We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwoods

Driftwoods
Ranked #27 of 43 Restaurants in Langebaan
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The food and service in this restaurant are good, but somehow it lacks the atmosphere of Pearly's next door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuroraGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    80
    74
    41
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor cousin of Pearly's”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Driftwoods has unfortunately dropped its standards and locals have responded by giving it a miss. I used to love it for its good fish dishes but the menu changed and the cooking is not very good any more.It is also very empty nowadays - we all prefer Pearly's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Over ambitious !”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location and a good beach bar vibe ... BUT menu was far too extensive. Not possible to have everything on the menu fresh .. which is a concern when offering Sushi and shellfish. Our meal was perfectly adequate although Sushi Tuna salad with lashings of mayonaise was pretty incongruous ! Could be so much better ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The first meal in SA...”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our party of four arrived here on route to Paternoster and decided to stop of for a beer! Having perused the menu we opted for beers plus some variations of freshly cooked calamari. The service was prompt and the food was good value with the view of the kite surfers adding to the ambiance on this balmy afternoon. Would recommend this restaurant as a lunch stop off with ample parking close by.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luigi.90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not for non drinkers”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We decided to try Driftwood's pizza special on Monday nights. The kids hawain pizza's were good. My husband was not bowled over with his rib pizza and my Gideon pizza was okay. The view and location is amazing-the main reason for eating there. We could sit and watch the kids play on the beach while waiting for food-could be an ideal family restaurant...The waiters have a very laid back attitude and you hear them talk about their tables and their guests. Not good to hear how each other's tables are stacking up against each other when it comes to drinks. Pity our waitress lost interest in us the minute no alcohol was ordered. Our cool drinks cost as much as the food. WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwoods also viewed

Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Driftwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing