enough of it to get some great photographs. It can get quite busy but the paths are well laid out and the walk staggers the visitor numbers rather than just dumping coach-loads right by the lake.
Well worth a visit and easy to get to from Olden via coach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecomentalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Briksdal Glacier (Briksdalbreen) also viewed

Stryn, Stryn Municipality
Sogndal Municipality, Sogn og Fjordane
 
Olden, Stryn Municipality
 

Been to Briksdal Glacier (Briksdalbreen)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing