We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, good service, interesting decor”

Farmhouse Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 44 Restaurants in Langebaan
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The combination of fine dining and premium wines are two of the greatest pleasures in life, encouraging good times, fond memories, love and laughter. During 2013 our kitchen and dining area received a makeover! Our refreshed dining room now boasts views, not only of the lagoon, but of our kitchen too. Our dinner menu was refined and now has farm-style favourites with a few modern twists. We try to source our produce from local suppliers and we use what the region has to offer. We have local Saldanha Bay mussels and crayfish from Paternoster (when in season). Our famous oxtail soup and lamb shank still feature on the menu along with some new treats such as pasta Arrabbiata and more.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good meal, good service, interesting decor”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife & I had lunch here on our way to a wedding. The staff were friendly & helpful. As there was a "Baby Shower" taking place (a party for an expectant Mom!) we were seated in a separate room to the main dining area, which was quirky & interesting. The simple meal of a Chicken Pie with salad was nicely presented & very tasty. We would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    52
    28
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in a small town”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate at the Farmhouse restaurant in Langebaan after checking out several local eating places....almost "dives". Most of the people eating at the farmhouse are also staying at the lodge. We had a drink overlooking the ocean while waiting for the restaurant to open at 7pm. Great view and very nice ambience. For starters my wife had the grilled calamari and I had the same dish fried. We both felt it was the best we had ever had. The portion was almost enough for a complete meal.For the main I had the seafood pasta and she had the the large garden salad......both were well presented and very tasty. This is unquestionably the most upscale restaurant in Langebaan

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place for early morning breakfast.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant to have a buffet breakfast. We enjoued it a lot and will definitely return

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 561Heleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pity about the wait.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been staying here for a couple of days and eating regularly at the restuarant and the food has been really excellent, but the wait for your food is extraordinarily long, and the service with the exception of one waitress, is not great. I highly recommend the food but make sure you time on your hands. Starter took 1h15m to arrive and main 1h45m on a Tuesday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gvd_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babenhausen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“50% good, 50%failed”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've been there for dinner. My wife had the king klip and was very satisfied, I had the yellowtail and it was dry and burned on the skin. No excuses were made.

Wineprices were fair, the restaurant itself was nicely decorated, but while there was only one table occupied I didn't understand why we were seated in the dark section and not in the sunny wintergarden.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing